Mancinis honor students

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

The 19th annual Geneva College Henry Mancini Musical Theatre Awards crowned Zach Malinak from Freedom Area High School and Francesca Nardone from Ellwood City Area School District to head to New York and represent the Henries in the National High School Musical Theater Awards.

Geneva and the McCarl Family Foundation present the Henries -- named for Oscar- and Grammy Award-winning composer and Aliquippa native Henry Mancini -- to honor excellence in high school musical theater in Beaver, Butler and Lawrence counties. Last year, Mancini Award winner Erica Durham from Central Valley High School was a finalist in the national competition.

The winners, as announced at a ceremony at Geneva College on Wednesday, are:

• Sets & Scenery: New Brighton Area High School, "The Drowsy Chaperone"; Freedom, "Fiddler on the Roof"; Beaver Area High School, "Me and My Girl."

• Technical Achievement: Riverside High School, "Wizard of Oz"; Freedom, "Fiddler on the Roof"; New Brighton, "The Drowsy Chaperone."

• Costumes: Beaver County Christian School, "Annie"; Central Valley High School, "The Wiz"; Riverside, "Wizard of Oz."

• Student Orchestra: Beaver Area High School, "Me and My Girl"; Big Beaver Falls Area School District, "The Wiz"; Blackhawk High School, "Beauty and the Beast"; Freedom, "Fiddler on the Roof."

• Dance Performance: Ambridge Area High School, "Curtains"; New Brighton, "The Drowsy Chaperone"; Beaver, "Me and My Girl."

• Vocal Ensemble: Hopewell High School, "Guys and Dolls"; Freedom, "Fiddler on the Roof"; Beaver, "Me and My Girl."

• Noteworthy Performance by a Group: Jenna Rosenfeld and Hunter Large, New Brighton; Alena Kucan and Michael Cannistraci, "Les Miserables," Ellwood City; Alex Barna, Danny Watts and Ty Richardson, Hopewell; Julie Pflug and Elijah Smith, New Brighton.

• Noteworthy Performance by an Individual: Michael Cannistraci, Ellwood City; Elijah Smith, New Brighton; Joey Cortez, Ellwood City; Alex Barna, Hopewell; Tim Pfister, Blackhawk High School; Ricky Cavaliere, Beaver.

• Female in a Supporting Role: Carly Koza, Beaver; Marina Thetford, Ellwood City; Amber Leitsch, Blackhawk.

• Male in a Supporting Role: Iain McCormick, Ellwood City; Anthony Aloisi, Central Valley; Calvin Hitchcock, Beaver.

• Female in a Lead Role: Brianna D'Itri, Beaver; Alyssa DeMarco, New Brighton; Francesca Nardone, Ellwood City.

• Male in a Lead Role: John Kusnir, New Brighton; Zach Malinak, Freedom; Matthew Barnes, Ellwood City.

• Overall Performance: Freedom, Beaver, Ellwood City.



Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?