Steelers name Roethlisberger their Walter Payton Man of the Year

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

Steelers quarterback Ben Roethlisberger has been named the team's Walter Payton Man of the Year, which qualifies him as a candidate for the NFL’s national 2013 Walter Payton Man of the Year award.

The award recognizes a player’s off-the-field community service as well as his playing excellence. The national award winner will be announced at Super Bowl XLVIII.

His community work includes the Ben Roethlisberger Foundation, which makes grants to local police and fire departments for K-9 units and service dogs. He has contributed more than $1 million to 117 departments and several youth organizations for the purchase of 72 dogs and the training of 25 more dogs and 54 handlers, among other things.

Previous winners of the Steelers Walter Payton Man of the Year award were Hines Ward, Max Starks, Troy Polamalu, Brett Keisel and Ryan Clark.

Ray Fittipaldo: and Twitter @rayfitt1.

Join the conversation:

Commenting policy | How to report abuse
To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.
Commenting policy | How to report abuse


Latest NFL News
Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?