Top line comes up big as Baldwin wins hockey title

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

Baldwin's top line of Anthony Alaimo, Max Milan and Brian Dee has been the driving force this season for the highest-scoring team in Open Class history.

And in the team's biggest game Wednesday night, the trio delivered like it had all season.

Alaimo and Dee each had two goals and an assist while Milan added a goal and a helper in a 7-4 victory for the Highlanders (22-1-1) against Harbor Creek (22-2) in the Open Cup championship at RMU Sports Island Complex.

Alaimo, Milan and Dee combined for 76 goals and 72 assists in the regular season as Baldwin set a Open Class record for goals per game at 9.8.

The trio continued their strong play in the playoffs, notching 17 goals and 15 assists in the first three playoff games, then combining for the first five Highlanders goals Wednesday night.

Paul Knerr and Jake McCue added goals to give Baldwin a 7-1 lead midway through the third period. Matt Yauch stopped 21 shots in goal to earn the victory for the Highlanders, who won the fourth hockey title in school history, and the first since Baldwin won the Class AAA title in 1988.

Class AAA

■ Bethel Park 4, State College 1: Christian Siak and Jake Worcester each had two goals and Derek Lesnak had three assists to lead the No. 1 Black Hawks (18-3) past the No. 10 Little Lions (10-11-1) in a quarterfinal at Bladerunners in Bethel Park. William Lowe only had to make eight saves for Bethel Park.

Join the conversation:

Commenting policy | How to report abuse
To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.
Commenting policy | How to report abuse


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?