Penn State's Bill O'Brien wins Bear Bryant Coach of the Year award

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

The awards keep coming for Bill O'Brien, as the Penn State coach was named the Bear Bryant Coach of the Year on Thursday night.

"This is a huge honor for the Penn State program, for a great group of players and a great coaching staff," O'Brien said after the announcement in a comment reprinted in a press release. "The other coaches here are phenomenal coaches who have done this for a long time. I've only done this for a year. It shows what type of coaching staff and the type of players we had this year. It is a program award."

O'Brien has now won three national coaching awards after his first season. He also was named ESPN coach of the year and the Maxwell Football Club coach of the year. He also was selected Big Ten coach of the year.

Penn State went 8-4 last season after starting 0-2. O'Brien overhauled Penn State's offense, designing a system that ranked at the top of the Big Ten in total offense during league games.

Other candidates for the Bear Bryant award were Vanderbilt's James Franklin, Ohio State's Urban Meyer, Stanford's David Shaw, Kansas State's Bill Snyder and Texas A&M's Kevin Sumlin.

mobilehome - breaking - psusports


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?