Penguins move to 8-team division next season

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

The NHL Board of Governors has, as expected, approved the league's realignment plan.

It will put the Penguins in one of two eight-team divisions in the Eastern Conference next season.

Other clubs in their division will be Philadelphia, Washington, the New York Rangers, the New York Islanders, New Jersey, Columbus and Carolina.

During the regular season, teams in the Penguins' division will play five games against two division opponents and four against the other five, as well as three against each team in the other Eastern division and two against each Western club.

In the first round of playoffs, the top two division winners will face the wild-card clubs, while the second- and third-place clubs in each division will meet then.

The NHL Players' Association recently signed off on the plan.

mobilehome - homepage - breaking - penguins


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?