Op Ed Columns


‘Yinz’ gets no respect: Help get it entered in the Oxford English Dictionary

The perception of Pittsburghese as a “backwoods dialect,” to use the phrase of a 1928 article in American Speech, has remained persistent.

about 12 hours ago


Shenango is polluting my neighborhood, and I wish Vanguard would use its clout to make it stop

As a financial journalist, I’ve covered the mutual fund industry for 18 years, the last five of which from my home in Bellevue.

about 12 hours ago


The U.S.-Cuba love affair: Can it be rekindled?

I’m a daughter of exiles who’ve pledged not to return until there is political change. Yet I’ve traveled there many times since the 1990s.

about 12 hours ago


Washington is brain-dead: The dumbing down of America afflicts our nation’s capital

Americans are perfectly happy to celebrate genius, provided it doesn’t make them uncomfortable or require too much of them.

about 12 hours ago


Cutting Edge: After the protests

New ideas / Sharp opinions

about 12 hours ago


Enough Said: New York says no to fracking

Facts that speak for themselves.

about 12 hours ago


Kathleen Parker: Women should stop fussing over labels

It is probably too soon to declare a feminist reformation, but a few signs here and there give one hope.

about 12 hours ago


Generation Z is connecting in the real world

Today’s hot tech companies may soon be in for some nasty surprises. Teenagers are pushing back against the technology dependence.

about 12 hours ago


 Walt Harper at home in 2003.

First Person: Christmas with my dad, jazz musician Walt Harper

With the Christmas holidays all around us, I find myself thinking about my beloved dad and the treasure trove of Christmas memories I love.

1 day ago


 Rick Sebak at Tessaro's in Bloomfield, one of the things noted in his  "25 Things I Like About Pittsburgh."

Saturday Diary: What a Pittsburgh newcomer learned from Rick Sebak

The documentary maker who exudes love for the city is ubiquitous. And his stories are reminders that in strangeness, there is possibility.

1 day ago


Saturday Poem: New Year’s 2015

So ordinary: / snow, and pancakes / for breakfast, the cat / in and out of his cat door / and Keith Jarrett in the background

1 day ago


Paul Krugman: Conquest is for losers

Norman Angell didn’t predict an end to warfare, but he did argue that aggressive wars no longer made sense.

1 day ago


This Modern World by Tom Tomorrow

2014 in review: A highly subjective and assuredly incomplete look back at the year that was.

1 day ago


Michael Gerson: Human progress requires room for nonconformity

“The Imitation Game” asserts a strong connection between Alan Turing’s eccentricity and his brilliance.

1 day ago


George F. Will: Cuba, the irrelevant

President Barack Obama has made a geopolitical irrelevancy suddenly relevant to American presidential politics.

2 days ago


Damon Young: Politicizing murder

Ismaaiyl Brinsley he’d been arrested at least 19 times, imprisoned for two years and admitted to having mental health issues.

2 days ago


Christmas in the time of Ebola

The holiday has been canceled in Sierra Leone, but we can see it in the distance.

3 days ago


Joe Nocera: OPEC loses its clout

So you’d better get used to oil prices riding a roller coaster.

3 days ago


Joy to the world!

The meaning of Christmas is meant for everyone.

3 days ago


Margaret Carlson: Why was Obama smiling again?

He was heading for Hawaii, but maybe he’s made his peace with polarization.

4 days ago


Black churches play a key role in helping black males succeed

They can help boost graduation rates and reduce the achievement gap.

4 days ago


 President Barack Obama and Russian President Vladimir Putin are playing both chess and marbles, but which one is playing which game?

Thomas L. Friedman: Who’s playing marbles now?

Obama seems to be getting the better of Putin as the ruble nosedives

5 days ago


Joe Nocera: The Cuomo cop-out

Fracking may be problematic, but so is economic despair.

5 days ago


George F. Will: State attorneys general are revitalizing federalism

Oklahoma’s AG and others are working to restore restraint in federal government.

6 days ago


E.J. Dionne Jr.: President Obama -- the duck that roared

He ends 2014 in surprisingly buoyant spirits, having proved that he still has the power to push policy in new directions in various areas.

6 days ago


The NRA is still winning on guns

Supporters of gun regulation are celebrating the Senate confirmation of Surgeon General Vivek Murthy, but it was a rare defeat for the NRA.

6 days ago


Michael Lewis: My wish list for Wall Street

It’s a wonderful life on Wall Street, yet here is a holiday wish list to make it even better.

1 week ago


Partisan anguish: Greater trust between the parties was needed on the torture report

The recently released Senate report on CIA interrogation practices has produced two conflicting and largely partisan narratives.

1 week ago


America vs. torture: Western civilization has opposed torture for the last 500 years

The Senate Intelligence Committee’s report on the CIA detention and interrogation program last week quickly stirred up a white-hot debate.

1 week ago


Abused to death: We’ve done a lot to combat domestic violence, but the battle is not nearly done

To appreciate how we should respond to crime and its victims, we must debunk two myths.

1 week ago


Cutting Edge: Crack and a drilling tax

New ideas / Sharp opinions

1 week ago


Bring in the nurses — stat

Some of the largest health care systems in America do not have any nurses serving on their boards of directors.

1 week ago


Enough Said: Eat them before they eat you

Facts that speak for themselves.

1 week ago


 The Rev. Martin Luther King Jr. at the center of the March on Washington, Aug. 28, 1963. Protesters lobbied for voting rights and an end to segregation and discrimination.

The Next Page / Set up to fail: the spiteful nature of Jim Crow literacy tests

How a Harvard experiment drove home a toxic legacy

1 week ago


First Person: Advent of customer service

Here’s a story of a college sophomore earning some extra money by working at the local Home Depot.

1 week ago


Saturday Diary: Do my wife and I have a parenting philosophy? Not sure

WARNING: This diary contains annoying parental bragging. Not to mention it steps all over the third-rail of social conversation: parenting.

1 week ago


Putin’s bubble bursts: Plunging oil prices aren’t the sole problem

If you’re the type who finds macho posturing impressive, Vladimir Putin is your kind of guy.

1 week ago


Saturday Poem: An Urban Christmas

The snow will fall and, you will walk in the street up the hill past / the bars where the sons of metal and coal sit to un-remember their ..

1 week ago


This Modern World by Tom Tomorrow

A 500-page summary of the torture report reminded Americans of things they had chosen to forget.

1 week ago


Charles Krauthammer: How to fight the lone wolf terrorist

There are two kinds of lone wolves — the crazy and the evil — and the distinction is important.

1 week ago


 Pakistani student Mohammad Baqair, who survived Tuesday's Taliban attack on a military-run school, poses holding a photograph of his mother, a victim of the attack, who was a teacher at the school.

Meet the Taliban killer of schoolchildren

That would be Maulana Fazlullah, radical broadcaster turned military chieftain.

1 week ago


Pittsburgh goes to Cuba

‘Deliberative democracy’ could be one of our most valuable exports.

1 week ago


Facing up to race

Celebrating diversity is no substitute for addressing racial disparities.

1 week ago


Barack Obama takes on the Cuba lobby

He’s looking for legacy points and doesn’t have much to lose.

1 week ago


George F. Will: No offense, but …

The Constitution guarantees that no one gets through life unoffended.

1 week ago


As others see it: U.S.-Cuba reconciliation is long overdue

We’ve tried isolating the island for more than 50 years, and it hasn’t worked.

1 week ago


 Sen. Elizabeth Warren, D-Mass.

David Brooks: Elizabeth Warren the warrior

The fighting senator from Massachusetts actually has a chance to win

1 week ago


End mandatory minimum sentences in Pennsylvania

They fill our prisons at great expense but do little to improve public safety.

1 week ago


Black and white worlds collide in tragedy

Brown and Garner deaths highlight differences over domain

1 week ago


Gail Collins / This year, we get to talk about the cromnibus at our holiday parties!

Here's a primer on how to get the conversation going.

1 week ago



Advertisement



You have 2 remaining free articles this month

Try unlimited digital access

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here

You’ve reached the limit of free articles this month.

To continue unlimited reading

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here