Letters


Gov. Wolf’s budget addresses real problems

We can’t allow budget weaknesses to continue and watch our property taxes go up while our public schools and working families struggle.

about 10 hours ago


Don't kill the LCB, which provides a revenue stream to the state

I don’t understand the economical reasoning behind the Republican push to privatize Pennsylvania’s liquor sales.

about 10 hours ago


Confederate rebels were traitors, not Americans

The “rebels” may have been born as Americans, but they forfeited that identity when the states that composed the Confederacy seceded.

about 10 hours ago


Vocational education students shouldn't be segregated from others

The student who struggles with a quadratic equation (who didn’t?) might be great at any number of the other multiple intelligences.

about 10 hours ago


Why can’t people be civil to those with other opinions?

We are becoming prisoners of our own intransigence.

about 10 hours ago


PG gave redistricting-related ruling scant attention

I was disappointed with the brief and buried description of the Supreme Court decision to uphold Arizona’s impartial citizens’ commission.

1 day ago


Racism was not isolated to the Confederacy in American history

Let us remember one of the most hideous massacres of Indians in American history under the American flag committed by Col. John Chivington.

1 day ago


The White House should have only white illumination

I was shocked that the White House was illuminated with different colors last week after the Supreme Court ruling on same-sex marriage.

1 day ago


The growing sport of Ultimate Frisbee deserves coverage

The Pittsburgh Thunderbirds clinched a playoff spot in their debut season and did so in a thrilling, come-from-behind overtime victory.

1 day ago


Palestinians in Israel endure daily humiliations

On a recent trip to Israel with four members of Congress organized by J Street, I saw for myself the “apartheid” situation on the ground.

2 days ago


The PG continues to show bias in coverage related to Israel

The recent action of the United Church of Christ against Israel was the subject of a lengthy, Page One story by the PG. Why?

2 days ago


Cyclists should show some courtesy and give pedestrians a warning signal

At the Open Streets event, I couldn’t hear bikes approaching due to traffic noise on the 16th Street Bridge and from the Veterans Bridge.

2 days ago


Speakers at S. Fayette meeting were far from clueless and out of touch

A letter writer resorted to personal attacks on the speakers at a South Fayette Planning Commission meeting and impugned their motives.

2 days ago


Let’s demand transparency in health care pricing

Can you imagine going to Wal-Mart and doing all your grocery shopping without having any idea at all of what the cost of each item might be?

2 days ago


Focus on quality of life, not population growth

I have always questioned why city leaders are obsessed with growing the city’s population.

3 days ago


The right of people to live must trump gun ownership rights

A homicidal white supremacist’s right to own a pistol doesn’t trump the right of nine souls to live their lives without being gunned down.

3 days ago


Adjustments are necessary to speed the Customs process at Pittsburgh airport

Of 18 flights in June coming from Paris, Customs took more than an hour to process the passengers for six of the flights.

3 days ago


Mt. Lebanon park offers protection against skin cancer but not Lyme disease

Does anyone else find it ironic that Mt. Lebanon has a park sunscreen dispenser, yet fails to effectively cull the deer population?

3 days ago


Regarding Catholics and contraception, the pope cannot change morals

A letter said the church’s teaching is antiquated, irrational and harmful but gave no evidence. I would argue that contraception is harmful.

3 days ago


Feed the Future will help to provide food for millions

Please encourage members of Congress to support this successful program as part of the Global Food Security Act.

3 days ago


Pittsburgh’s Amtrak station needs attention

Many people desire to use trains to travel, whether for convenience, cost or green awareness, but the Pittsburgh station is a mess.

4 days ago


Santorum shows hypocrisy regarding Catholic theology

Respect for God’s creation as manifested in the natural environment is an integral part of this theology.

4 days ago


Alexander Hamilton deserves his place on the $10 bill

As the first Treasury secretary, he established our nation’s finances and provided the intellectual firepower for Washington’s presidency.

4 days ago


Andrew Jackson is unworthy of being honored on our currency

Jackson forced the removal of the Cherokees from their lands in the Southeast in the “Trail of Tears” (in which about 4,000 died).

4 days ago


 Greece's flag

If Greece exits the eurozone, catastrophe will await others

Greece’s governing radicals could transform a giddy exit from the eurozone into a rupture of Western collective security.

4 days ago


Don’t prejudge any Iran nuclear deal

Congress has not prejudged the outcome of these negotiations.

5 days ago


Pennsylvania's Republican budget proposal is a sham

The Republican budget only puts $8 million in restored funding back into K-12 education.

5 days ago


The justices who upheld Obamacare abused the Constitution

The court is to make rulings based on the clear language of our Constitution.

5 days ago


Conservatives want government out of religion, but religion in government

Why is it that the religious right wants government out of religion but wants religion in every part of our government.

5 days ago


 Baseball

Baseball needs tough rules on bad pitches

Raise the penalty for hitting batters.

5 days ago


Baldwin’s school chief showed courage, too

Caitlyn Jenner would be an instantly recognized individual to most.

6 days ago


Acknowledge the Charleston killings as terrorism.

The massacre at the Emanuel African Methodist Episcopal Church was a terrorist attack.

6 days ago


We must stand up the gun lobby for our safety.

We all need to rise up and force our leaders to finally stand up to the gun lobby and choose life above politics and, yes, money.

6 days ago


A letter writer was wrong about the Kennywood pool closing.

The owners of the park at that time were the Henninger and McSwigan families, who were wonderful people

6 days ago


We just did it! See the Heinz WWII exhibit

“We Can Do It” runs until Jan. 4.

6 days ago


UPMC deserves a say in what its shops sell

Leaders must decide whether what is sold confuses people facing some of their biggest challenges.

1 week ago


Startups are doing better than the Kauffman data said

Pittsburgh’s low rate obscures what is really happening, and it’s good.

1 week ago


The Post-Gazette should not back down in coverage

I am proud that the newspaper refuses to be compromised by the power of UPMC.

1 week ago


Name the airport to honor Fred Rogers

It would be neighborly of officials to name the airport after the beloved Mr.Rogers.

1 week ago


The Father's Day Pledge is important

The pledge is a timely call for men and boys to prevent domestic and sexual violence.

1 week ago


County officials quickly fixed an airport snag

Pittsburgh cannot expect to be called an international airport while inconveniencing people.

1 week ago


The 'Three Sisters' bridges should remain Pittsburgh yellow

Keep them Pittsburgh yellow!

1 week ago


Paint Pittsburgh's "Three Sister" bridges red, white and blue.

I’ve read the article in last Saturday’s Post-Gazette about repainting the “Three Sisters” bridges during their impending refurbishment.

1 week ago


Some 40 percent of Pennsylvanians trust Hillary. Who are they?

The Quinnipiac University poll released on June 17 asked Pennsylvanians if we thought Hillary Clinton was trustworthy and honest.

1 week ago


Universal health care would end the UPMC-Highmark fight.

Health care should not be subject to the imperial ambitions of private corporations.

1 week ago


Early childhood education is good for everyone

ELIC knows that effectively educating children from birth to age 5 is the key to growing a future talented workforce.

1 week ago


Pennsylvania must close the gap on student funding

Fair funding of education is at the heart of the economic inequality and race issues in the United States.

1 week ago


Does UPMC's board agree with removing the Post-Gazette from hospitals?

Where is the hospital’s illustrious board?

1 week ago


UPMC is right about the PG's unfairness: Look at how many anti-UPMC letters were published

The Post-Gazette slants its news against UPMC.

1 week ago


The leadership of UPMC shows its true opinion of free speech

UPMC leadership at its arrogant finest is now publicly demonstrating its opinion of free speech.

1 week ago



Advertisement