Letters


Letter: Giant Eagle should allow the VFW poppy campaign

Corporate policy dictates that only the Girl Scouts, Boy Scouts and the Salvation Army had permission to solicit at stores, the writer says.

about 2 hours ago


Letter: Pittsburghers have an excellent symphony

Country music comes with baggage, the writer says. Perhaps try the symphony.

about 2 hours ago


Letter: The 'Pittsburgh left' isn't cute; it's dangerous

“Do Pittsburghers (and the Post-Gazette) really think this is a cute, benign local affectation?” the writer asks.

about 2 hours ago


Letter: A Florida law muzzles doctors on gun safety

“We just want to ensure the safety of all children and families in an appropriate manner, without reserve or judgment,“ the writer says..

about 2 hours ago


Letter: Columnist Dan Simpson misstates the facts on fracking

Inflammatory claims like these erode our public discourse, something newspapers should seek to elevate, the writer says.

about 2 hours ago


Israel is faced with a double standard in its fight with Hamas

Every nation is expected to defend itself, except Israel.

1 day ago


Pittsburgh's success is due partly to generous corporate giving

I am amazed at how Pittsburgh’s corporations fund basic human needs and cultural interests.

1 day ago


Pennsylvania should tax drillers to reduce fracking dangers

This November, voters will be able to voice their opinion.

1 day ago


Venezuela is a healthy democracy with little inequality

The “River of Words” project was designed to connect neighbors, but your article contained an attack on the Venezuelan government.

1 day ago


Angels at work

Rose Ann Milbert and her friends turn donated wedding gowns into dresses or suits for babies who died in the hospital.

1 day ago


President Obama's critics must start using facts

The paper must do more to weed out letters that err on the side of subjectivity and hysteria, qualities must be reduced in this country.

1 day ago


Big Brothers Big Sisters needs more adults to mentor youths

According to Georgetown University’s Center on Education and the Workforce, 63 percent of  jobs will require some college education by 2018.

1 day ago


The rail industry wants greater public safety on oil cars, too

In response to the proposal issued last week, we are developing a detailed, evidence-based response that will achieve a holistic solution.

2 days ago


Adoption of the EPA's new pollution rule will cost Pennsylvania jobs

Everyone will pay a price for it — families, businesses, retirees — anyone who uses electricity.

2 days ago


News coverage of a costly wedding was way over the top

We were appalled on Monday morning after reading the details of the Nocito-Wukich wedding in the Seen column.

2 days ago


An expensive wedding at least employed lots of workers

Dare I broach the subject? To me the Nocito-Wukich wedding featured in Monday’s Seen column was obSEEN.

2 days ago


There's a case for unions in America, and it's growing

It was the unions that organized and, through protest, sometimes violent, slowly changed the working man’s life for the better.

2 days ago


Columnist Ruth Ann Dailey should not delight in the frustrations of liberals

Regarding Ruth Ann Dailey’s glee over the frustrations of liberals, it’s a wonder her laptop didn’t short-circuit from the drivel.

2 days ago


The Pittsburgh Parks Conservancy is a fine steward at Frick Park

I can think of no finer stewards for the park, history and facilities at the Frick Environmental Center than Pittsburgh Parks Conservancy.

2 days ago


Rob Rogers' cartoon on Israel and Hamas misleads his readers

The July 22 Rob Rogers cartoon is grossly misleading to your readers.

3 days ago


A broad sweep of Pittsburghers rallied to support Israel

Once again, the Post-Gazette is not able to be even-handed in its coverage of the Israel/​Gaza story.

3 days ago


The problem with botched executions is they're not done often enough

Recently botched executions have raised the question whether death penalty executions should be put on hold in this country.

3 days ago


Let's televise executions, but also explain the plight of the victims

I agree with Tony Norman; we should televise executions, with one addition ...

3 days ago


Graphic photos of abortions would make people think

Tony Norman’s column about how he is changing his opinion on the morality of televising executions has some excellent points ...

3 days ago


UPMC and Highmark leave patients caught in the middle

In the July 25 Post-Gazette there was a story about restaurant owner John Timko’s health care situation with UPMC and Highmark ...

3 days ago


Conflicts around the world suggest World War III has begun

We find ourselves in a Third World War, though no one I know calls it that.

3 days ago


The Port Authority should fix basic transit, not dream up new ideas

Kudos to Mel Packer of Pittsburghers for Public Transit for standing up to the rubber stamp Port Authority board.

4 days ago


Pennsylvania shale gas development would be hurt by a new tax

A new tax on natural gas production would slow the pace of development and lead directly to a loss of jobs and reduced economic activity.

4 days ago


The EPA's proposed carbon rule would reduce air pollution

The Environmental Protection Agency will take public comments on the EPA’s proposed carbon rule under the president’s Clean Power Plan.

4 days ago


Republicans who opposed health-care lawsuits now file plenty of them

Remember the glorious ’90s when one of the GOP remedies for ever-rising health care costs was tort reform.

4 days ago


The key to peace in Iran is diplomacy

New sanctions could undermine the progress our diplomats have made toward a multi-year agreement that guards against a nuclear-armed Iran.

4 days ago


Contrary to Ruth Ann Dailey's column, liberals should not be embarrassed

I would, however, be embarrassed if I thought health care was only for people who had insurance.

4 days ago


The U.S. already has effective gun laws - let them work

Mass shootings are not up.

4 days ago


Will Obama ever learn that charity begins at home?

For two decades, millions of illegals have crossed our borders and now another invasion by children from Latin America is underway

5 days ago


Education funding

As a teacher, I am aware of the cuts our districts have experienced.

5 days ago


Blow to education

We as a city must embrace, not turn away, organizations with a track record of success for preparing students for the 21st century.

5 days ago


Help Homewood

I remember a time when there were thriving vibrant business establishments here.

5 days ago


Bank and coal

The Obama administration took a giant step forward on clean energy last year. Unfortunately, this progress could be undone.

5 days ago


You know you’ve arrived if you ‘get’ the Pittsburgh left

“The Pittsburgh Left — How to Become a Yinzer in Seven Easy Steps”:

5 days ago


Pennsylvania must also address methane emissions

Methane, as a greenhouse gas, is more than 80 times as potent as carbon dioxide over a 20-year time frame.

6 days ago


Drilling must be done right with strong regulations

Our state is at the heart of a new and expanding natural gas industry.

6 days ago


The Creator has entrusted Earth to us, so we must find climate solutions

The Rev. Mitchell Hescox was “spot-on” in his July 13 Forum piece “Protecting God’s Creation.”

6 days ago


Marcellus project threatens a farm and our values

The organic farm that provides my family with fruit and vegetables 10 months out of the year is at risk of grave damage.

6 days ago


Our nation and churches should show their Christianity

I’m responding to the editorial board’s support of the Holy Family Institute’s decision to welcome some of the immigrant children.

6 days ago


DEP is highly regarded in permitting of mines

The Pa. Department of Environmental Protection’s mine permitting process is extensive and regularly monitored.

1 week ago


The Affordable Care Act helps to alleviate insurance worries

For the uninsured, the Affordable Care Act offers new opportunities to get covered.

1 week ago


The Affordable Care Act has caused frustration

Thanks to the crazy “implementation” of the ACA, I just put yet another medical expense on my charge card.

1 week ago


It's important to do the right exercise as you age

Regarding “Still Running After All These Years” (July 19 Saturday Diary): Running puts a lot of strain on knees.

1 week ago


Mylan is responsibly abiding by corporate tax laws

Bashing Mylan Inc. for simply following the existing corporate tax laws and paying the taxes prescribed therein is uncalled for.

1 week ago


Electronic building permitting is crucial for the city and contractors

An electronic permitting system and other changes to the process within the city’s Bureau of Building Inspection cannot come soon enough.

1 week ago



Advertisement



You have 2 remaining free articles this month

Try unlimited digital access

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here

You’ve reached the limit of free articles this month.

To continue unlimited reading

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here