Letters


It was past time to restore relations with Cuba

Americans under the age of 55 have seen Cuba as an enemy of freedom.

about 10 hours ago


The traditional, biblical worldview involves a holistic morality

The reaction to Bruce Barron’s commentary “Can Gays Extend an Olive Branch?” has been clarifying for me.

about 10 hours ago


The Taliban's Peshawar massacre is an affront to Islam

The Quran clearly states, “whosoever kills an innocent person … it is as if they killed all of mankind.”

about 10 hours ago


It would be wrong to tax charitable nonprofits

Tax relief enables charitable nonprofits to use limited financial resources to educate, treat, care for and support fellow Pennsylvanians.

about 10 hours ago


West Mifflin P-cards are closely monitored

The cards have restricted purchasing capability, which is controlled and reviewed monthly.

1 day ago


The West Mifflin superintendent is a good leader

He has set the bar for all schools in Western Pennsylvania to provide a bully-free environment for children, parents and the community.

1 day ago


Attorney General Kathleen Kane again picks and chooses

She decides which laws she likes and therefore will enforce.

1 day ago


Pittsburghers have appreciated Reg Henry's wit

His take on modern politics is on target and never malicious.

1 day ago


Banks again get permission to risk your money

One month after the Republicans’ landslide victory, the GOP-controlled House finally passed a bill.

2 days ago


The budget bill betrays citizens and rewards banks

A handful of people in finance convinced their buds in government that less regulation equals more campaign dollars.

2 days ago


Voting and not voting has consequences

Think hard about who and what party you are supporting next election.

2 days ago


Poll workers, consider giving your pay to charity

Poll workers who set up the machines and record who voted are paid a nominal sum.

2 days ago


Protesters are not impressive people

Protesters don’t impress.

2 days ago


New grading won't hurt clean restaurants

Why restaurant owners are against A-B-C ratings.

2 days ago


Money used for MoonMail could be better spent on this planet

How many people would spend up to $25,800 to send something into space to a place called the Lake of Death?

2 days ago


The fossil fuel industry is ignoring the future

The fossil fuel industry should embrace renewable energies and include them, not campaign so heavily against them.

3 days ago


We welcome drilling in Frazer and West Deer

I have five natural gas wells on my property, all safely drilled and “fracked.”

3 days ago


'Sparkle Season' fulfills a purpose different from Christmas

It clearly defines the difference between shopping and celebrating Christmas.

3 days ago


After 9/11, enhanced interrogation was the best of bad options

Decisions had to be made comparing the costs of using enhanced interrogation with the risks of another major terrorist attack.

3 days ago


Imagine if Congress in 1941 passed such awful legislation

What do marijuana and derivatives sold by banks have to do with the federal budget?

3 days ago


It's time to just abandon football

Or at least require schools to fully insure their football playing students

4 days ago


Wellness penalties are counterproductive

A little bit of carrot and a little bit of stick and maybe employers can nudge workers to be healthier.

4 days ago


When is use of force by officer OK?

As a retired probation/​parole officer, I read the Dec. 10 David Brooks column “Cops See a Threatening World” with great interest.

4 days ago


Pittsburgh needs better bicyclists

Require bike riders to take training to ride safely and adhere to the rules of the road. They should also pay for using the roads.

4 days ago


$1.1 trillion in spending? This is no way to run a U.S. finances

How absurd is it to have a single vote to appropriate $1.1 trillion in spending? No one could possibly grasp what is in that bill.

5 days ago


Let Pennsylvania nurse practitioners help ease care shortages

The shortage is about to get worse. Starting in January, more than 500,000 Pennsylvanians will be eligible for Medicaid through Healthy PA.

5 days ago


Red states seem to love getting welfare from the federal government

Nine of the top 10 “takers” are Republican-controlled states. Yet they attempt to eliminate unions, suppress the minimum wage, etc.

5 days ago


In the aftermath of Ferguson, Eric Garner case, call for better police

In these cases, there is a pattern of extreme brutality and the scales are tipping toward injustice.

5 days ago


Classical music matters: WQED-FM radio is a gem

WQED-FM is a vital resource for all of the classical music organizations, both professional and amateur, in Western Pennsylvania.

5 days ago


The health care situation continues to be a mess

I changed to UPMC so I could keep the hospitals near my home. Guess what? I don’t get to keep my excellent Allegheny Health Network doctor.

6 days ago


UPMC burdens citizens by not paying a fair share of taxes

It is a multibillion-dollar global corporation masquerading as a nonprofit.

6 days ago


Many in Allegheny County share the transit pain

The problem is nobody cares about communities like ours with large numbers of low-income individuals, families and elderly.

6 days ago


Fox News hardly sparkles with dim reporting

This busy holiday season, things will be a little calmer if you just turn off Fox “News.”

6 days ago


The weather in Pittsburgh was welcome for us

When I arrived in Welland, Ontario, Canada from Scotland in April 1955, my strappy, high heels sank into a foot of snow.

6 days ago


Purveyors of tolerance have been seeking LGBT justice

Justice arrives at a painfully slow pace, but on this issue it has arrived.

6 days ago


Higher parking rates drive people away

Imagine the boost to the city if Pittsburgh became known nationally for low-cost, or even free, parking.

1 week ago


The city is determined to send shoppers to the suburbs

The increase in parking revenue will be realized by the city, as will the decrease in business.

1 week ago


Fitness matters for our nation's security

George F. Will’s recent column unfairly classifies the Safe Routes to School Program as a wasteful use of federal funds.

1 week ago


The Amazon court ruling is a blow to workers' rights

The issue is that these people are not being paid for extra time for security checks after their shift is over.

1 week ago


Wellness programs will help rein in health care costs

I commend the PG editorial board on recognizing the value of Affordable Care Act-compliant corporate wellness programs.

1 week ago


This health feud has unacceptable consequences

Local health care providers state in their ads that people should choose a plan that fits their needs. I chose and they took it away.

1 week ago


Street-sign honor for Gen. Hayden should be taken down

When you next visit Heinz Field, you might notice the “Gen. Michael V. Hayden Blvd.” sign on North Shore Drive facing the science center.

1 week ago


Dangerous changes to our climate are occurring

Would I trade the cold weather for shining suns and rising temperatures if it meant a threat to society? Absolutely not.

1 week ago


We must ensure the U.S. never uses torture again

What is described in the Senate report was a program where members of the CIA did unspeakable things, in many cases to innocent people.

1 week ago


The Baldwin area is being treated unfairly by the Port Authority

Good luck to all of the Baldwin homeowners who are trying to sell their homes. No bus service? No deal!

1 week ago


Remember the law when driving in rain

After being in a near collision, I feel compelled to inform drivers of two important facts about headlights.

1 week ago


Farewell to Reg Henry -- writer, gentleman and friend

The nicest guy I know, Post-Gazette columnist Reg Henry, is retiring from Pittsburgh’s premier newspaper.

1 week ago


Reg Henry's writing has brought much joy

Let us salute Reg Henry for giving to us days of joy and laughter as we pondered his words.

1 week ago


 Vector Store Front or Shop with Window and Sign

Small businesses shape our communities

About 85 percent of Pennsylvania businesses employ fewer than 50 people and nearly 90 percent employ under 100.

1 week ago


An op-ed on gay rights ignores reality

In his piece, Bruce Barron threatens a culture war if “traditionalists” are not permitted to discriminate against the LGBT community.

1 week ago



Advertisement



You have 2 remaining free articles this month

Try unlimited digital access

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here

You’ve reached the limit of free articles this month.

To continue unlimited reading

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here