Op Ed Columns


Barack Obama takes on the Cuba lobby

He’s looking for legacy points and doesn’t have much to lose.

about 16 hours ago


George F. Will: No offense, but …

The Constitution guarantees that no one gets through life unoffended.

about 16 hours ago


As others see it: U.S.-Cuba reconciliation is long overdue

We’ve tried isolating the island for more than 50 years, and it hasn’t worked.

about 16 hours ago


 Sen. Elizabeth Warren, D-Mass.

David Brooks: Elizabeth Warren the warrior

The fighting senator from Massachusetts actually has a chance to win

1 day ago


End mandatory minimum sentences in Pennsylvania

They fill our prisons at great expense but do little to improve public safety.

1 day ago


Black and white worlds collide in tragedy

Brown and Garner deaths highlight differences over domain

2 days ago


Gail Collins / This year, we get to talk about the cromnibus at our holiday parties!

Here's a primer on how to get the conversation going.

2 days ago


Who’s been playing Caesar?

Obama's helping some immigrants; Bush and Cheney ran a secret torture program.

2 days ago


E.J. Dionne Jr.: Obama’s Boehner bailout

The president should be far more attentive to his allies in the future.

3 days ago


George F. Will: Tax reform cheer

Departing U.S. Rep. Dave Camp believes sensible tax reform can be achieved.

3 days ago


Climate incentives: Link aid to emissions progress by developing nations

The United Nations climate talks in Lima have highlighted two fundamental sticking points over how to deal with climate change.

3 days ago


Is this the end of football?

A former federal administrative law judge explains how legal liability for long-term injuries and other challenges could kill football.

4 days ago


Marriage equality is good for the church

The Rev. Randy Bush of East Liberty Presbyterian Church describes how welcoming same-gender marriages has enriched his congregation.

4 days ago


Immigration reform is long overdue

Pittsburgh lawyer Joel Pfeffer says Pennsylvanians should support the president’s executive order and urge Congress to act.

4 days ago


Connie Schultz: The racists are ranting

But as long as the rest of us refuse to despair, they will lose in the end.

4 days ago


Are lefties better than the right-handed?

Being one, columnist Peter R. Orszag would like to say yes but the latest research doesn’t help.

4 days ago


Cutting Edge: New ideas / Sharp opinions

Key findings in the torture report, prosecute those responsible and more ...

4 days ago


Enough Said: Cities and their poor

Facts that speak for themselves.

4 days ago


 The USS Somerset, docked in San Diego.

The Next Page: Aboard the USS Somerset, daily inspiration from Flight 93

Walter G. Meyer visits sailors aboard the USS Somerset, surrounded by reminders of the Flight 93 heroes

4 days ago


First Person: Pennsylvania wouldn’t let me help my father die

Ed Boito’s father succumbed to ALS as his lungs filled with fluid across eight days in an Altoona nursing home.

5 days ago


Saturday Diary: Christmas Village 2014 is life as it should be instead of as it is

Unsure of what to make it, Ann Belser’s Christmas Village is still boxed in the attic, less than two weeks before Dec. 25.

5 days ago




Paul Krugman: Mad as Hellas

It’s no wonder that Greece is rebelling against austerity.

5 days ago


This Modern World by Tom Tomorrow

Right wing lessons learned.

5 days ago


Charles Krauthammer: The Senate report on CIA interrogation is a travesty

The report by Democrats on the Senate Intelligence Committee essentially accuses the agency under George W. Bush of war criminality.

5 days ago


Gail Collins / It’s cruel. It’s useless. It’s the CIA

Even prisoners who’d already been cooperating were tortured.

6 days ago


What about Congress' role in the torture program?

The Senate didn’t examine how Congress often turned a blind eye.

6 days ago


Gov.-elect Tom Wolf should complete the Mon-Fayette Expressway

Cost-effective plans have been offered to revitalize the Mon Valley.

6 days ago


Joni Rabinowitz and John Detwiler: Don't expand fracking in county parks until impact on Deer Lakes is known

As citizens and owners of the parks, we need to see how county government uses its powers on this first deal before we entrust it with more.

1 week ago


Thomas L. Friedman / A backlash is growing

The Islamic State has visibly attracted young Muslims from all over the world to its violent movement to build a caliphate in Iraq and

1 week ago


Gail Collins / Aiding pregnant workers

Today, let’s take a look at the Little Bill That Couldn’t.

1 week ago


David Brooks / Cops see a threatening world

There is no excuse for racism or brutality, but we must realize how police think.

1 week ago


Big political donors are in denial

They have a lot less control of the GOP nomination process than they think

1 week ago


How to read the Rolling Stone UVA rape story

We should focus on eradicating campus rape culture, not just on Jackie’s story

1 week ago


Joe Nocera / Big Uber vs. little uber

Why do some companies really not want to hear from their customers?

1 week ago


Coy is not credible when it comes to Hillary Clinton

Does anybody think she is undecided about running for president?

1 week ago


E.J. Dionne Jr. / Big Data in action for better government

A bipartisan effort seeks evidence to evaluate if government programs are working.

1 week ago


George F. Will / Progressives and future government power

An economic growth agenda will displace the goals of the “Clerisy.”

1 week ago


Smarter crime policy in Texas

Both crime and incarceration rates have fallen in the Lone Star State.

1 week ago


Being poor, hoping rich: ‘Hand to Mouth’ takes us on an insiders’ tour of impoverished America

Now that we’ve enjoyed the latest jobs report, let’s visit with the invisible people.

1 week ago


Pennsylvania should consider the value of natural gas when levying property taxes

In Pennsylvania most of the money to pay our children’s school teachers and fund our local governments comes from taxes on real estate.

1 week ago


Impersonally yours: Attached to our technology, we grow less attached to each other, and to our values

In a technology-heavy society like ours, the personal is often (perhaps too often) replaced by the mechanical.

1 week ago


Can gays extend an olive branch? Defeated traditionalists should be offered conscientious-objector status

The nightmare confronting traditionalists today has been coming for a long time.

1 week ago


Cutting Edge: Trapped being black

New ideas / sharp opinions.

1 week ago


Enough Said: Syrian refugee crisis

Facts that speak for themselves.

1 week ago


Gail Collins / A bill might get signed into law!

Congress reaches for the stars and maintains the status quo (retroactively).

1 week ago


The Next Page: 'Power of 32'

We can increase our energy efficiency and decrease what we waste. Court Gould wants to spark that change with a regional discussion.

1 week ago


First Person / A carpet of leaves

Small mitzvahs can be large enough.

1 week ago


Saturday Diary / My Christmas gift: liberation from shopping

It seemed a momentous thing to do — to abandon a ritual of every single year since I’ve been alive.

1 week ago


Paul Krugman / Europe is still stalled

And the main culprit is German tight-fistedness.

1 week ago



Advertisement



You have 2 remaining free articles this month

Try unlimited digital access

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here

You’ve reached the limit of free articles this month.

To continue unlimited reading

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here