Op Ed Columns


Matt Smith / Let’s reform education funding

The opportunity to come up with a fair formula for schools must be seized.

about 11 hours ago


In Rebuttal / Jared Cohon’s fracking role raises concern

The PG attacks our work while ignoring CSSD ethical questions.

about 11 hours ago


Thomas L. Friedman / It’s a world of order versus a world of disorder

If it feels as though the world of disorder is expanding against order, it’s not your imagination. There’s an unfortunate logic to it.

1 day ago


Paul Krugman / Does Gov. Rick Perry really know the secrets to job growth?

The idea of Mr. Perry running for president raises one of my favorite subjects: interregional differences in economic and population growth.

1 day ago


Erin C. Molchany / Unfinished business marks the 19th amendment’s anniversary

It is clear that women’s equal right to vote, established 94 years ago, has not yet translated into equal representation in government.

1 day ago


Mike Dillon / Terrorists' ghastly photo op

What should the media do when terrorists pose victims?

2 days ago


George F. Will / In defense of the defenders

The federal criminal justice system is flawed but still effective.

2 days ago


 President Barack Obama returns clubs to the cart while golfing at Vineyard Golf Club, Tuesday, Aug. 12, 2014, in Edgartown, Mass., on the island of Martha's Vineyard. President Obama is taking a two-week summer vacation on the island. (AP Photo/Steven Senne)

Maureen Dowd / Obama’s Golf Address

With tense situations at home and abroad, the president takes refuge on the links.

2 days ago


Ruth Ann Dailey: In tyranny’s assault, we're all together now?

A lot of time, energy and lives have been wasted while we citizens of the still-free Western world bicker bitterly while Mosul burns.

2 days ago


Riverlife: Antique sewage system cannot persist in Pittsburgh

In dealing with dirty water, the Strip District could be our secret weapon, says Riverlife’s president and CEO.

3 days ago


 Lesley McSpadden, the mother of 18-year-old Michael Brown, with Brown's father, Michael Brown Sr., holding up a family picture of himself, his son,  and a young child during a news conference  Aug. 11.

Michael Brown could have been me

All young black males are suspect in the eyes of the law.

3 days ago


Philadelphia riots, 50 years later

As events in Ferguson remind the nation, police killings of African-Americans continue to spark unrest.

3 days ago


In praise of placebos

Often the best medicine is simply having someone care, says a psychologist.

3 days ago


A vision of North America

A Canadian ambassador says Reagan’s hopes for a greater role for a power bloc of the United States, Canada and Mexico has dimmed.

3 days ago


Enough Said / Faith building

Facts that speak for themselves.

3 days ago


The Next Page: Cartooning Sophie

Post-Gazette cartoonist Rob Rogers remembers the city’s colorful 56th mayor, Sophie Masloff, who died last Sunday.

3 days ago


Spousal abuse, legal style

Gov. Bob McDonnell has, apparently, mistaken Judge James R. Spencer for his marriage counselor.

3 days ago


Cutting Edge, Aug. 24: New Ideas, Sharp Opinions

On Pittsburgh’s supposed brain drain, children playing unsupervised, the trustworthiness of polls, and sleep problems.

3 days ago


Uncle Sam on the couch

Uncle Sam is talking to his psychiatrist, Dr. Poppy Pill, about Sam’s propensity to get involved in unhealthy relationships.

3 days ago


First Person / A market for Pittsburgh goods waiting for a taker

If you have an ounce of marketing savvy, I have a can’t-miss proposition for you.

4 days ago


Peter McKay: Despite family sizes, house always had room for love

The house that was too big when we moved in, then was too small, is too big again as we send off the last of our five kids to college.

4 days ago


Saturday Diary / The soprano who sang me to success

The Metropolitan Opera’s Licia Albanese, who died Aug. 15 at age 105, was an icon of my formative years.

4 days ago


Saturday Poem / Extra Burden

As I enter a room / And view the crowd / I feel alone ...

4 days ago


Paul Krugman / Hawks crying wolf about inflation

The inflation scolds refuse to learn from their mistakes and repeat dire warnings despite their poor record.

4 days ago


Charles Krauthammer / Obama tentatively exerts U.S. power and reaps some success

Baghdad called President Obama’s bluff and he came through, providing air support when the Iraqis got rid of their divisive prime minister.

4 days ago


E.J. Dionne Jr. / A chance for dialogue after Ferguson?

Polls show that we may be less divided about race relations than we think.

5 days ago


In Rebuttal: The Marcellus opportunity

Pennsylvania’s natural resources promise a great future.

5 days ago


Gail Collins / Let’s salute the candidates whose chances are slim

Amanda Curtis, the Democratic candidate for U.S. Senate in Montana, is a super long shot with something to say.

5 days ago


Maureen Dowd / Obama’s petulant aloofness has left him with few loyalists

What started as an affectation -- casting himself as the lone man on the stage -- has turned into an affliction.

6 days ago


Thomas L. Friedman / It's laughable to suggest that arming moderates in Syria was the answer

I don’t want U.S. troops in Syria any more than anyone else, but I have no respect for the argument that just arming some pro-democracy

6 days ago


George F. Will / Government reaches into all walks of life with ludicrous results

The Cupcake Postulate explains everything, from Missouri to Iraq, concerning Americans’ comprehensive withdrawal of confidence from

6 days ago


Opinion: UPMC’s costly divorce from Highmark

Pittsburghers need to know what will happen for them regarding charges after the split.

1 week ago


Dan Simpson / Nations are in a state of flux

Humpty Dumpty states may never be put back together again.

1 week ago


'Credit invisibles' would benefit from a bill enabling positive reports

In addition to HR 2538, financial literacy education would go a long way in helping young people.

1 week ago


 Pedestrians walk past the August Wilson Center on Liberty Avenue, Downtown.

Opinion: Saving the August Wilson Center

There’s no pretense involved, just a realistic new course.

1 week ago


Playing soldier in the suburbs

Ferguson shows that the SWAT mentality has gone too far.

1 week ago


Irish still fighting over the past

As Scotland is debating its future, Ireland is debating its past.

1 week ago


George F. Will / Corporate inversions are sensible

Far from being unpatriotic, these mergers with overseas corporations strengthen the U.S. economy.

1 week ago


Maureen Dowd / The Obama administration tries to suffocate the press

The president and Justice Department have proved to be stunning hypocrites regarding press freedom.

1 week ago


Nicholas D. Kristof / Nuns are the real superheroes for our time

We should all spend more time emulating them, rather than investigating or mocking them.

1 week ago


I cannot manage to die

Pitt health law pioneer Nathan Hershey explains why he wishes to die and how the law will not allow it.

1 week ago


The Ebola effect

West Africa is so much more than the sum of its troubles, explains returned Peace Corps volunteer Chris Merriman.

1 week ago


Fight climate change with natural gas

People don’t realize that shale gas has helped us reduce carbon emissions, writes petroleum geologist John J. Interval

1 week ago


Everything OK? In Israel, no.

We must apply our hopes and ingenuity to finding peace with the Palestinians, writes Rabbi Donniel Hartman

1 week ago


Cowboys don’t summer on Martha's Vineyard

Politicians are so out of touch, they don’t even know how to relax anymore

1 week ago


Ferguson, Missouri: Black city, white leaders

The issue boils down to who votes.

1 week ago




Enough Said / Urban ideologies

Facts that speak for themselves.

1 week ago


 For the full page, see PDF below.

The Next Page / 'Chutz-Pow': Ordinary superheroes of the Holocaust

The ToonSeum and Holocaust Center of the Jewish Federation of Greater Pittsburgh have produced “Chutz-Pow! Superheroes of the Holocaust.”

1 week ago


First Person / Having gone to war, I can’t enjoy a ball game anymore

I can no longer sit and enjoy such things because there will forever be a piece of me in Iraq.

1 week ago



Advertisement



You have 2 remaining free articles this month

Try unlimited digital access

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here

You’ve reached the limit of free articles this month.

To continue unlimited reading

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here