Op Ed Columns


 Outside the White House Friday, Jeff Hulbert of Annapolis, Maryland, protests government handling of the Ebola crisis.

Ebola: We fear the sick stranger

America has a long history of seeing foreigners as diseased

about 14 hours ago


Silence the ‘gamergates’ and end the misogyny in gaming culture

Women keep getting threatened online by cowardly boys and men.

about 14 hours ago


Ellen Goodman / Talk to people about the end of your life

The assisted-suicide debate has little to do with the death most of us will face.

about 14 hours ago


The robocars are coming: It won’t be long before we kick humans out of the driver’s seat

Self-driving cars won’t have our limitations. They will prevent tens of thousands of fatalities every year and better our lifestyles.

1 day ago


Panhandling in Pittsburgh: Bruce Kraus’ proposed ordinance would be unconstitutional

The legal and moral logic for Pittsburgh City Council President Bruce Kraus’ proposed panhandling ordinance is elusive.

1 day ago


Fans of politics: It’s hard to hear them over the hot air

There’s lots of real, serious news going on in the world. (There always is.) But last week, the Internet was set abuzz by “Fangate.”

1 day ago


High hopes shot down: We still dream big for our kids, even as they die in the streets

Two weeks ago my family was blessed by the birth of a new baby. My first grandchild, a boy, instantly filled me with unconditional love.

2 days ago


Could Pittsburgh hospitals contain Ebola?

Theoretically, yes, every U.S. hospital, doctor and nurse has been trained before graduation in blood-borne pathogen protocols.

2 days ago


A tipping point for Muslims: The ‘Islamic State’ has clarified for everyone the difference between Islam and barbarism

The rise, battlefield success and vainglorious propaganda of the so-called “Islamic State” may prove to be a moment of clarity for Muslims.

2 days ago


In Pennsylvania, what used to be considered corporal punishment is now child abuse

The latest debate continues, having been set off by Adrian Peterson beating his son with a branch to the point of bleeding and bruising.

2 days ago


Can Larry Pressler save the Democrats?

The former Republican just might help keep the Democrats in control of the Senate.

2 days ago


Cutting Edge: New ideas / Sharp opinions

Soft on Ebola; Black men in jail; Get rid of the methane; Overthrow Obama?

2 days ago


Enough Said / Mortal combat

Facts that speak for themselves.

2 days ago


 The first varsity baseball team of Oberlin College in Ohio in 1881 included Fleetwood Walker (No. 6 in the middle row) and his brother Weldy (No. 10).

The Next Page / Before Jackie Robinson, baseball had Moses 'Fleet' Walker

Craig Britcher says professional baseball had an opportunity to embrace integration years earlier with a great player from Steubenville

2 days ago


Saturday Diary / Reconciling with my father, seven years too late

We often didn't get along when he was alive, but then he came for a visit.

3 days ago


Paul Krugman / No, it’s not the market’s will

And watch out when you hear someone make this claim.

3 days ago


First Person / You are not your test scores

Tests cannot sum up who people are or what they can do.

3 days ago


Saturday Poem / Sweet Comes and Goes

We know she has early dementia ... / My hope for her, now, is a life of reminders ...

3 days ago


Charles Krauthammer / Recalibrating civil liberties is necessary to stop Ebola

Unnervingly, the U.S. public health services remain steps behind the Ebola virus.

3 days ago


 This 2011 photo shows Thomas Eric Duncan, the first Ebola patient diagnosed in the United States, at a wedding in Ghana. He died in Dallas Oct. 8.

My uncle didn’t have to die of Ebola

Let me tell you the story of Thomas Eric Duncan.

4 days ago


Thomas L. Friedman / War is being waged with oil prices

The U.S. and Saudi Arabia are taking on Russia and Iran.

4 days ago


Freeze your eggs, boost your career?

Watch out, women, it could backfire.

4 days ago


 Tom Wolf speaks at a rally Wednesday in Philadelphia.

E.J. Dionne Jr. / Tom Wolf points out that government used to work

He's betting that Pennsylvania voters will let him show that it still can get things done.

5 days ago


Excuse me, but we never ‘won’ in Iraq

Don’t blame Obama for the rise of the Islamic State; its roots go deeper than that.

5 days ago


Kathleen Parker / In the face of Ebola, panic might help

Let's quarantine possible Ebola carriers.

5 days ago


 Pope Francis talks with Filipino Cardinal Luis Antonio Tagle at the Vatican Friday during a two-week synod of bishops on family issues.

Catholics and the modern family

The pope is hosting a caring conversation, not a confrontation.

6 days ago


Obama's war on coal

The Democrats will be suffering casualties at the ballot box.

6 days ago


Ross Douthat / Will assisted suicide be the last right?

As same-sex marriage goes mainstream, it still hasn’t spread beyond a few states.

1 week ago


Immigration reform, R.I.P.

Its prospects next year won’t improve no matter which party controls the Senate.

1 week ago


Why study liberal arts?

Because it can help create both good citizens and good workers.

1 week ago


 Beautiful smiling

George F. Will / Liberty to make a living

The court can end government protection of crony capitalism.

1 week ago


E.J. Dionne Jr. / Citizens disunited

Americans are becoming political bystanders to big money.

1 week ago


Maureen Dowd / ‘Gone Girl’ and me-monsters

Art should explore unattractive inner realities as well as recommend ideals.

1 week ago


Remedy for worker turnover: Companies that pay attention to their employees have a way of keeping them

One of the challenges that advocates are discussing here at an anti-poverty conference in Aspen is getting buy-in from the private sector.

1 week ago


Get big money out of politics: Why we need a constitutional amendment for limits on campaign donations

Americans are furious with the Supreme Court for turning our democracy into a plutocracy. An amendment is the only way to fix the problem.

1 week ago


The U.S. needs more steel: Steelmaking is a vital domestic industry

Steel is power. Any nation that expects to project strength and resolve must produce steel.

1 week ago


Brave new world of panic: Information overload has got us fretting about everything

In the age of information technology we find ourselves living in a culture of fear that it makes some yearn for the days of the Cold War.

1 week ago


Nation of immigrants? The U.S. has a long history of both welcoming and shunning new arrivals

We like to say the United States is a nation of immigrants from everywhere who get along together, a melting pot that works.

1 week ago


Cutting Edge: New ideas / Sharp opinions

Counting women in Texas; Ebola’s cable contagion; Do as I preach

1 week ago


Engineering a better world: A whole new field is opening up to solve the problems of the poor

Eight of the 10 highest paid majors are in the engineering sciences, and jobs are plentiful.

1 week ago


Enough Said / Desk drones

Facts that speak for themselves.

1 week ago


 Adison Zahner of Leetsdale catches guppies in a cup in Lake Elizabeth in July at Allegheny Commons Park on the North Side.

The Next Page: Urban escapes and the beauty of Pittsburgh's parks

Home on a summer internship, Katie Wettick was given the task to inventory the signs in all 146 city parks. She was in for a surprise.

1 week ago


Saturday Poem / Warning: Fall

I can remember the early mornings I woke to the sound of coffee grinding downstairs, the slow drip, drop of liquid like calm rain.

1 week ago


 Our new pal Ollie

Saturday Diary / Our new pal Ollie, the dog that's changed my life

I have always considered myself a cat lover, but, as fate would have it, I met a small and friendly Siberian husky ...

1 week ago


Paul Krugman / Voodoo’s next generation

Even if Republicans take the Senate this year, gaining control of both houses of Congress, they won’t gain much in conventional terms.

1 week ago


First Person / Unicorns and rainbows?

When her husband of 22 years committed suicide, Rebecca was understandably distraught.

1 week ago


Charles Krauthammer / The double game U.S. allies play

President Barack Obama’s vaunted Middle East coalition remains fictional.

1 week ago


Trudy Rubin / Lack of coordination

To degrade the Islamic State, U.S. air strikes need the cooperation of ground forces, but reliable Syrian rebel forces are scarce.

1 week ago


Joel Vanucci / Hometown health care

It now appears that both UPMC and Highmark have begun a new propaganda campaign, which they hope will attract patients to their health plan.

1 week ago


David Brooks / Is this a new golden age?

New York isn’t as artistically or intellectually rich as it was in the 1940s and 1950s, but daily life is immeasurably better.

1 week ago



Advertisement



You have 2 remaining free articles this month

Try unlimited digital access

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here

You’ve reached the limit of free articles this month.

To continue unlimited reading

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here