Opinion


‘Yinz’ gets no respect: Help get it entered in the Oxford English Dictionary

The perception of Pittsburghese as a “backwoods dialect,” to use the phrase of a 1928 article in American Speech, has remained persistent.

about 3 hours ago


 The majority of Pennsylvania state legislators — 36 of the 50 senators and more than half of the 203 representatives — have at least one source beyond their state paychecks.

Ethics cesspool: No wonder the state Legislature is a rogue’s gallery

The Pennsylvania Legislature has earned its terrible reputation.

about 3 hours ago


Asides: Final days for giving, tax helpers needed, First Night returns

Last call for 2014 charitable deductions, United Way needs tax prep volunteers, Pittsburgh is set for First Night.

about 3 hours ago


We can set a good example for Cuba by voting

Discussions around U.S. foreign policy toward Cuba absolutely should include considerations on how Pittsburgh might serve as a model.

about 3 hours ago


For a happier family, make your marriage a priority

Hats off to Greg Victor and his wife for embracing “marriage first, kids second” during their years of raising their sons.

about 3 hours ago


A team approach is what makes our palliative care program work

It is this team approach to care that is the hallmark feature of palliative and supportive care services across UPMC.

about 3 hours ago


Is there a place in heaven for plants, too?

I enjoyed the article by Peter Smith about the possibility that animals have souls and will, upon their deaths, have a place in heaven.

about 3 hours ago


Most youth head injuries are not from organized sports

The No. 1 sporting activity in relation to head injuries is bike riding.

about 3 hours ago


Enough Said: New York says no to fracking

Facts that speak for themselves.

about 3 hours ago


Kathleen Parker: Women should stop fussing over labels

It is probably too soon to declare a feminist reformation, but a few signs here and there give one hope.

about 3 hours ago


 Dee Stahl shows off the Slinky she bought for $40 at the estate auction of the late Betty James, co-founder of the firm that made the famous Slinky toy.

Brian O'Neill: Slinky springs from one of the greatest accidents ever

Bob Swaim wants the Slinky, born in Pennsylvania, to become the state’s official toy. Its story is captivating enough to be a movie, too.

about 3 hours ago


Generation Z is connecting in the real world

Today’s hot tech companies may soon be in for some nasty surprises. Teenagers are pushing back against the technology dependence.

about 3 hours ago


 President Barack Obama answers a question after his end of the year press conference Dec. 19 in the briefing room of the White House in Washington.

David M. Shribman: Should presidents put their parties or the people first?

Here’s the reality: The principle of national representation in the presidency is honored only in the breach, and usually briefly.

about 3 hours ago


Cutting Edge: After the protests

New ideas / Sharp opinions

about 3 hours ago


Shenango is polluting my neighborhood, and I wish Vanguard would use its clout to make it stop

As a financial journalist, I’ve covered the mutual fund industry for 18 years, the last five of which from my home in Bellevue.

about 3 hours ago


Washington is brain-dead: The dumbing down of America afflicts our nation’s capital

Americans are perfectly happy to celebrate genius, provided it doesn’t make them uncomfortable or require too much of them.

about 3 hours ago


The U.S.-Cuba love affair: Can it be rekindled?

I’m a daughter of exiles who’ve pledged not to return until there is political change. Yet I’ve traveled there many times since the 1990s.

about 3 hours ago


 Walt Harper at home in 2003.

First Person: Christmas with my dad, jazz musician Walt Harper

With the Christmas holidays all around us, I find myself thinking about my beloved dad and the treasure trove of Christmas memories I love.

1 day ago


Clean water woes: Congress should stop blocking a sensible EPA rule

A new rule proposed by the EPA would give it the authority to regulate small waterways that flow into watersheds and affect water quality.

1 day ago


Care with comfort: Palliative medicine is having a greater impact

For a person receiving medical care, there’s a time when comfort is as key as the best prescription drug.

1 day ago


Downtown Pittsburgh needs to have a grocery store

Attracting people to the city is one thing, but shouldn’t you have the amenities to keep them there?

1 day ago


The Gospel truth is that Jesus didn't choose women to be part of the 12

If we do accept the Gospels as truthful, why didn’t Jesus choose any women as part of the 12 apostles when he was such a “rebel”?

1 day ago


The Pittsburgh Youth Symphony Orchestra at Heinz Hall is a musical treat

Since 1946, when the orchestra was created, it has presented classical music of the finest quality to all, with no charge.

1 day ago


This Modern World by Tom Tomorrow

2014 in review: A highly subjective and assuredly incomplete look back at the year that was.

1 day ago


Michael Gerson: Human progress requires room for nonconformity

“The Imitation Game” asserts a strong connection between Alan Turing’s eccentricity and his brilliance.

1 day ago


Paul Krugman: Conquest is for losers

Norman Angell didn’t predict an end to warfare, but he did argue that aggressive wars no longer made sense.

1 day ago


Saturday Poem: New Year’s 2015

So ordinary: / snow, and pancakes / for breakfast, the cat / in and out of his cat door / and Keith Jarrett in the background

1 day ago


 Rick Sebak at Tessaro's in Bloomfield, one of the things noted in his  "25 Things I Like About Pittsburgh."

Saturday Diary: What a Pittsburgh newcomer learned from Rick Sebak

The documentary maker who exudes love for the city is ubiquitous. And his stories are reminders that in strangeness, there is possibility.

1 day ago


George F. Will: Cuba, the irrelevant

President Barack Obama has made a geopolitical irrelevancy suddenly relevant to American presidential politics.

2 days ago


 According to an audit by county Controller Chelsa Wagner, Corizon has failed, among other things, to provide required clinical care and directions for follow-up care when inmates leave the jail.

Corizon’s failures: Mounting evidence shows lousy care at Allegheny County jail

The county hired Corizon Health Inc. in September 2013 to replace the ineffective nonprofit that had been providing inmate health care.

2 days ago


China syndrome: U.S. workers need a trade policy that saves jobs

The United States has let itself become prey to a trade deficit with China that cost 3.2 million jobs in this country between 2001 and 2013.

2 days ago


Sony reconsiders: In the end, the studio defends artistic expression

Sony Pictures capitulated to hackers by pulling the Seth Rogen comedy “The Interview” from distribution.

2 days ago


Citizens can change the course of the nation

We need champions in government to take a different path and advocate for complete abolition of nuclear weapons.

2 days ago


Doris Lessing's lessons on indoctrination apply to America's use of torture

The U.S. government has been engaged in torture since its founding and it will never voluntarily cease engaging in it.

2 days ago


Congress' budget also cut the EPA, freed shaky banks and allowed bigger political donations

The trillion-dollar bill passed by Congress gives us an inkling of what to expect in the future.

2 days ago


Christianity and Islam are perfect, but Christians and Muslims are not

Many non-Muslims tend to associate with Islam the barbaric acts of numerous terrorists who happen to consider themselves Muslims.

2 days ago


With his Christmas Eve cartoon, Rob Rogers forgets Santa is a creature of white privilege, too

No need for the “hands-up” T-shirt you dressed Santa in.

2 days ago


 Jackson Browne at the Benedum Center on Oct. 12.

Tony Norman: Favorite music isn’t so avant-garde now

Here’s my favorite music of the year, a little more mainstream than previously.

2 days ago


 Africa

Humans must take strong steps to save wildlife from extinction

Kruger National Park in South Africa was forced to relocate its remaining rhinos to secret sites to combat a surge of poaching.

2 days ago


Damon Young: Politicizing murder

Ismaaiyl Brinsley he’d been arrested at least 19 times, imprisoned for two years and admitted to having mental health issues.

2 days ago


Christmas in the time of Ebola

The holiday has been canceled in Sierra Leone, but we can see it in the distance.

3 days ago


Heart of Christmas: In a Gospel or a TV classic, the spirit is the same

From the Post-Gazette family to your family, Merry Christmas.

3 days ago


Joint practice: AHN and Johns Hopkins broaden their affiliation

The broader affiliation will give AHN and Highmark Health more options for improving patient care and achieving economic efficiencies.

3 days ago


Unfinished justice: New guidelines on racial profiling still fall short

For such an anticipated policy change, Attorney General Eric Holder Jr.’s new framework on racial profiling is disappointing.

3 days ago


May we provide comfort and understanding

In this season of holiday observance, let us be mindful of the toll that violence can take on our community.

3 days ago


The pope has given Catholics a gift

Pope Francis raised the hopes of this Roman Catholic as I read “Pope Scolds Vatican’s Curia” (Dec. 23).

3 days ago


Obama should show courage like that of Pope Francis

I admire and applaud Pope Francis (“Pope Scolds Vatican’s Curia,” Dec. 23).

3 days ago


It's time to call out Congress for problems similar to the Vatican Curia's

How do we get the pope to deliver a similar message to our Congress?

3 days ago


Ornaments remind me of what is real, flawed and strong

They’re cherished because they are not perfect; they’ve seen rough times.

3 days ago


WQED program's French connection influenced my career

In 1954, my teacher would parade me around to other teachers to hear me speak French or sing some of the songs from “The Children’s Corner.

3 days ago



Advertisement



You have 2 remaining free articles this month

Try unlimited digital access

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here

You’ve reached the limit of free articles this month.

To continue unlimited reading

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here