North Notables

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

Fox Chapel Area High School senior Christine Mikhael has received the Spirit of Unity Award and a $500 scholarship at the recent Martin Luther King Jr. breakfast at La Roche College. The award is presented to a student "who acts as an agent of change for racial justice and embodies the ideals of Martin Luther King Jr."

Kathryn Chivinsky, a fourth-grader at Hartwood Elementary School, won first place in the recent Allegheny County Children's Court Adoption Day Poster Contest. Two classmates also were winners. Basant Mansour finished second and Reem Mansour received an honorable mention.

• These North Allegheny High School marketing students finished first in individual events at the recent District 2 DECA career development district conference: Lauren Gill, David Pearson, Andrea Macedonia, Luke Soyster, Tiffany McGinnis, Ryan Spengler, Grant Sefcik, Nick Steenson. Finishing first in the team events category were Matt Battaglia and Nick Kaiser; Michelle Murray and Melissa Sharlow; Jake Elich and Adrian Enica; Abby Kirkendoll and Emmie Bish; Justin Leonard and Cody Blacks; Jiemin Sheng and Nirmal Bhanga.

Heath Gamache, a science teacher at Ingomar Middle School in the North Allegheny School District, has been selected by the National Science Teachers Association as a Fellow in the New Science Teacher Academy. He is among 244 science teachers from across the nation chosen and among 11 from Pennsylvania. He will participate in a professional development program "to promote science teaching, enhance teacher confidence and classroom excellence."

• These members of Mars Area High School band were selected to perform in the recent Pennsylvania Music Educators Association District 5 orchestra festival in Erie: seniors Chris Blahnik, cello, Johnny Kwon, violin, and Taylor Spurlock, violin; and juniors Michaela Valenta, cello, Shyniah Watson, string bass, Emily Porter, violin, and Brittany Gaunt, flute.

• A team of Edgeworth Elementary fifth-graders placed second in the recent Science Bowl competition: Josh Bemis, Scarlett Hudson, Joseph Stater and Nathaniel Whalen.


To submit a North notable:


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?