IUP names new president

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

Michael A. Driscoll, now provost and executive vice chancellor of the University of Alaska Anchorage, has been named president of Indiana University of Pennsylvania.

Mr. Driscoll was chosen today by the board of governors of the State System of Higher Education. The appointment is effective July 1.

David J. Werner has been serving as interim president since August 2010 after president Tony Atwater left.

In an news release, Guido M. Pichini, board of governors chairman, said, "Dr. Driscoll is an outstanding academic leader, with an extensive record of success everywhere he has served."

IUP has about 15,000 students. The University of Alaska Anchorage has about 16,000 on its main campus and about 5,000 at other locations.

Before being named executive vice chancellor last July, Mr. Driscoll served as provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs at the University of Alaska Anchorage from 2006 until his promotion. He also has served as chief academic officer for the UAA system. He previously was on the faculty of Portland State.

He holds bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees in electrical engineering from Michigan State University.

State System Chancellor John C. Cavanaugh, said the new president's "vast experience at both the campus and system levels made him stand out among an impressive collection of candidates."

Education writer Eleanor Chute: echute@post-gazette.com


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?