Trafford, Hempfield and South Greensburg to get PennDOT road salt

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

Three Westmoreland County municipalities, including two that declared disaster emergencies, will get road salt from PennDOT.

Hempfield and South Greensburg issued disaster declarations on Thursday, citing low salt supplies. The declarations banned nonessential travel on municipal roads. Trafford also has been approved for an infusion of salt from PennDOT, District 12 spokeswoman Valerie Petersen said.

It was not immediately clear whether the approvals would affect the disaster proclamations, which stay in effect through 10 a.m. Saturday in Hempfield and noon Saturday in South Greensburg.

Ms. Petersen said about 10 percent of the district's stockpile of 12,000 tons will be set aside to help those three municipalities and others in the four-county district that have struggled because their salt suppliers have not kept pace with their orders.

"We are working with our communities as best as we can," she said.

Governments throughout Pennsylvania and across the East and Midwest have dealt with dwindling supplies as major salt producers have failed to meet demand in a winter of record snowfalls and cold.

District 12, comprising Washington, Westmoreland, Fayette and Greene counties, has enough salt for about "five more solid storms," Ms. Petersen said.

Jon Schmitz: or 412-263-1868.

Join the conversation:

Commenting policy | How to report abuse
To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.
Commenting policy | How to report abuse


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?