Mayor Peduto makes 45 appointments to Pittsburgh boards, authorities and commissions

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

Mayor Bill Peduto today made 45 appointments and nominations to 11 boards, authorities and commissions, including those that will oversee the city's stadiums, public housing and water and sewer infrastructure.

His selections included three Pittsburgh City Council members. Councilman Corey O'Connor will serve on the Alcosan board, Councilman Dan Gilman on the Sports and Exhibition Authority and Councilwoman Deb Gross on the board of the Pittsburgh Water and Sewer Authority. Chief Administration Officer Debbie Lestitian will also serve on the PWSA board.

Mr. Peduto said around a quarter of those nominated or appointed are African-American and around half are women.

Pittsburgh City Council has to confirm appointments to ALCOSAN, Planning Commission, Housing Authority, Pittsburgh Water and Sewer Authority and Zoning Board of Adjustment.

Here is a full list of the appointees and nominations :

ALCOSAN: Brenda Smith, Councilman Corey O’Connor, Greg Jones, Sylvia Wilson

Allegheny Regional Asset District: Sylvia Fields, Don Linzer

Planning Commission: Paul Gitnik, Esq., Fred Brown, Barb Valaw, Jennifer Askey, Christine Mondor, John Paul Jones, Lucy Spruill, LaShawn Burton-Faulk

Housing Authority of the City of Pittsburgh: Enid Miller, Lara Washington, Peter Robert Kaplan, Leroy Morgan, Lena Andrews

Public Parking Authority of Pittsburgh: Jeff Cohen, Loralyn Fabian, Aradhna Oliphant, Cathy Qureshi

Pittsburgh Water and Sewer Authority: Debbie Lestitian, Esq., Councilwoman Deborah Gross, Andrea Geraghty, Esq., Caren Glotfelty, Margaret Lanier, Alex Thomson

Sports and Exhibition Authority: Councilman Dan Gilman, the Rev. John Welch, Jill Weimer

Stadium Authority: Stanley Lederman, Esq., Jay Anderko, Jim Malanos

Urban Redevelopment Authority: Kevin Acklin, Esq., state Rep. Ed Gainey, Cheryl Hall Russell

Zoning Board of Adjustment: J.J. Richardson, Esq., Alice Mitinger, Lashawn Burton-Faulk

Southwestern Pennsylvania Commission: Mayor William Peduto, state Rep. Erin Molchany, Scott Bricker, Mavis Rainey

Moriah Balingit:, 412-263-2533 or on Twitter @MoriahBee.

Join the conversation:

Commenting policy | How to report abuse
To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.
Commenting policy | How to report abuse


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?