Dateline Pittsburgh: 7/16/2010

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

• Arnetha F. Ball, the Visiting Barbara A. Sizemore Distinguished professor of urban education at Duquesne University, was presented with the Palmer O. Johnson Memorial Award by the American Educational Research Association. Ms. Ball's article, "Towards a Theory of Generative Change in Linguistically Complex Classrooms," was published in the American Educational Research Journal. Ms. Ball, a professor at Stanford University, centers her research on the writing and writing instruction of culturally and linguistically diverse students, the preparation of teachers to teach diverse student populations and linking sociocultural and linguistic theory with educational practice in her U.S. and South African work.

• Dr. Mark Gladwin, chief, pulmonary, allergy and critical care medicine, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, was elected to serve on the council of the American Society for Clinical Investigation.

• The following University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing faculty and staff were recognized with research grants and awards:

Mandy Bell received a predoctoral research training award from the National Institute of Nursing Research for her work to discover a link between a genetic pathway and pre-eclampsia. Ms. Bell's research focuses on identifying women at risk for the condition and intervening before it escalates.

Denise Charron-Prochownik, professor in the department of health promotion and development, received an American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 stimulus grant from the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development for her research on reproductive health intervention for teen girls with diabetes.

Jacqueline Dunbar-Jacob, dean and professor of nursing, epidemiology and occupational therapy, was named to the inaugural Sigma Theta Tau International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame.

Janet Grady, associate professor and director of the nursing program at the University of Pittsburgh Johnstown, received the Canadian Society of Telehealth's award for innovative use of store-and-forward technology for her project on diabetes care for adolescents.

Margaret S. Hannan, assistant professor in the department of health promotion and development, received a grant from the International Transplant Nurses Society for her research on the reproductive health communication between adolescent female liver transplant recipients and their mothers.

Mary Beth Happ, professor in the department of acute/tertiary care, received the 2010 Eastern Nursing Research Society John A. Hartford Geriatric Research Award for her significant contributions to nursing research directed toward the older adult population.

Heeyoung Lee, assistant professor in the department of health and community services, received the Sigma Theta Tau International Research Grant from Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing for her work related to physical activity in young adults with early stage schizophrenia.

• Grubb & Ellis Co. said Jason Stewart and Brad Totten, senior vice presidents in the Office Group, were honored at Grubb & Ellis' annual Circle of Excellence event as two of the company's top brokerage professionals for 2009.

• Takeo Kanade, the U.A. and Helen Whitaker university professor of computer science and robotics at Carnegie Mellon University, was chosen by the Tateisi Science and Technology Foundation of Japan as the inaugural recipient of its Tateisi Grand Award and Prize. The award recognizes Mr. Kanade, director of the quality of life technology center at Carnegie Mellon, for his pioneering contributions to digital technologies that enhance people's lives.

To propose an item, send information to Natalie Hill, Dateline Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, 34 Blvd. of the Allies, Pittsburgh 15222; fax to 412-263-0908; or e-mail to


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?