Pittsburgh Technology Council announces Tech 50 finalists

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

A celebration of blockbuster deals and attention-grabbing product launches by the region's tech companies has been narrowed down to the region's most eligible contenders of the year.

On Saturday, Pittsburgh Technology Council announced the 50 technology companies and individuals chosen as finalists for the 2014 Tech 50 Awards. Now in its 18th year, the Tech 50 Awards were created to honor local innovators and the companies that have been built around their expertise, said PTC president and CEO Audrey Russo.

"This year's Tech 50 Awards mark almost 20 years of trailblazing tech companies. We look forward to celebrating the achievements of this year's finalists and recognizing the region's continued innovation in technology," she said.

The companies and individuals will be honored with their awards Oct. 21 at the Wyndham Grand, Downtown. For more information or to register, visit tech50.pghtech.org.

This year's Tech 50 Awards finalists are:

■ Advanced Manufacturer of the Year: Aerotech, Inc.; eVProducts Inc.; GiftCards.com; Industrial Scientific Corp., Lanxess; Universal Electric Corp.

■ Ed Tech Company of the Year: Acrobatiq; BirdBrain Technologies; BloomBoard; Panther Learning Systems Inc.; Wombat Security Technologies Inc.; Zulama

■ Innovator of the Year: Aquion Energy Inc.; Astrobotic Technology Inc.; Blue Belt Technologies; Iagnosis; Intelomed; Malcovery Security; Resilient Cognitive Solutions; Rhiza Labs; WindStax Wind Power Systems

■ Interactive and Application Developer of the Year: Branding Brand; DVSport Inc.; LunaMetrics; Schell Games; Snap Retail

■ Life Sciences Company of the Year: Aesynt; Carmell Therapeutics; Cernostics; Cognition Therapeutics Inc.; Net Health; Neuro Kinetics Inc.; Rinovum Women's Health

■ Startup of the Year: Diamond Kinetics; Encentiv Energy; Forever Inc.; FutureDerm Inc.; LoyalTree; NoWait; Thread; Treatspace Inc.; WebKite

■ Solution Provider of the Year: Advantech US Inc.; AEC Group Inc.; C-leveled; First Insight Inc.; Newton Consulting; SDLC Partners; Sherpa Software; Summa Technologies

■ CEO of the Year: Kraig McEwen-Aesynt; Peter DeComo-ALung Technologies; Jason Wolfe-GiftCards.com; Ware Sykes-NoWait; Stephen Bollinger-Rinovum Women's Health

Deborah Todd: dtodd@post-gazette.com.

Join the conversation:

Commenting policy | How to report abuse
To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to socialmedia@post-gazette.com and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.
Commenting policy | How to report abuse


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?