Dateline Pittsburgh: 05/18/14

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

Association and Organizations

Elizabeth Skidmore, associate professor in the University of Pittsburgh Departments of Occupational Therapy and Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, was elected a member of the American Occupational Therapy Foundation Academy of Research, which recognizes individuals who have made exemplary and distinguished contributions to the science of occupational therapy. The Allegheny Regional Asset District elected officers and organized committees for 2014. Following are the officers and committees: chair, Dusty Elias Kirk; vice chair, Dan Griffin; and secretary/treasurer, Paul Gitnik. Allocations Committee: Jackie Dixon, Don Linzer, Daniel Rosen. Library committee: Dan Griffin, Sylvia Fields, Daniel Rosen. Audit committee: L Don Linzer, Paul Gitnik, Dusty Elias Kirk. Special project review: Dusty Elias Kirk, Dan Griffin, Paul Gitnik.


Kyle Reynolds was named vice president, private banker for Huntington Bank in the Pittsburgh Region.


P. Joseph Lehman Inc. announced that Thomas J. Dougan joined the firm to manage and grow their recently opened office in Pittsburgh.


Henderson Brothers Inc. hired Donna Simms-Key as a small business associate; Seth Young as a consultative associate; and Sherrie Montgomery as a senior account analyst.


Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh appointed Toby Greenwalt as its director of digital strategy and technology integration.


Comcast's Keystone Region named Dave Dombroski vice president of Comcast Business.


The Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium said Joseph Gaspard joined as director of science and conservation.

Awards and Honors

Rick Deschamps, vice president of engineering at Nicholson Construction, was named as the 2014 recipient of the American Society of Civil Engineering's Wallace Hayward Baker Award.

The Wallace Hayward Baker Award was established in 2000 by the Geo-Institute in recognition of the creative and innovative contributions of Wallace Hayward Baker in the field of ground modification.

Margo B. Holm, professor emerita in the Department of Occupational Therapy, University of Pittsburgh received the American Occupational Therapy Association Award of Merit.

The award is the highest AOTA honor bestowed and was conferred on Ms. Holm for her exceptional contributions to the profession.

The QI2T Health Innovators Fellowship team of Varun Deshpande, Taya Irizarry, Lisa Lederer, Chris Mensah and Melissa Stephens won the QI2T Health Innovators Fellowship case competition for their THC Connect product concept, a mobile and Web-based app that links with hospital systems, providing two-way communication between hip replacement patients and physicians.

Hefren-Tillotson Inc. announced that the following individuals have received recognition as a 2014 Five Star Wealth Manager. Hefren-Tillotson wealth manager awardees are: Craig Tillotson, David Alderson, John Mackie, Adam Davidson, Alphonse Weber, Belynda Slaugenhaupt, Bradley Dishart, Christine Farrell, David Pifer, Frederick Clerici, Gregory Farrell, Jay Simon, John Chamberland, John Reba, Kurt Carlson, Raymond Ballantine, Robert Rodgers, William Mancino, Kim Tillotson-Fleming, James Sadowski, Paul Kostyak, Andrew Patterson, Bernard Dougherty, James Beck, James G. Meredith, Jayme T. Meredith, Jason Harrison, Maryann Siebert, Melissa O'Malley, Robert Kerber, Ryan Larkin, Andrew C. Aufderheide, Daniel Richmond, Joseph Grunwald, Nathan Kauffman, Patricia John, Tyler Vallano, Craig McRoberts, Ben Montgomery, Brian Knapp, Erik Lenyk, Kenny McGee, Lyric Schnur, William Wilson, Margaret Kanaan, Chad Restori and Alfred Vallano.

Dateline Pittsburgh appears every Sunday. To propose an item, send information to Natalie Hill, Dateline Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, 34 Blvd. of the Allies, Pittsburgh 15222; or email to

Join the conversation:

Commenting policy | How to report abuse
To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.
Commenting policy | How to report abuse


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?