Pitt's Dixon wins national coach of the year award

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

Pitt coach Jamie Dixon has won the Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year Award.

It's the second national coach of the year award for Dixon in as many years. He won the Naismith Men's College Coach of the Year trophy last year.

The Jim Phelan award is named after legendary Mount St. Mary's head coach Jim Phelan, who won more than 800 games and coached in more contests than any in college basketball history. The award is presented annually to the top coach in America by CollegeInsider.com. The honor is voted upon by a group of coaches, media members and athletic administrators.

Dixon was also named the CollegeInsider.com Big East Coach of the Year.

Other finalists for the Jim Phelan Award were Steve Alford (New Mexico), Jim Boeheim (Syracuse), John Calipari (Kentucky), Steve Donohue (Cornell), Fran Dunphy (Temple), Ben Jacobson (Northern Iowa), mid-season honoree Frank Martin (Kansas State), Chris Mooney (Richmond), Matt Painter (Purdue), Bo Ryan (Wisconsin), Bill Self (Kansas), Brad Stevens (Butler), Mark Turgeon (Texas A&M) and Jay Wright (Villanova).

Ray Fittipaldo: rfittipaldo@post-gazette.com.


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?