2014 Tony Award nominees and winners

The nominees for the 68th annual Tony Awards are:

Best Play: “Act One”; “All the Way”; “Casa Valentina”; “Mothers and Sons”; “Outside Mullingar”

Best Musical: “After Midnight”; “Aladdin”; “ “Beautiful — The Carole King Musical“; “ “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder”

Best Revival, Play: “The Cripple of Inishmaan”; “The Glass Menagerie”; “A Raisin in the Sun”; “Twelfth Night”

Best Revival, Musical: “Hedwig and the Angry Inch”; “ “Les Miserables””; “Violet”

Book, Musical: “Aladdin”; “ “Beautiful — The Carole King Musical””; “Bullets Over Broadway”; “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder”

Original Score (Music and/or Lyrics): “Aladdin”; “ “The Bridges of Madison County”; “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder”; “If/Then”

Actor, Leading Role, Play: Samuel Barnett, “Twelfth Night”; Bryan Cranston, “All the Way”; Chris O’Dowd, “Of Mice and Men”; Mark Rylance, “Richard III”; Tony Shalhoub, “Act One”

Actress, Leading Role, Play: Tyne Daly, “Mothers and Sons”; LaTanya Richardson Jackson, “A Raisin in the Sun”; Cherry Jones, “The Glass Menagerie”; Audra McDonald, “Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar & Grill”; Estelle Parsons, “The Velocity of Autumn”

Actor, Leading Role, Musical: Neil Patrick Harris, “Hedwig and the Angry Inch”; Ramin Karimloo, “Les Miserables”; Andy Karl, “Rocky”; Jefferson Mays, “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder”; Bryce Pinkham, “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder”

Actress, Leading Role, Musical: Mary Bridget Davies, “A Night With Janis Joplin”; Sutton Foster, “Violet”; Idina Menzel, “If/Then”: Jessie Mueller, “Beautiful — The Carole King Musical”; Kelli O’Hara, “The Bridges of Madison County”

Actor, Featured Role, Play: Reed Birney, “Casa Valentina”; Paul Chahidi, “Twelfth Night”; Stephen Fry, “Twelfth Night”; Mark Rylance, “Twelfth Night”; Brian J. Smith, “The Glass Menagerie”

Actress, Featured Role, Play: Sarah Greene, “The Cripple of Inishmaan”; Celia Keenan-Bolger, “The Glass Menagerie”; Sophie Okonedo, “A Raisin in the Sun”; Anika Noni Rose, “A Raisin in the Sun”; Mare Winningham, “Casa Valentina”

Actor, Featured Role, Musical: Danny Burstein, “Cabaret”; Nick Cordero, “Bullets Over Broadway”; Joshua Henry, “Violet”; James Monroe Iglehart, “Aladdin”; Jarrod Spector, “Beautiful – The Carole King Musical”

Actress, Featured Role, Musical: Linda Emond, “Cabaret”; Lena Hall, “Hedwig and the Angry Inch”; Anika Larsen, “Beautiful – The Carole King Musical”; Adriane Lenox, “After Midnight”; Lauren Worsham, “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder”

Scenic Design, Play: Beowulf Boritt, “Act One”; Bob Crowley, “The Glass Menagerie”; Es Devlin, “Machinal”; Christopher Oram, “The Cripple of Inishmaan”

Scenic Design, Musical: Christopher Barreca, “Rocky”; Julian Crouch, “Hedwig and the Angry Inch”; Alexander Dodge, “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder”; Santo Loquasto, “Bullets Over Broadway”

Costume Design, Play: Jane Greenwood, “Act One”; Michael Krass, “Machinal”; Rita Ryack, “Casa Valentina”; Jenny Tiramani, “Twelfth Night”

Costume Design, Musical: Linda Cho, “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder”; William Ivey Long, “Bullets Over Broadway”; Arianne Phillips, “Hedwig and the Angry Inch”; Isabel Toledo, “After Midnight”

Lighting Design, Play: Paule Constable, “The Cripple of Inishmaan”; Jane Cox, “Machinal”; Natasha Katz, “The Glass Menagerie”; Japhy Weideman, “Of Mice and Men”

Lighting Design, Musical: Kevin Adams, “Hedwig and the Angry Inch”; Christopher Akerlind, “Rocky”; Howell Binkley, “After Midnight”; Donald Holder, “The Bridges of Madison County”

Sound Design, Play: Alex Baranowski, “The Cripple of Inishmaan”; Steve Canyon Kennedy, “Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar & Grill”; Dan Moses Schreier, “Act One”; Matt Tierney, “Machinal”

Sound Design, Musical: Peter Hylenski, “After Midnight”; Tim O’Heir, “Hedwig and the Angry Inch”; Mick Potter, “Les Miserables”; Brian Ronan, “Beautiful — The Carole King Musical”

Direction, Play: Tim Carroll, “Twelfth Night”: Michael Grandage, “The Cripple of Inishmaan”; Kenny Leon, “A Raisin in the Sun”; John Tiffany, “The Glass Menagerie”

Direction, Musical: Warren Carlyle, “After Midnight”; Michael Mayer, “Hedwig and the Angry Inch”; Leigh Silverman, “Violet”; Darko Tresnjak, “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder”

Choreography: Warren Carlyle, “After Midnight”; Steven Hoggett & Kelly Devine, “Rocky”; Casey Nicholaw, “Aladdin”; Susan Stroman, “Bullets Over Broadway”

Orchestrations: Doug Besterman, “Bullets Over Broadway”; Jason Robert Brown, “The Bridges of Madison County”; Steve Sidwell, “Beautiful — The Carole King Musical”; Jonathan Tunick, “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder”

Special Awards

Lifetime Achievement: Jane Greenwood

Regional Theatre Award: Signature Theatre, New York

Isabelle Stevenson Award: Rosie O’Donnell

Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre: Joseph P. Benincasa, Joan Marcus, Charlotte Wilcox

Source: TonyAwards.com

Join the conversation:

Commenting policy | How to report abuse
To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to socialmedia@post-gazette.com and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.
Commenting policy | How to report abuse

Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?

You have 2 remaining free articles this month

Try unlimited digital access

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here

You’ve reached the limit of free articles this month.

To continue unlimited reading

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here