Halls to induct Marino, LeBeau

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

Two Pro Football Hall of Famers will receive more recognition from two halls of fame closer to home.

Dan Marino will receive the Man of the Year Award at the annual dinner of the National Italian-American Sports Hall of Fame's Pittsburgh Chapter.

Dick LeBeau will be honored as an "Inductee of Distinction" by the Western Chapter of the Pennsylvania Sports Hall of Fame.

Marino, a Pittsburgh native who played for Pitt and the Miami Dolphins, will be honored April 9 at the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. The purpose of the dinner is to raise scholarship money to help Italian-American high school student-athletes in the Pittsburgh region meet their college expenses.

Marino and John Rosato, Duquesne University's director of football operations and recruiting coordinator, will be inducted into the Pittsburgh chapter's Hall of Fame.

For ticket information, contact Dennis DaPra at 412-325-4745 or dennis.dapra@pirates.com.

LeBeau will be honored May 7 at the Sheraton Four Points North Warrendale. Others in the Western Pa. chapter's class for 2011 are Jenine Joyce Brown, Ross Fichtner, Neil Gordon, Joe Kapnisky, Carl Pacacha, Margaret Parsons, Kelly Kolankiewicz Paterno, Dee Rizzo, Don Schwall, Sean Shupert and Thomas Tomczyk.

For reservations call Dan Cardone at 412-318-1437.


Latest NFL News
Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?