Bettis, Dawson miss Hall of Fame cut

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

Former Pittsburgh Steelers Jerome Bettis and Dermontti Dawson were not among those selected for enshrinement in the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2011, a source has confirmed to the Post-Gazette.

Among the most popular Steelers in recent history, Bettis finished his career as the NFL's fifth leading all-time rusher with 13,662 yards and 91 touchdowns. He is second on the Steelers all-time rushing list behind Franco Harris. He also caught 200 passes for 1,449 yards and 3 touchdowns.

Bettis was a six-time Pro Bowl selection, a two-time AP first team All-Pro selection, the 1996 NFL Comeback Player of the Year, and the 2002 Walter Payton Man of the Year Award for his off field volunteer and charity work.

It was Bettis's first year of eligibility for the Hall-of-Fame.

Dawson, considered one of, if not the greatest offensive lineman in the team's illustrious history, was named to seven straight Pro Bowls from 1992 to 1998 and was a six-time AP first team All-Pro.

Dawson has been eligible for the Hall since 2005. He was one of twenty-five semi-finalists that year and in 2006 and 2007. He was one of seventeen finalists in 2008 and 2009.

The Class of 2011 will be announced live on the NFL Network at 7 p.m.

First Published February 5, 2011 11:00 PM


Latest NFL News
Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?