3 Pirates -- McCutchen, Marte and Martin -- finalists for Gold Gloves

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

Three Pirates were named Gold Glove finalists by Rawlings today: center fielder Andrew McCutchen, left fielder Starling Marte and catcher Russell Martin.

Team defense played a significant role in the team's climb to 94 wins this season. Martin was a clear standout behind the plate, and the combination of McCutchen and Marte in center and left provided one of the best tandems in baseball.

The winners will be named Oct. 29 at 8 p.m. in a special hour-long edition of “Baseball Tonight” on ESPN2.

McCutchen is the most recent Pirates player to win a Gold Glove, doing so after the 2012 season. Martin last won a Gold Glove with the Los Angeles Dodgers in 2007.

Martin is a finalist at catcher along with Yadier Molina of the St. Louis Cardinals and A.J. Ellis of the Dodgers.

Molina has won every year since 2008 -- the longest active consecutive streak of Gold Glove wins.

McCutchen is a finalist in center with Carlos Gomez of the Milwaukee Brewers and Denard Span of the Washington Nationals.

Marte is a finalist in left with Carlos Gonzalez of the Colorado Rockies and Eric Young Jr. of the New York Mets.

Join the conversation:

Commenting policy | How to report abuse
To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to socialmedia@post-gazette.com and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.
Commenting policy | How to report abuse


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?