AP All-State Awards: Beaver Falls' Biega named top Class AA coach

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

Doug Biega, who guided Beaver Falls to the WPIAL and PIAA Class AA championships, was named the Pennsylvania Class AA coach of the year Wednesday by a panel of Pennsylvania sports writers, and six WPIAL players earned first-team honors in their respective classifications.

Biega's Tigers finished 28-3 and closed the 2012-13 season with an 18-game winning streak to win his second PIAA championship in 14 years at Beaver Falls.

As for the players named to the first team, 6-foot-3 seniors Shawn Anderson (New Castle) and Geno Thorpe (Shaler) were selected in Class AAAA; Montour senior point guard Devin Wilson in Class AAA; Beaver Falls guards Drew Cook, a senior, and Elijah Cottrill, a junior, in Class AA; and Lincoln Park junior forward Elijah Minnie in Class A.

Anderson averaged 20.2 points per game to lead New Castle to an undefeated regular season and consecutive WPIAL titles, and Thorpe led the WPIAL in scoring at 25.4 points per game. Wilson led Montour with 16.7 points per game en route to the WPIAL championship. Cook and Cottrill each averaged more than 15 points per game for Biega, and the 6-9 Minnie scored 21.5 points per game to lead Lincoln Park after sitting out the early part of the season due to an eligibility issue.

Chester star senior forward Rondae Jefferson added another honor after being named Class AAAA player of the year.

Jefferson, a 6-7 Arizona recruit, won top player honors for a second consecutive season after averaging a double-double (15.5 points, 11.0 rebounds) for the Clippers.

Jefferson also averaged 4.4 assists, 2.8 steals and 2.4 blocked shots per game for Larry Yarbray's high-powered team that fell one victory shy of its third consecutive PIAA championship. He played in the McDonald's All-American Game Wednesday night at Chicago's United Center and also will be part of the U.S. Junior National Select Team scheduled to compete later this month at the Nike Hoop Summit in Portland, Ore.

Gregg Downer, who led Lower Merion (30-3) to a 63-49 victory against Chester to win the PIAA Class AAAA championship, was named the Class AAAA coach of the year. Downer also led the Aces to PIAA titles in 1996 and 2006.

Philadelphia players claimed two of the remaining three individual awards as Imhotep Charter's Brandon Austin was named the Class AAA player of the year and Vaux's Rysheed Jordan landed Class A's top honor.

Donegal's Ryan Butt was named Class AAA coach of the year and Bill Shuey, whose Johnsonburg Rams reached their first PIAA title game, was named Class A coach of the year.

The Class AA player of the year was Josh Kosin of Dunmore Holy Cross.

mobilehome - hsbasketball


You have 2 remaining free articles this month

Try unlimited digital access

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here

You’ve reached the limit of free articles this month.

To continue unlimited reading

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here