Three Pirates stars finalists for Gold Gloves


Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

The strength of the Pirates defense in 2013 was reflected Friday when three players were named Gold Glove finalists by Rawlings: center fielder Andrew McCutchen, left fielder Starling Marte, and catcher Russell Martin.

The winners at each position in the National and American League will be announced at 8 p.m. Oct. 29 in a special hour long "Baseball Tonight" on ESPN2.

The McCutchen-Marte combination in center and left provided the club with one of the most athletic and best tandems in baseball. McCutchen is a finalist at center field with Carlos Gomez of the Milwaukee Brewers and the Washington Nationals' Denard Span.

McCutchen's range produced an MVP-caliber season in the depths of center field, and he also showcased an improved arm while setting a career high in defensive runs saved (7).

Marte delivered valuable speed and range in left in his first full year in the major leagues and had six outfield assists. He is a finalist along with Carlos Gonzalez of the Colorado Rockies and Eric Young Jr. of the New York Mets.

Martin, who threw out an NL-best 36 players attempting to steal this year and was lauded by the pitching staff for his defense, is a finalist at catcher along with St. Louis Cardinals veteran Yadier Molina and the Los Angeles Dodgers' A.J. Ellis.

Molina has won every year since 2008, and holds the longest active consecutive streak of Gold Glove wins.

McCutchen won a Gold Glove in 2012, and Martin previously won a Gold Glove with the Dodgers in 2007.

Jenn Menendez:, 412-263-1959 and Twitter @JennMenendez.

Join the conversation:

Commenting policy | How to report abuse
To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.
Commenting policy | How to report abuse


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?