Penn State's McGloin wins national award

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

Penn State senior quarterback Matt McGloin won the Burlsworth Award on Monday, an honor given to the nation's top player who was once a walk-on.

McGloin threw for 3,266 yards and 24 touchdowns this season. He set single-season records for those categories, along with records for completions and attempts. He became Penn State's career passing touchdowns leader with 46.

McGloin topped other finalists in Michigan safety Jordan Kovacs and San Jose State tackle David Quessenberry.

The Burlsworth Award has existed for three years and is named after former Arkansas offensive lineman. He went to school as a walk-on in 1994 and left as an All-American. He died in a car accident shortly after being drafted in the NFL.

On Monday, coach Bill O'Brien was also announced as a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, and center Matt Stankiewitch was named a finalist for the Rimington Trophy, given to the nation's best center. The Robinson award will be announced Dec. 13 and the Rimington Trophy Dec. 6.

mobilehome - breaking - psusports

Mark Dent:; Twitter @mdent05


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?