Penguins Q&A: Pascal Dupuis

If the lockout has a silver lining, it's this: More time with his kids and the chance to be 'almost a normal dad'

Share with others:


Print Email Read Later

The NHL lockout has wiped out training camp and early games in the 2012-13 season, but readers can keep up with the Penguins with an occasional question-and-answer feature. Today, we catch up with winger Pascal Dupuis, 33, who is going through the second lockout of his NHL career. He missed 2004-05 because of a season-long work stoppage.

• • • •

Q: How is this lockout different for you from the last one?

A: I was young, just starting in the league. I had one daughter. She was 1. Now, three more kids later, different family. Four kids, some in school. Last time, I went back to Minnesota for a while, and when the season got canceled, I went back home. This time, I stayed right here. I have kids in school. That part is different. After it got canceled last time, I went to Switzerland to play.

Q: What do you do with your time?

A: I'm [at Southpointe] working out in the morning. And I try to spend more time with my wife and kids. That's what I value. If I'm away from the rink, that's what I do. I try to get to their swimming lessons. I try to get to their cheerleading practices. I try to get to my son's practice. Normally, I've got to rush out of the rink or if I'm on the road, I miss quite a bit. My kids had a race for education at school [last week] and I was there with them. I never would be able to do it [otherwise].

Q: How tough is it in your 30s to lose this time when you probably don't have, say, 10 more years in the league?

A: Obviously, I don't. At the same time, we're pretty fortunate with the money we're making. I'm not one of the highest-paid guys, but I've got a good wife. She's not a big spender. She's good with that stuff. We have enough put aside that we can actually not have to worry about tomorrow.

Q: What are some of your favorite activities besides what you do with your kids?

A: I have two dogs. Just taking the dogs for a walk and stepping on leaves and looking around at the nice colors on the trees and just taking it all in right now, just enjoying being almost a normal dad.

Q: Do you change your routine, your diet, things like that?

A: I work out even harder when I don't play. I'm one of those guys -- if you ask my wife, she'll tell you I'm crazy -- who is really strict when it comes down to food and exercising. For me, it doesn't change.

Q: What's your favorite meal?

A: A nice steak on the grill, medium-rare, pink in the middle. I cook it. Probably a nice salad with it, some nice vegetables and I pretty much have to do rice or a pasta, or the vegetables won't go over too well with the kids.

penguins


Advertisement

Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?
Advertisement