Opinion


Ruth Ann Dailey: It’s no summer of love for the flustered Left

As public opinion mounts against Obama and his policies, the fear-mongering on the Left gets cranking.

about 15 hours ago


Gary Rotstein’s The Morning File: Pittsburghers, why are you so unhappy?

According to the National Bureau of Economic Research and the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System, you are miserable.

about 15 hours ago


Education funding

As a teacher, I am aware of the cuts our districts have experienced.

about 15 hours ago


Blow to education

We as a city must embrace, not turn away, organizations with a track record of success for preparing students for the 21st century.

about 15 hours ago


Help Homewood

I remember a time when there were thriving vibrant business establishments here.

about 15 hours ago


Bank and coal

The Obama administration took a giant step forward on clean energy last year. Unfortunately, this progress could be undone.

about 15 hours ago


Will Obama ever learn that charity begins at home?

For two decades, millions of illegals have crossed our borders and now another invasion by children from Latin America is underway

about 15 hours ago


You know you’ve arrived if you ‘get’ the Pittsburgh left

“The Pittsburgh Left — How to Become a Yinzer in Seven Easy Steps”:

about 15 hours ago


Paul Ryan’s new clothes

Paul Ryan is counting on this: Because he says he wants to preserve a safety net, speaks with concern about poor people and put out a 73

about 15 hours ago


Getting girls into school is the global civil rights issue of our time

We seek zero child labor, zero child marriage, zero discrimination against girls and zero exclusion from education.

about 15 hours ago


Local immigration policies proliferate

The kids are coming over the border but Congress still won’t be taking up immigration reform this year.

about 15 hours ago


Pedal to the metal: Safety concerns not left in the dust as speed limit rises

On two stretches of Pennsylvania interstates the speed limit will soon rise to 70 mph from the existing 65 mph as a test.

about 15 hours ago


Judges needed: Black lung cases are overwhelming the system

There are few jobs in America that are as hazardous to one’s health as working in the coal mines.

about 15 hours ago


Turn workers into capitalists; it's the only way to really tackle inequality

Raising taxes on the rich and other typical proposals aren't going to work, argues business professor.

1 day ago


DEP must do better: The public is left with too many questions on drilling

In the past seven years, oil and gas operations have damaged Pennsylvania water supplies 209 times.

about 15 hours ago


Drilling must be done right with strong regulations

Our state is at the heart of a new and expanding natural gas industry.

1 day ago


The Creator has entrusted Earth to us, so we must find climate solutions

The Rev. Mitchell Hescox was “spot-on” in his July 13 Forum piece “Protecting God’s Creation.”

1 day ago


Marcellus project threatens a farm and our values

The organic farm that provides my family with fruit and vegetables 10 months out of the year is at risk of grave damage.

1 day ago


Gene Collier: Time to shift strategies vs. the shift

The advent of the defensive shift in baseball, and now how often it's being used, is suppressing offense and in turn hurting the game.

1 day ago


Brian O'Neill: Bucs get a boost in fans, who now look to payroll

PNC Park's attendance on pace to match metro area's population, but how will Pirates' spending compare?

1 day ago


Enough Said: Shrinking water supplies

Facts that speak for themselves.

1 day ago


Confessions of a phone monkey: Today's politicians spend most of their time dialing for dollars

They told me, here’s the the phone, now get busy, recalls one-time electoral candidate DAVID BOLING

1 day ago


Teach the three Rs … plus P for psychology

Children need to know how their minds and feelings operate, explains Pittsburgh psychiatrist Marnin E. Fischbach.

1 day ago


Pennsylvania must also address methane emissions

Methane, as a greenhouse gas, is more than 80 times as potent as carbon dioxide over a 20-year time frame.

1 day ago


PUC’s deaf ear: The agency fails to monitor existing taxi operators

The introduction of Lyft and Uber to Pittsburgh has put a spotlight on the Public Utility Commission — and the light is not flattering.

1 day ago


Our nation and churches should show their Christianity

I’m responding to the editorial board’s support of the Holy Family Institute’s decision to welcome some of the immigrant children.

1 day ago


Get finance reform right: The U.S. and Europe need to get on the same page

Last week marked the fourth anniversary of Dodd-Frank financial reform, the most sweeping since the Great Depression. To avoid another 2008-

1 day ago


Asides: Parks leadership, luxury hotel suites and 'An American in Paris'

County parks foundation names executive director, Kimpton Hotel Monaco has a suite contest, and CLO collaborates with Theatre du Chatelet.

1 day ago




Rick Perry’s border showdown: The Texas governor turns himself into an action figure for the cameras

He deploys the Texas Natural Guard to ... do what exactly?

1 day ago


Unhealthy sign: Federal courts differ on ACA insurance premiums

Two federal appeals courts handed down sharply differing opinions last week on Affordable Care Act subsidies.

1 day ago


Jack Kelly: More rot at today’s VA

Top officials put their careers above the needs of veterans.

1 day ago


Yesterday’s future: Let's go back a half-century to the can-do dreamscape of the New York World’s Fair

Vast forces. Man’s work. Philosophy. Life. Knowledge. Power. Nothing was unreachable back then.

1 day ago


 Pipes

Is the Pennsylvania health department fracking-phobic?

Its actions don’t instill confidence that it is protecting us, write nurses RUTH McDERMOTT-LEVY and NINA M. KAKTINS.

1 day ago


 Smithfield Street Church, formerly the German Evangelical Protestant Church

The Next Page: How the outbreak of World War I affected Pittsburgh‘‍s Germans and their Downtown church

German Evangelical Protestant Church members tried to balance emotional connection to their homeland with loyalty to their new country.

1 day ago


David M. Shribman: The secret room in Salem is a treasure of maritime history

Not even the locals, and I was one of them, know that it's there.

1 day ago


The Affordable Care Act helps to alleviate insurance worries

For the uninsured, the Affordable Care Act offers new opportunities to get covered.

2 days ago


The Affordable Care Act has caused frustration

Thanks to the crazy “implementation” of the ACA, I just put yet another medical expense on my charge card.

2 days ago


It's important to do the right exercise as you age

Regarding “Still Running After All These Years” (July 19 Saturday Diary): Running puts a lot of strain on knees.

2 days ago


 American flag on California map.

Paul Krugman / Left Coast rising: California proves conservatives wrong

The states, Justice Louis Brandeis famously pointed out, are the laboratories of democracy. And it’s still true.

2 days ago


First Person / The fabric of my life: I’m leaving my memories in a quilt, not in the Cloud

I’m old school, belonging to a generation that still likes to hold things in our hands.

2 days ago


Charles Krauthammer / Inert Obama seems to think being on the right side of history is enough

From the immigration crisis on the Mexican border to the Islamic State rising in Mesopotamia, Barack Obama seems totally detached.

2 days ago


Saturday Poem / Courtship

The curtain hides one window, / the other bare. / Shade covers one eye ...

2 days ago


 Photographic documentation that Lorri Drumm of Springboro, Pennsylvania, befriended a squirrel this summer.

Saturday Diary / My summer fling with a moocher

I was excited about the encounter, but also not completely comfortable that I had cozied up to an animal I never really cared for.

2 days ago


DEP is highly regarded in permitting of mines

The Pa. Department of Environmental Protection’s mine permitting process is extensive and regularly monitored.

2 days ago


Time for a police chief: The stage is set and the city needs strong leadership

Mayor Bill Peduto says he will have a qualified chief in place sometime after Labor Day.

2 days ago


Confronting Russia: Ukraine atrocity needs stout response short of war

The downing of MH17 shows that Russian aggression harms more than just Ukraine. Its actions should come at a cost.

2 days ago


Congress must not put off funding solutions for infrastructure

Deferring a decision on America’s infrastructure deficit will only create greater economic uncertainty.

3 days ago


Democrats create problems by thinking government solves problems

As we can see, the bigger the government gets, the more problems we have.

3 days ago


Corbett has signed a bad budget for Pennsylvania

Gov. Tom Corbett should have created a budget designed to generate revenue.

3 days ago



Advertisement



You have 2 remaining free articles this month

Try unlimited digital access

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here

You’ve reached the limit of free articles this month.

To continue unlimited reading

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here