Opinion


E.J. Dionne Jr. / Obama has called the GOP's bluff on immigration

The president has forced Republicans’ contradictions into the sunlight, and they don’t like it.

about 3 hours ago


Up to code: Peduto’s building inspection plan rates approval

Navigating the thicket of city building and zoning codes, permits and licenses should be easier than it is today.

about 3 hours ago


Pregnancy bias: The UPS case shows the need for work flexibility

Feeling the pressure of public disapproval, UPS announced that light duties will be made available to pregnant employees.

about 3 hours ago


Pity the pit bull: More towns realize they’ve given the dog a bad rap

The entire breed developed an unwarranted reputation for unprovoked ferocity.

about 3 hours ago


Immigrants enrich our nation and our lives

I feel fortunate to have lived my life in a marble cake-like mix of fellow Americans.

about 3 hours ago


This is what the president's immigration action is really about

This is part of a wider political struggle to rid the “administrative state” from the burdens of constitutional constraint.

about 3 hours ago


Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield customers are affected, too

Like many others, I am losing access to UPMC facilities and physicians on Jan. 1.

about 3 hours ago


We need better enforcement of elder abuse laws

There are laws in place that are supposed to punish or penalize caretakers who neglect or abuse the elderly in all settings.

about 3 hours ago


 Husband-to-be Charles Manson

Gary Rotstein’s Morning File: Manson wedding might challenge any planner

Planning a Manson wedding has its own special considerations.

about 3 hours ago


George F. Will / Recalling Nelson Rockefeller

The progressive Republican’s story is instructive for today.

about 3 hours ago


Petula Dvorak / A tribute to Vaclav Havel provides moral clarity

As we gear up for another political fight over immigration, it might be wise for our nation’s leaders to take a stroll to Statuary Hall.

about 3 hours ago


Pa. should have a lottery fund specifically to fight cancer

Pennsylvania could become a trailblazer by adding an annual lottery in which all proceeds fund cancer research.

about 3 hours ago


Ruth Ann Dailey: Ferguson, immigration and disrespect for rule of law

The issues and attitudes that the immigration and racial conflicts have in common certainly make for odd timing.

about 3 hours ago


Will cutting carbon kill coal? Only if the industry fails to adapt

New cries of a “war on coal” have emerged in the wake of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s proposed rules.

1 day ago


Pass a law: It’s the best response to Obama on immigration

Most Americans want this issue to be addressed.

1 day ago


New learning gap: The performance between city schools is troubling

Thanks to the independent work of A+ Schools, the Pittsburgh district is better able to identify its challenges and develop action plans.

1 day ago


Asides: Eyes on the eagles, a break for commuters, Light Up festivities

Eagle security cameras will be installed, Route 28 construction detours come to an end, and Light Up Night ushers in the holidays.

1 day ago


Sen. Toomey needs to work for citizens, not banks

It was shocking to read that Sen. Pat Toomey is looking forward to a Republican agenda that includes rolling back bank regulations.

1 day ago


Let's dispel another myth about the Affordable Care Act

The medical devices tax apparently is not costing Americans jobs.

1 day ago


President Obama is disrespecting the Constitution

Editorial cartoonist Rob Rogers is like many other liberals who deflect President Obama’s acts of lawlessness to criticism of the GOP.

1 day ago


Immigration whiners should be glad they're not in Europe

Many of us are getting tired of hearing people’s complaints about immigration.

1 day ago


Gov.-elect Wolf should exercise caution on gas drilling

We can again harbor hope that our environment will have some protection after the wanton disregard of it under our present governorship.

1 day ago


The Next Page: How real-world troubles of NFL stars intrude on fantasy football leagues

Now “general managers” of fantasy teams make ethical decisions about fielding troubled players.

1 day ago


Brian O'Neill: Patience is helpful virtue among Amtrak’s riders

Incredibly, despite chronic delays, ridership on the extraordinarily limited Capitol Limited hit a record high.

1 day ago


Enough Said: Ebola outbreak 2014

Facts that speak for themselves.

1 day ago


How to defeat the Islamic State: A half-hearted U.S. effort will only strengthen the terrorists

President Barack Obama’s strategy in Syria and Iraq is not working.

1 day ago


 Actress Shoshana Roberts, 24, who was sexually harassed on the streets of New York in a widely circulated video, is a Pittsburgh CAPA graduate.

The shame of the 'mashers': In the early 1900s, sexually harassing women in the streets was a crime

Law enforcement officials used disorderly-conduct and loitering laws to arrest and fine sexual harassers. And today?

1 day ago


Cutting edge: Snow vs. global warming

New ideas / Sharp opinions.

1 day ago


 Former vector illustration of a laid table with an empty plate and checkered tablecloth place_setting1123.jpg

Our Daily Bread provides more than food for its customers

It is with a sad heart that we write regarding the planned changes at Our Daily Bread.

1 day ago


Tough times for penguins and politicians

Scientists say that fur seals in the Antarctic are having sex with the penguins. This may have been going on for some time.

1 day ago


Jack Kelly: Gruber vs. Obamacare

Only 36 percent of Americans expressed approval of Democrats in a Gallup poll Nov. 12.

1 day ago


David Shribman: Who do we thank for Thanksgiving?

In a nation with fewer and fewer shared experiences, one remains resilient, rich and redolent of memory.

1 day ago


Paul Krugman / Today’s immigrants are just like my grandparents

And the least we can do is give already-Americans an opportunity to succeed.

2 days ago


Warm front: Young homeless adults need special attention

A recent report suggests that approximately 240 young people are homeless in Allegheny County.

2 days ago


Common ground: Congress can find some on prison sentence reform

Congress should pass the Smarter Sentencing Act and the Recidivism Reduction and Public Safety Act.

2 days ago


Nonviolent efforts are the only way to end hatred

“Conflict” is not a goal, and highlighting conflicts is not an end in itself.

2 days ago


Synagogue attack puts support for Palestinians in a different light

Will Conflict Kitchen now be adding “Blood of Innocents” to its menu?

2 days ago


We should not be promoting IUD use by teens

The American Academy of Pediatrics is either ignorant of data related to breast cancer or not being transparent.

2 days ago


This ‘art’ at the Carnegie should have come with a warning

I was appalled at a display considered “artwork” and felt responsible for exposing an innocent 10-year-old to vulgar language.

2 days ago


The 21st Century Cures Initiative gives our family hope

An event held by Rep. Tim Murphy focused on barriers to medical innovation and potential solutions.

2 days ago


This Modern World by Tom Tomorrow

“I don’t know why these feminists claim there’s so much ’sexual harassment’ everywhere!”

1 day ago


First Person / Orphaned at 67

When I imagine an orphan, I do not see a 67-year-old woman with wrinkling skin and graying hair. I wouldn’t have thought I’d feel so lost.

2 days ago


 Let there be ... the Oglebay Festival of Lights.

Saturday Diary / Oglebay’s festival can light up your night

It’s a sentimental journey to West Virginia for the author, but a truly wonderful holiday experience for anyone.

2 days ago


Saturday Poem / estate

sunday is a wedding dress / in an attic window, hung / from the molding on wire hanger ...

2 days ago


Charles Krauthammer / The climate pact swindle gives China a 16-year pass

If this sounds like the most one-sided deal since Manhattan sold for $24 in 1626, you heard right.

2 days ago


Nicholas D. Kristof / Do politicians love kids?

A poll over the summer found that 71 percent of voters supported a major federal investment in early education.

3 days ago


 Sen. Mary Landrieu, D-La., chair of the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee and the Keystone XL oil pipeline bill sponsor, exits a news conference on Capitol Hill in Washington on Tuesday.

The argument peaks when the case for Keystone XL wanes

The Keystone XL pipeline is one of the nation’s most vexing problems because whatever happens is not likely to be good.

3 days ago


 The minimal passenger train service available from Pittsburgh is being hamstrung by interference from the freight lines that own the tracks.

Passenger delay: Are freight trains the problem for Amtrak?

In most locales, passenger and freight trains must share the tracks, but passenger lines should not get second-class treatment.

3 days ago


Pivotal Jordan: Refugees pose new strains to Israel’s neighbor

The Israelis have had decent relations with Jordan, constrained as they are by the presence of many Palestinians in Jordan.

3 days ago


Pennsylvania schools must make better use of test results

I challenge our schools to truly examine these standardized test results, or why bother with them?

3 days ago



Advertisement



You have 2 remaining free articles this month

Try unlimited digital access

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here

You’ve reached the limit of free articles this month.

To continue unlimited reading

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here