Opinion


George F. Will / Cashing in at the polls in LA

Los Angeles should learn that more voting doesn’t mean better voting.

about 7 hours ago


Wrong lesson: Teachers are not for reading, writing and shooting

Pennsylvania lawmakers are considering a bill to allow teachers to carry firearms on school property.

about 7 hours ago


Riding Range: DEP slaps the shale driller with a record fine

Range Resources is the leader in state penalties for violations related to Marcellus Shale gas drilling.

about 7 hours ago


Miner relief: A Senate bill would speed up black lung benefits

Since 1968, about 76,000 American miners have died because of medical conditions linked to black lung disease.

about 7 hours ago


When will we learn not to follow the hawks?

Raining bombs on innocent families will not make new friends.

about 7 hours ago


We pay for services nonprofits use but will be denied access to care based on our health plan

City property owners pay high taxes to compensate for the loss of tax revenue from our many wonderful “nonprofit” institutions.

about 7 hours ago


Rothfus' vote on the Violence Against Women Act last year stung many

With the issue of domestic abuse prominent in the news, I was thinking about his outrageous “No” vote on a law that helps all women.

about 7 hours ago


The PG's editorial about child abuse sentencing said it all

Thank you to the Post-Gazette for the editorial “Lame Justice: A Couple’s Child Abuse Deserved Real Punishment.”

about 7 hours ago


My Nepali friends give excellent care to my son at Verland

Thank you for the most interesting and informative article about the Nepali refugees who now live in Pittsburgh.

about 7 hours ago


 Steelers coach Mike Tomlin kisses Ike Taylor's head as he's taken off the field with a right arm injury against the Panthers Sunday night.

Ron Cook: Steelers defense gets banged up, but shines anyway

All of a sudden, the immediate future looks bright for the Steelers, who showed up on offense and defense for a full game Sunday night.

about 6 hours ago


 Pirates take the series from the Brewers with a 1-0 win Sunday in the final home game of the regular season at PNC Park. Russell Martin comes out of the dug out after the game to give his game jersey away to a fan.

Gene Collier: No shame in staying home

It's not stretching the truth to suggest PNC Park has become a tough place to play, making it even more important for the Pirates to return.

about 7 hours ago


Ramesh Ponnuru / Not all social issues are alike

The politics of pot and same-sex marriage have changed; abortion is different.

about 7 hours ago


Maureen Dowd / Lessons from Willie Nelson about legal pot

When Willie Nelson invites you to get high with him on his bus, you go.

about 7 hours ago


The metaphysics of our newfangled parking meters

The new pay-by-license-plate kiosks are bringing in more bucks for the city. The question is whether this gain makes up for what we lost...

about 7 hours ago


 Businessman biking in the city

Biking as transit won’t take off until employers are invested, too

Many people won’t bike to work until employers create locker rooms where bikers can shower and dress for the workday.

about 7 hours ago


End 'Pittsburgh's Shame'

Racism has plagued Black Pittsburgh, but so too have divided leadership and missed opportunities.

1 day ago


David M. Shribman / We’re in a war, but not at war

The fight against the Islamic State is one in which most Americans can keep their distance.

1 day ago


A right denied: The court should order state emails to be retained

Transparency in government is the political theme of the age, but apparently the Corbett administration did not get the memo.

1 day ago


Ripe for change: World leaders must take note of the climate march

Two days ahead of a U.N. climate summit, tens of thousands will gather today in New York City for a “people’s march” against climate change.

1 day ago


Asides: Heinz baby food, Pittsburgh computer use and the Pirates' winning ways

Heinz is bringing baby food production to the North Side; computers are less common in Pittsburgh; and the Bucs have a winning season.

1 day ago


Arming Syrian rebels will be another ineffective move

Our administration sits on the sidelines, except with ineffective patches, one of which is this plan.

1 day ago


Three ‘caliphates’ and counting

The one declared in Iraq and Syria is not the only one

1 day ago


Five myths about the NFL

For instance, it’s not socialist, but it is a monopoly more than willing to exert its power.

1 day ago


 Yamma Brown's story of her turbulent life as the daughter of soul icon James Brown was published this month by Chicago Review Press.

This marriage is over

The daughter of soul singer James Brown describes the day in 2007 she snapped and left her abusive husband

1 day ago


Jack Kelly / Poking the hornet’s nest

Half measures won’t defeat the Islamic State.

1 day ago


Stop the corporate extortion

“Job creators” wring tax breaks from states at the expense of everyone else, laments Richard Florida

1 day ago


Cutting Edge: New ideas / Sharp opinions

Give the homeless homes, the U.S. found moderate rebels in Syria (!) and more ...

1 day ago


Enough Said / Wringing out the rock

Facts that speak for themselves.

1 day ago


Our national priorities are a shambles

Military and intelligence personnel who risk their lives probably make less in a year than Ben Roethlisberger makes in a week.

1 day ago


Scotland made the right decision

My family and friends in Scotland and all Scots would have been adversely affected by a “Yes” vote.

1 day ago


Biking improvements benefit everyone and attract youth to the city

Joe Wos’ Forum article could have been written a century ago whining about how the newfangled auto is disturbing horse-and-buggy operators.

1 day ago


Bicycling is about 'white privilege and entitlement'?

All this time I thought I was saving tons of money, keeping in shape at age 57 and relieving traffic congestion.

1 day ago


 “The chase” by Baron Batch

The Next Page / Former Steeler Baron Batch: 'Art found me'

After leaving the NFL, a former Steelers running back has found a new and better calling

1 day ago


 Pirates center fielder Andrew McCutchen was hit twice by pitches Saturday night against the Milwaukee Brewers.

Gene Collier: Best action to take was none

The Pirates were right not to retaliate after Andrew McCutchen was hit twice Saturday night by the Milwaukee Brewers.

1 day ago


 Terrance Hayes.

Brian O’Neill: Poet Terrance Hayes’ way with words enriches many besides him

The poet who teaches at Pitt, and studied there too, just won a $625,000 MacArthur Fellowship. “Creativity is work,” he says.

1 day ago


 Brain and tick

Housing is no substitute for mental health treatment

Patients with serious mental illness need more than housing; they need medical care to stabilize, recover and thrive.

1 day ago


First Person: Goodbye, Terrible Towel

If the NFL can’t support a 4-year-old, this writer is done with the league.

2 days ago


Decisive outcome: The Scottish vote ends well for Great Britain

The results Thursday night were a clear 55 percent to 45 percent affirmation of the Scots’ desire to remain in the United Kingdom.

2 days ago


Self-borrowing: Corbett’s spending plan shouldn’t require a loan

The General Fund would be in better shape if Mr. Corbett had gone after more revenue from shale gas drillers.

2 days ago


The U.S. is on a disastrous path to war

A terrible thing is happening while we obsess about criminals among NFL owners, employees and players.

2 days ago


It seems to be too easy for Congress to commit others to go to war

Our representatives have voted to commit taxpayer dollars and the lives of military volunteers to another endless war in the Middle East.

2 days ago


The NFL’s response to domestic abuse has been poor

The NFL treated this case, as it has many others, to be just a domestic issue.

2 days ago


Parents, please give cloth diapers a chance

Doing so might save you money while helping to save the planet.

2 days ago


 Andrew McCutchen signals to the Pirates dugout after hitting a triple Friday night against the Brewers at PNC Park.

Gene Collier: Big win leads Pirates to unfamiliar territory

Of what little we know of the playoff race, one thing was certain: Russell Martin’s blast gave the Pirates an elusive fifth consecutive win.

2 days ago


Charles Krauthammer / Show terrorists that drawing us into combat is a big mistake

Their strategy is simple: Draw in the world’s great superpower, create the ultimate foil and achieve supreme stature in radical Islam.

2 days ago


Saturday Poem / Harvest Soup

Dice and saute one medium onion; / add enough mild broth to cook ...

2 days ago


Saturday Diary / The upsides of stuttering

Things like a stutter that threaten to break us in life don’t exist for a reason, but they can serve a purpose.

2 days ago


Paul Krugman / We can cool Earth on the cheap

Action on climate change needn’t slow economic growth.

2 days ago


The great reclining seat wars

Let’s revolt against first class and the airlines, not each other.

3 days ago


 An honor guard carries the casket of Pennsylvania State Trooper Cpl. Bryon Dickson on Thursday in Scranton.

An attack on all: The trooper ambush is an affront to Pennsylvania

The incident in Blooming Grove shows that our first responders face constant danger.

3 days ago



Advertisement



You have 2 remaining free articles this month

Try unlimited digital access

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here

You’ve reached the limit of free articles this month.

To continue unlimited reading

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here