CMU professor awarded chemistry Wolf Prize

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

Carnegie Mellon professor Krzysztof Matyjaszewski has been awarded the 2011 Wolf Prize in Chemistry from Israel's Wolf Foundation.

The prize is given every year in four out of five categories, in rotation: agriculture, chemistry, mathematics, medicine and physics. Recipients of the Wolf Prize in chemistry, physics and medicine have often later received a Nobel Prize.

"The Wolf Prize is a distinguished honor received by only the most elite scientists and artists in the world," said CMU President Jared L. Cohon in an announcement this week. "Kris certainly belongs in this category. His work is nothing short of visionary."

Two other noted chemists, Stuart Alan Rice of the University of Chicago and Ching Tang of the University of Rochester, will also receive the Wolf Prize. The prize is awarded at a special ceremony at the Israeli Parliament on May 29.

Dr. Matyjaszewski invented the process of atom transfer radical polymerization, which allows scientists to create a wide range of new materials with highly specific, tailored uses.


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?