'Perks' earns best first feature nomination from Spirit Awards for indie films

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

Stephen Chbosky, writer-director of "The Perks of Being a Wallflower," was nominated in the category of best first feature when the 2013 Film Independent Spirit Award nominations were announced yesterday.

Best first feature awards are given to the director and producers. For "Perks," a Pittsburgh-set and -filmed movie by Upper St. Clair native Mr. Chbosky, producing nominees were Lianne Halfon, John Malkovich and Russell Smith.

"Silver Linings Playbook" and "Moonrise Kingdom" lead the nominees with five each for the 28th annual Film Independent Spirit Awards. Winners will be announced at an afternoon ceremony on Saturday, Feb. 23, and the ceremony will be broadcast at 10 that night on the IFC cable TV network.

List of nominees for the 2013 Film Independent Spirit Awards:

• BEST FEATURE: "Beasts of the Southern Wild"; "Bernie"; "Keep the Lights On"; "Moonrise Kingdom"; "Silver Linings Playbook."

• BEST DIRECTOR: Wes Anderson, "Moonrise Kingdom"; Julia Loktev, "The Loneliest Planet"; David O. Russell, "Silver Linings Playbook"; Ira Sachs, "Keep the Lights On"; Benh Zeitlin, "Beasts of the Southern Wild."

• BEST SCREENPLAY: Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola, "Moonrise Kingdom"; Zoe Kazan, "Ruby Sparks"; Martin McDonagh, "Seven Psychopaths"; David O. Russell, "Silver Linings Playbook"; Ira Sachs, "Keep the Lights On."

• BEST FIRST FEATURE: "Fill the Void"; "Gimme the Loot"; "Safety Not Guaranteed"; "Sound of My Voice"; "The Perks of Being a Wallflower."

• BEST FIRST SCREENPLAY: Rama Burshtein, "Fill the Void"; Derek Connolly, "Safety Not Guaranteed"; Christopher Ford, "Robot & Frank"; Rashida Jones & Will McCormack, "Celeste and Jesse Forever"; Jonathan Lisecki, "Gayby."

• • BEST FEMALE LEAD: Linda Cardellini, "Return"; Emayatzy Corinealdi, "Middle of Nowhere"; Jennifer Lawrence, "Silver Linings Playbook"; Quvenzhane Wallis, "Beasts of the Southern Wild"; Mary Elizabeth Winstead, "Smashed."

• BEST MALE LEAD: Jack Black, "Bernie"; Bradley Cooper, "Silver Linings Playbook"; John Hawkes, "The Sessions"; Thure Lindhardt, "Keep the Lights On"; Matthew McConaughey, "Killer Joe"; Wendell Pierce, "Four."

• BEST SUPPORTING FEMALE: Rosemarie DeWitt, "Your Sister's Sister"; Ann Dowd. "Compliance"; Helen Hunt, "The Sessions"; Brit Marling, "Sound of My Voice": Lorraine Toussaint, "Middle of Nowhere."

• BEST SUPPORTING MALE: Matthew McConaughey, "Magic Mike": David Oyelowo, "Middle of Nowhere"; Michael Pena, "End of Watch"; Sam Rockwell, "Seven Psychopaths"; Bruce Willis, "Moonrise Kingdom."

• BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY: "Valley of Saints"; "Here"; "Beasts of the Southern Wild"; "End of Watch"; "Moonrise Kingdom."

• BEST DOCUMENTARY: "How to Survive a Plague"; "Marina Abramovi??: The Artist is Present"; "The Central Park Five"; "The Invisible War": "The Waiting Room."

• BEST INTERNATIONAL FILM: "Amour" (France); "Once Upon A Time in Anatolia" (Turkey); "Rust And Bone" (France/Belgium); "Sister" (Switzerland); "War Witch" (Democratic Republic of Congo).

• JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD (best feature made for under $500,000): "Breakfast with Curtis"; "Middle of Nowhere"; "Mosquita y Mari"; "Starlet"; "The Color Wheel."

• PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD (emerging producers): "Nobody Walks"; "Prince Avalanche"; "Stones in the Sun."

• SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD (talented filmmaker of singular vision): David Fenster, "Pincus"; Adam Leon, "Gimme the Loot"; Rebecca Thomas, "Electrick Children."

• STELLA ARTOIS TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD (emerging director of nonfiction features: Lucien Castaing-Taylor & Verena Paravel, "Leviathan"; Peter Nicks, "The Waiting Room"; Jason Tippet & Elizabeth Mims, "Only the Young."

• ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD (given to one film's director, casting director and ensemble cast): "Starlet."

Source: www.filmindependent.org. moviesvideo

First Published November 27, 2012 8:30 PM


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?