Opinion


E.J. Dionne Jr. / A chance for dialogue after Ferguson?

Polls show that we may be less divided about race relations than we think.

about 3 hours ago


False promises: More homeless aid eligibility requires more funds

Under the proposed Homeless Children and Youth Act an estimated 900,000 young adults and families would become eligible for assistance.

about 3 hours ago


Sorry chapter: Library thieves deserve to be booked

Libraries are reporting that thousands of dollars worth of books are walking out the doors.

about 3 hours ago


Last step: The county and city complete their 911 merger

Allegheny County and the city of Pittsburgh are finally completing a long-awaited merger of their 911 emergency call centers.

about 3 hours ago


We can’t judge anyone yet in Ferguson shooting

If Officer Darren Wilson faces charges his fate should be decided by a jury and not by mob rule or a Rob Rogers cartoon.

about 3 hours ago


Rob Rogers' cartoon is a slap to all police

I was appalled by Rob Rogers’ Aug. 19 cartoon labeled “Miranda rights for blacks in America,” which depicts police officers as racist thugs.

about 3 hours ago


The Ferguson, Mo., situation will be a boon to the gun industry

The unintended consequences of the lawlessness in Missouri will be a boon to the gun industry.

about 3 hours ago


Easy access to guns is ruining our country

High-powered weaponry that belongs on a field of battle is just what everybody needs to have next to their bed in case the bad guy comes.

about 3 hours ago


The Islamic State killers are cold-blooded cowards

Fanatics are brave fighters when it comes to murdering unarmed women and children but now become cowards when faced with military might.

about 3 hours ago


In politics, truth and real concern for people would lead to many better things

If I had a magic lantern, I will rub it and ask the genie for these three wishes.

about 3 hours ago


Sophie Masloff deserves a ballpark tribute

With the recent death of former Mayor Sophie Masloff, her name should also be immortalized.

about 3 hours ago


Tony Norman: Protests bring out worst in some police

Tony Norman wonders what an ideal cop in a not so ideal world would look like.

about 3 hours ago


 LeGarrette Blount had seven carries for 32 yards Thursday night in Philadelphia.

Ron Cook: Bad day on field for Steelers; worse off it

Never mind a 31-21 loss -- the Steelers had bigger problems off the field, since Le'Veon Bell and LeGarrette Blount were caught not

about 2 hours ago


We provide support during the process of grieving

With the recent suicide of Robin Williams, we need to recognize the signs and causes of both addiction and depression.

about 3 hours ago


In Rebuttal: The Marcellus opportunity

Pennsylvania’s natural resources promise a great future.

about 3 hours ago


Gail Collins / Let’s salute the candidates whose chances are slim

Amanda Curtis, the Democratic candidate for U.S. Senate in Montana, is a super long shot with something to say.

about 3 hours ago


Maureen Dowd / Obama’s petulant aloofness has left him with few loyalists

What started as an affectation -- casting himself as the lone man on the stage -- has turned into an affliction.

1 day ago


 Former Pittsburgh Mayor Luke Ravenstahl

Unfinished business: The public deserves more from Ravenstahl probe

At a minimum, authorities should say whether this important case is closed.

1 day ago


 President Barack Obama speaks in the James Brady Press Briefing Room in the White House on Monday.

Account for Iraq: Congress can’t give President Obama a blank check

The accountability that congressional oversight of what is occurring might introduce to the new U.S. role in Iraq has been missing.

1 day ago


Thomas L. Friedman / It's laughable to suggest that arming moderates in Syria was the answer

I don’t want U.S. troops in Syria any more than anyone else, but I have no respect for the argument that just arming some pro-democracy

1 day ago


The immigration office should not move to Wilkins

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services employees have good reasons to be against this illogical move.

1 day ago


Pittsburgh can thank Sophie Masloff for great street signs

All hail to the late Mayor Masloff, whose street sign initiative made Pittsburgh a more livable, more address-locatable city.

1 day ago


After journalist's beheading, Obama must give voice to our nation's need for justice

The president should tell us that we will hunt down and bring to justice the murderers responsible for James Foley’s death.

1 day ago


Pittsburgh has a void of good radio music after WJAS' format change

I agree 100 percent-plus with the letter of Nita Ryan (“Missing the Music,” Aug 16). Please do bring back Jack Bogut and Bill Cardille.

1 day ago


We don't need any more radio hate-talk

These so-called “entertainers” who are part of  WJAS’ new format fuel the hatred in our current political climate.

1 day ago


Marriage license terminology is just one example of Allegheny County's no-can-do attitude

Officials like to brag about the county’s increased efficiency, but it seems there are still dinosaurs lurking in county offices.

1 day ago


 In February 1993, Mayor Sophie Masloff announces she will not run for re-election: "I love this city, and I loved being able to help the people who are so much a part of my life."

Brian O'Neill: Sophie shrewdly summed up city

Sophie Masloff mastered the art of being underestimated.

1 day ago


Voters must reject those who think government isn’t helpful

There’s an election coming up this November, and the Republicans are running on their boilerplate platform of small government.

1 day ago


George F. Will / Government reaches into all walks of life with ludicrous results

The Cupcake Postulate explains everything, from Missouri to Iraq, concerning Americans’ comprehensive withdrawal of confidence from

1 day ago


Opinion: UPMC’s costly divorce from Highmark

Pittsburghers need to know what will happen for them regarding charges after the split.

2 days ago


Solitary error: The state pays for the mistreatment of an inmate

While criminals should not be coddled, solitary confinement is an affront to human rights and to liberties guaranteed by the Constitution.

2 days ago


Armed to the hilt: Military hardware should get only rare police use

How did America get from the more user-friendly police forces of yesteryear to the military-style, 21st-century version?

2 days ago


Price hike ill-advised: The solution to a costlier LCB is private stores

An internal LCB proposal to jack up the surcharge on wine and spirits provides one more strong argument for ending the state monopoly.

2 days ago


A post-racial America does not exist

When I think about the Michael Brown case, I think about the fact that African-American women as mothers have to fear for their sons’ lives.

2 days ago


Some views printed about Rob Rogers' Gaza cartoon are embarrassing

As an American Jew and a Zionist, I am sickened by some tasteless responses.

2 days ago


WJAS' format switch is awful

I am so annoyed with WJAS that I will never, ever dial into it again on any of my radios.

2 days ago


With WJAS' format change, the class is gone

In a time when most stations just play rap and country or talk about sports, WJAS was unique.

2 days ago


Radio stations must operate in a way that pays the bills

If a particular radio format, be it talk or music, cannot interest people who are willing to advertise, the station must adapt.

2 days ago


Come and experience the cultural pleasures of Carnegie

Dining, history, architecture, shopping, art, theater, jazz, poetry, opera, fitness. Why not plan a few forays into Carnegie?

2 days ago


 Braves' Andrelton Simmons steals second base against Pirates' Neil Walker in the second inning at PNC Park.

Gene Collier: Even at full strength, Pirates look baffled

Justin Upton drove in five runs and B.J. a sixth while the Braves rolled to a fifth consecutive win and pushed the Pirates toward the plank.

2 days ago


Reg Henry: Not to put a damper on ice buckets, but ...

This latest social media fad on behalf of Lou Gehrig’s disease is all wet.

2 days ago


 John Heller/Post-Gazette - 1994 -  Justice Rolf Larsen in a 1994 file photo by John Heller   Original Filename: Justice Rolf Larsen.jpg

My grandfather, Rolf Larsen, did much good for everyday people

He may have been outspoken and eccentric, but at least he was honest --  a trait found few and far between among politicians.

2 days ago


'Credit invisibles' would benefit from a bill enabling positive reports

In addition to HR 2538, financial literacy education would go a long way in helping young people.

2 days ago


Dan Simpson / Nations are in a state of flux

Humpty Dumpty states may never be put back together again.

2 days ago


 Pedestrians walk past the August Wilson Center on Liberty Avenue, Downtown.

Opinion: Saving the August Wilson Center

There’s no pretense involved, just a realistic new course.

3 days ago


Playing soldier in the suburbs

Ferguson shows that the SWAT mentality has gone too far.

3 days ago


 Sophie Masloff at the Byham Theater for the Off The Record show in October 2008.

Favorite grandmother: Mayor Sophie Masloff captured the city’s heart

Pittsburgh will bid goodbye today to the city’s own beloved grandmother, Sophie Masloff.

3 days ago


Worker support: Pittsburgh deserves to have the same Act 47 options

Why are some legislators treating Pittsburgh like an outcast when it comes to Act 47?

3 days ago


Ghana not so golden: Government salaries threaten economic growth

Ghana has been in recent years one of the few stars of African economic and political performance.

3 days ago


The Pittsburgh police must be more racially diverse

Pittsburgh should be ashamed of its lack of recruitment and retention of a more diverse police force.

3 days ago



Advertisement



You have 2 remaining free articles this month

Try unlimited digital access

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here

You’ve reached the limit of free articles this month.

To continue unlimited reading

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here