Opinion


Respecting public water fountains

There’s no good reason for their fall from favor.

about 2 hours ago


Star quality: Can a hot architect do justice to the arena site?

Bjarke Ingels is a rock-star architect, globally renowned for a daring style he calls “promiscuous hybrids.”

about 2 hours ago


Democracy online: The state enters a new era in voter registration

Registering to vote in Pennsylvania just got a lot easier.

about 2 hours ago


Asides: a paintball land dispute, a large gift to CMU, a Capitol Limited improvement for bicyclists

A fight over paintball involves squatter’s rights, Carnegie Mellon gets a $35 million donation, Amtrak announces roll-on service for bikes.

about 2 hours ago


The zoo’s woes go beyond the elephant issue

The zoo is a dump full of weeds, broken fixtures and dangers to its staff — and hopefully not its patrons.

about 2 hours ago


 Cynthia S. Walters in a picture she posted on Facebook before she began cancer treatment

Facebook broke my heart

We met at IUP, fell out of touch, then grew close as she died slowly at a distance.

about 2 hours ago


Lost generation: the pharmaceutical industry is fueling an epidemic of drug use

Its corporate crimes and unethical marketing practices have devastated families and communities throughout our country.

about 2 hours ago


The U.S.-Israel rift over Iran

Israel and the United States disagree because their stakes are different.

about 2 hours ago


Each one of us will walk our painful journeys in our own way

I have no hatred or longing for revenge, but I do have a longing for justice.

about 2 hours ago


Rep. Rothfus and others should provide the details of 'a better deal' with Iran

Let’s not let politicians off the hook with great-sounding pronouncements — and not even a hint of how to make them happen.

about 2 hours ago


Memories of Bob Prince and Pie Traynor from our KQV days

When Bob and Pie went to spring training they both hired me to fill in for them on their shows.

about 2 hours ago


 The 2014-2015 volunteers, clockwise from top left, were Ryan Holmes, Rochelle Lentz, Sam Pashel, Dan Green, Tracy Medrano Gonzalez and Mikey Villavicencio. Not pictured is Luke Merry.

The Next Page: Franciscan sisters are changing hearts, changing minds

Franciscan sisters’ service program open eyes of volunteers and of those helped, says Mark Kenny

about 2 hours ago


 Pittsburgh Steelers Martavis Bryant scores touchdown against the Bills in the second quarter at Ralph Wilson Stadium Orchard Park New York.

Ron Cook: Steelers need to get by until return of Martavis Bryant, other key players

Martavis Bryant showed what the Steelers will miss for the first four games when he caught three passes for 138 yards and a TD Saturday.

about 2 hours ago


 Mayor Bill Peduto works to get a state oversight committee to release its grip on the city’s casino cut —  one of those only-in-Pittsburgh stories that we ought to be watching.

Brian O'Neill: State oversight of city has grown wearisome

City is tired of ICA’s budget oversight, perhaps for good reason.

about 2 hours ago


 Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump speaks at a news conference near the U.S.-Mexico border outside of Laredo, Texas July 23.

How would Donald Trump remove people? It’s chilling to consider

Does he think the undocumented would just calmly line up to be sent “home”?

about 2 hours ago


Jack Kelly: Clinton’s lifeline

The vice president’s entry into the race would complicate life for Hillary Clinton.

about 2 hours ago


David M. Shribman: The perils of New Hampshire

The Granite State’s primary has a history of upending frontrunners

about 2 hours ago


First Person / On the sandlot: I learned life lessons on a neighborhood field

It is said that the Battle of Waterloo was won on the playing fields of Eton.

1 day ago


Shoot ’em up USA: Americans must rethink their attitudes on guns

If you get the feeling that a multiple shooting makes headlines every day, you’re right.

1 day ago


Hackers’ helper: A young malware creator deserves stiff punishment

Morgan C. Culbertson pleaded guilty in federal court to designing and trying to sell Android phone hijacking malware on Darkode.

1 day ago


Unease over homelessness should spur us to help

I am a Lutheran pastor. I felt very uneasy about the letter “Fans Feeling Uneasy” (Aug. 24).

1 day ago


Put faith into action to assist the homeless

Perhaps some struggled to get to the ballpark on “Faith Night” in hopes that faith groups would feel responsive to their needs.

1 day ago


Pittsburgh's parking enforcement is mean-spirited

I was certainly surprised to get a notice from Pittsburgh Parking Court saying I owed fees on top of fees for a parking ticket I received.

1 day ago


Saturday Diary: Tooting his own horn

A high school musician debuts on the big stage, with lots of accompaniment.

1 day ago


Paul Krugman: Crash-test dummies

The GOP candidates aren’t prepared for an economic crisis.

1 day ago


Charles Krauthammer: What six years of ‘reset’ have wrought

Helped immensely by Mr. Obama’s epic misjudgment of Russian intentions, the balance of power has shifted — and America’s allies feel it.

1 day ago


Saturday Poem: The Toolbox

I search for the red-handled /  Phillips-head among the clutter / of Dad’s Air Force toolbox ...

1 day ago


The next GOP debate

Moderators should pose yes-or-no questions on the economy.

2 days ago


Hands off: A water diversion plan threatens the Great Lakes

A proposal by Waukesha, Wisc., to divert water from Lake Michigan could affect all other Great Lakes states, including Pennsylvania.

2 days ago


Parking smart: A phone app can soon buy drivers extra time

People who park in the city will soon have the option of using a downloadable app on their smartphones to pay for parking.

2 days ago


Falling prices: Take advantage of the cheaper oil and gas

The fall of oil and natural gas prices is a boon to U.S. consumers and the economy.

2 days ago


Many cannot get past Vick’s crimes against dogs

The Steelers signing Michael Vick is not only controversial.

2 days ago


Michael Vick should not be denied opportunities that come with rehabilitation

The response to any outrage should be to work for a better justice system.

2 days ago


The Steelers could learn from the Pirates about how to treat fans

The Steelers and the NFL should spend some time studying how the Pirates do things.

2 days ago


Government must work for the average person, too

If our politicians don’t stand up for ordinary people, good jobs and safe, healthy neighborhoods, how will our state grow stronger?

2 days ago


Donald Trump is a problem of the GOP's making

GOP had it coming.

2 days ago


 Packers cornerback LaDarius Gunter breaks up a pass intended for Steelers WR Martavis Bryant in the first half Sunday at Heinz Field.

Ron Cook: Timing of wide receiver's 4-game suspension could not be worse for Steelers

Selfish acts by Le’Veon Bell and Martavis Bryant leave Steelers offense in the lurch for start of NFL regular season.

2 days ago


Tony Norman: Latest killings should be tipping point

I can’t be the only one who feels real life has suddenly begun to resemble Paddy Chayefsky’s screenplay for “Network” a little too much.

2 days ago


Five leading indicators for the 2016 race

Will Republicans drop out and GOP leaders get behind one person? How are the economy and president doing? Will Hillary backers defect?

2 days ago


An immigrant in France

There are no guarantees for anyone, including Americans.

2 days ago


War is the most probable alternative to the Iran deal

U.S. Rep. Keith Rothfus traveled to Israel to seek Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu’s counsel on the Iran nuclear deal.

2 days ago


George F. Will: Trump wreaks havoc

Every sulfurous belch from the molten interior of the volcanic Trump phenomenon injures the chances of a Republican presidency.

3 days ago


Compromise, already: Leaders in both parties are hurting Pennsylvania

With the Legislature’s latest attempt to enact a budget now fizzled, Pa.’s leaders should stop playing politics and pass a spending plan.

3 days ago


Vick’s redemption: The QB has paid his debt, so let the Steelers benefit

Like it or not, Michael Vick is a Steeler. Pittsburgh should welcome the quarterback’s talents and accept his assertion that he has changed.

3 days ago


Migratory burden: EU countries must decide how to share the load

The millions of migrants pouring into Europe are smothering the host countries’ absorptive capacities.

3 days ago


Death sentences rarely help victims’ families heal

My heart goes out to Paul Sciullo’s mother (“Lingering Execution Moratorium Pains Victim’s Mother,” Aug. 24). I have walked in her shoes.

3 days ago


Pa.'s death penalty moratorium is the right move

As a people we cannot allow understandable emotions in response to horrific crimes to define how we govern.

3 days ago


For better baseball in the postseason, change the playoff system

With the “one and done” game, the team with the second-best record — the Pirates — could be out of the playoffs before they get started.

3 days ago


 Will Mount Washington, seen in the background, someday have a hotel?

Brian O'Neill: Hope still rises for hotel atop Mount Washington

Another failed attempt to develop the key spot where The Edge restaurant once stood. But logic is with it, long-term.

3 days ago


 Zebras at the Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium.

The Zoological Association of America is committed to animal welfare and public safety

ZAA is proud to welcome Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium as an accredited member.

3 days ago



Advertisement