Opinion


Will cutting carbon kill coal? Only if the industry fails to adapt

New cries of a “war on coal” have emerged in the wake of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s proposed rules.

about 19 hours ago


Pass a law: It’s the best response to Obama on immigration

Most Americans want this issue to be addressed.

about 19 hours ago


New learning gap: The performance between city schools is troubling

Thanks to the independent work of A+ Schools, the Pittsburgh district is better able to identify its challenges and develop action plans.

about 19 hours ago


Asides: Eyes on the eagles, a break for commuters, Light Up festivities

Eagle security cameras will be installed, Route 28 construction detours come to an end, and Light Up Night ushers in the holidays.

about 19 hours ago


Sen. Toomey needs to work for citizens, not banks

It was shocking to read that Sen. Pat Toomey is looking forward to a Republican agenda that includes rolling back bank regulations.

about 19 hours ago


Let's dispel another myth about the Affordable Care Act

The medical devices tax apparently is not costing Americans jobs.

about 19 hours ago


President Obama is disrespecting the Constitution

Editorial cartoonist Rob Rogers is like many other liberals who deflect President Obama’s acts of lawlessness to criticism of the GOP.

about 19 hours ago


Immigration whiners should be glad they're not in Europe

Many of us are getting tired of hearing people’s complaints about immigration.

about 19 hours ago


Gov.-elect Wolf should exercise caution on gas drilling

We can again harbor hope that our environment will have some protection after the wanton disregard of it under our present governorship.

about 19 hours ago


The Next Page: How real-world troubles of NFL stars intrude on fantasy football leagues

Now “general managers” of fantasy teams make ethical decisions about fielding troubled players.

about 19 hours ago


Brian O'Neill: Patience is helpful virtue among Amtrak’s riders

Incredibly, despite chronic delays, ridership on the extraordinarily limited Capitol Limited hit a record high.

about 19 hours ago


Enough Said: Ebola outbreak 2014

Facts that speak for themselves.

about 19 hours ago


How to defeat the Islamic State: A half-hearted U.S. effort will only strengthen the terrorists

President Barack Obama’s strategy in Syria and Iraq is not working.

about 19 hours ago


 Actress Shoshana Roberts, 24, who was sexually harassed on the streets of New York in a widely circulated video, is a Pittsburgh CAPA graduate.

The shame of the 'mashers': In the early 1900s, sexually harassing women in the streets was a crime

Law enforcement officials used disorderly-conduct and loitering laws to arrest and fine sexual harassers. And today?

about 18 hours ago


Cutting edge: Snow vs. global warming

New ideas / Sharp opinions.

about 19 hours ago


 Former vector illustration of a laid table with an empty plate and checkered tablecloth place_setting1123.jpg

Our Daily Bread provides more than food for its customers

It is with a sad heart that we write regarding the planned changes at Our Daily Bread.

about 19 hours ago


Tough times for penguins and politicians

Scientists say that fur seals in the Antarctic are having sex with the penguins. This may have been going on for some time.

about 19 hours ago


Jack Kelly: Gruber vs. Obamacare

Only 36 percent of Americans expressed approval of Democrats in a Gallup poll Nov. 12.

about 19 hours ago


David Shribman: Who do we thank for Thanksgiving?

In a nation with fewer and fewer shared experiences, one remains resilient, rich and redolent of memory.

about 19 hours ago


Paul Krugman / Today’s immigrants are just like my grandparents

And the least we can do is give already-Americans an opportunity to succeed.

1 day ago


Warm front: Young homeless adults need special attention

A recent report suggests that approximately 240 young people are homeless in Allegheny County.

1 day ago


Common ground: Congress can find some on prison sentence reform

Congress should pass the Smarter Sentencing Act and the Recidivism Reduction and Public Safety Act.

1 day ago


Nonviolent efforts are the only way to end hatred

“Conflict” is not a goal, and highlighting conflicts is not an end in itself.

1 day ago


Synagogue attack puts support for Palestinians in a different light

Will Conflict Kitchen now be adding “Blood of Innocents” to its menu?

1 day ago


We should not be promoting IUD use by teens

The American Academy of Pediatrics is either ignorant of data related to breast cancer or not being transparent.

1 day ago


This ‘art’ at the Carnegie should have come with a warning

I was appalled at a display considered “artwork” and felt responsible for exposing an innocent 10-year-old to vulgar language.

1 day ago


The 21st Century Cures Initiative gives our family hope

An event held by Rep. Tim Murphy focused on barriers to medical innovation and potential solutions.

1 day ago


This Modern World by Tom Tomorrow

“I don’t know why these feminists claim there’s so much ’sexual harassment’ everywhere!”

1 day ago


First Person / Orphaned at 67

When I imagine an orphan, I do not see a 67-year-old woman with wrinkling skin and graying hair. I wouldn’t have thought I’d feel so lost.

1 day ago


 Let there be ... the Oglebay Festival of Lights.

Saturday Diary / Oglebay’s festival can light up your night

It’s a sentimental journey to West Virginia for the author, but a truly wonderful holiday experience for anyone.

1 day ago


Saturday Poem / estate

sunday is a wedding dress / in an attic window, hung / from the molding on wire hanger ...

1 day ago


Charles Krauthammer / The climate pact swindle gives China a 16-year pass

If this sounds like the most one-sided deal since Manhattan sold for $24 in 1626, you heard right.

1 day ago


Nicholas D. Kristof / Do politicians love kids?

A poll over the summer found that 71 percent of voters supported a major federal investment in early education.

2 days ago


 Sen. Mary Landrieu, D-La., chair of the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee and the Keystone XL oil pipeline bill sponsor, exits a news conference on Capitol Hill in Washington on Tuesday.

The argument peaks when the case for Keystone XL wanes

The Keystone XL pipeline is one of the nation’s most vexing problems because whatever happens is not likely to be good.

2 days ago


 The minimal passenger train service available from Pittsburgh is being hamstrung by interference from the freight lines that own the tracks.

Passenger delay: Are freight trains the problem for Amtrak?

In most locales, passenger and freight trains must share the tracks, but passenger lines should not get second-class treatment.

2 days ago


Pivotal Jordan: Refugees pose new strains to Israel’s neighbor

The Israelis have had decent relations with Jordan, constrained as they are by the presence of many Palestinians in Jordan.

2 days ago


Pennsylvania schools must make better use of test results

I challenge our schools to truly examine these standardized test results, or why bother with them?

2 days ago


Prudent changes to Pennsylvania's school performance assessment are needed

The Pennsylvania school performance score was designed as an indicator of school quality but has had unintended consequences.

2 days ago


With a GOP-controlled Legislature, school districts should brace for hard times

I wish I could share Larry Buckwalter’s optimism that Tom Wolf’s election as governor will enhance funding for public education.

2 days ago


I look forward to Fridays with WQED's '4802' show

As a news junkie, I recommend the show, which appears Friday nights.

2 days ago


 Pitt head coach Jamie Dixon calls a play out to his team in a game last season at Petersen Events Center.

Gene Collier: Jamie Dixon puts Pitt in right places

Panthers basketball coach Jamie Dixon has his players and program where they want to be in more ways than one.

2 days ago


 Ursula K. Le Guin at the National Book Awards on Wednesday

Tony Norman: Author Ursula Le Guin puts publishing’s ills into words

Ms. Le Guin says all the right things about what what’s wrong with publishing landscape.

2 days ago


Robert F. Powelson and Pamela A. Witmer / Conditions for Uber

Uber will receive an experimental license once it shows it has complied with reasonable driver, vehicle and insurance safeguards.

2 days ago


E.J. Dionne Jr. / Jeb Bush, savior?

The most important struggle in American politics over the next two years will be inside the Republican Party.

2 days ago


 PSU's president promises a review of the Freeh report.

Media shouldn’t have accepted the Freeh report findings about Penn State without scrutiny

Penn State President Eric Barron has rightly announced that he will initiate a thorough review of the Freeh report and its conclusions.

2 days ago


 Former Massey Energy CEO Don Blankenship

Indicted, finally: The law has caught up with Don Blankenship

Any advanced society needs its people and corporations to obey the law and honor legal commitments.

3 days ago


 Gov.-elect Tom Wolf takes the stage at his primary election party in Santander Stadium in York, Pa.

Keep Healthy PA: Then convert to a Medicaid expansion under Wolf

Under Gov. Tom Corbett’s Healthy PA program, the pool of residents eligible for insurance will expand on Dec. 1, when residents can apply.

3 days ago


 Kate Bazis walks her daughter Gaia Parrish's dog, Corazon, across Brereton Street in Polish Hill in April. The Peduto administration has revived an effort to require landlords to pay a fee and submit contact information for themselves or their property managers.

Charging landlords: Is the purpose better rentals or just more revenue?

Pittsburgh passed an ordinance requiring landlords to pay a fee and submit contact information for themselves or their property managers.

3 days ago


Human threat: Greed and oil take a toll on gorillas and elephants

A lethal combination of corrupt African officials, an oil company and Chinese consumers with little conscience are threatening many of

3 days ago


Health care relationships shouldn’t end like this

Who do I break up with … Highmark or UPMC? Why should I have to “break up” with any of these doctors?

3 days ago



Advertisement



You have 2 remaining free articles this month

Try unlimited digital access

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here

You’ve reached the limit of free articles this month.

To continue unlimited reading

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here