Local governments reboot, reorganize for 2014

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

Borough councils and boards of township commissioners and supervisors elected officers as new terms began this week for members elected in November. Here's a roundup of some North municipal reorganizations:


Bellevue District Justice Tara Smith administered the oath of office to newly elected mayor Paul Cusick. Incumbents Kathleen Coder and Lynn Tennant-Heffley were then sworn in for new council terms along with newly elected council members Matthew Senvisky, Henry Lenard and Vencent Menosky.

In unanimous votes, Mark Helbling was elected president and Ms. Tennant-Heffley was elected vice president.

Council meeting days have been changed. Pre-council meetings will be at 7 p.m. the second Tuesday and council meetings will be held at 7 p.m. the fourth Tuesday.

— Jill Cueni-Cohen


Re-elected council members Cary Montgomery, Peter Russ and Victor Son were sworn in Monday. Mr. Son retained his position as council president and Mr. Russ remains vice president in unanimous decisions. This is the ninth year that both men have been in office.

Council's agenda and regular meeting dates will remain on the second and fourth Wednesdays with the exception of November and December. Meetings will be Nov. 12 and 19 and Dec. 3 and 17.

— Jill Cueni-Cohen


Supervisors Philip Troy and Jack Candek, both incumbents, were sworn in for new terms Monday. Tom Madigan will continue as chairman, and Mr. Troy will continue as vice chairman. Both were elected unanimously.

Regular meetings will be held at  7:15 p.m. the first Monday with the exception of September when the board will convene Sept. 2.Continued meetings will take place at 7:15 on the second Monday and agenda-setting meetings will be on the last Monday with the exception of May when the board will meet on the fourth Tuesday.

— Jill Cueni-Cohen


McCandless District Judge William Wagner administered the oath of office Monday to re-elected council members Gerard Aufman, Robert Powers, and Ralph LeDonne.

Robert Powers remained council president and Gerard Aufman is still vice president. Both were elected unanimously.

The regular meeting dates are at 7:30 p.m. on the fourth Monday. Agenda setting meetings usually take place on the third Monday.

— Jill Cueni-Cohen

Ohio Township

Supervisors re-elected Thomas R. Beatty as chairman and James R. Reid as vice chairman of the three-member board Monday night.

Meetings will be held at 7:30 p.m. the first Monday.

— Shellie Petri Budzeak


Commissioners re-elected Grant Montgomery and David Mikec as president and vice president, respectively, for their third terms.

Newly elected commissioners Stephen Korbel of the Second Ward and Jeremy Shaffer of the Eighth Ward were sworn in, as well as incumbents Lana Mazur of the Fourth Ward and Mr. Mikec of the Sixth Ward.

Commissioners will continue to meet on the first and third Mondays of the month with a work session at 6:30 p.m. and a voting meeting at 7:30. If that Monday is a holiday, such as Martin Luther King Day, the meeting will be held Tuesday.

Bonnie Brimmeier was reappointed solicitor by a 5-4 vote, with votes from Mrs. Mazur, Mr, Mikec, Mr. Montgomery, Grace Stanko and Paul Trilli. Commissioners Dan Demarco, John Sponcer, Mr. Korbel and Mr. Shaffer dissented.

Mr. DeMarco said he was disappointed that Ms. Brimmeier commented about one of the candidates when commissioners tried last month to appoint a ninth member to fill a vacancy on the board.

“The solicitor is responsible for providing legal advice to the township, strictly legal advice,” he said.

Doug Sample was reappointed manager and Gateway Engineers was reappointed as engineers. Both were unanimous votes.

— Sandy Trozzo


Families and extended families joined four re-elected board members sworn in by Shaler District Justice Robert Dzvonick at Monday evening’s reorganization meeting. Erin Bartkins began a second term as treasurer.

The three commissioners returning are James Boyle of Ward 6, beginning his 22nd year on the board; Thomas McElhone, Ward 4, with 24 years on the board; and Lori Mizgorski, first elected in 2010 and beginning her fourth year serving Ward 2.

David Shutter, who has been a commissioner since 1988, was unanimously re-elected president and chairman of the board. Bill Cross was unanimously re-elected vice president and vice chair. He has 20 years experience serving the township.

Meetings are at 7 p.m. the second Tuesday on the second floor of the municipal building, 300 Wetzel Road.

— Rita Michel

Join the conversation:

Commenting policy | How to report abuse
To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to socialmedia@post-gazette.com and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.
Commenting policy | How to report abuse


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?