Pennsylvania school boards reorganize after election

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

School boards throughout Pennsylvania reorganized as new members elected in the Nov. 5 general election took oaths of office. Here’s a roundup of North reorganizations:

Fox Chapel Area

Nancy B. Foster was elected president on Dec. 3 and Terry L. Wirginis was elected vice president. Sandra M. Garbisch was re-elected assistant secretary. Charles R. Burke was elected as treasurer.


A new member, Cathy Lueers, joined the board at its Dec. 2 reorganization meeting, She fills the seat of David Gurwin who did not seek re-election.

Bryant Wesley was elected president and Mary Alice Hennessey was elected vice president.

Board work sessions will be held at 7 p.m. on the first Monday each month while voting meetings will remain at 7:30 on the second Monday.

-- Rita Michel

Mars Area

J. Dayle Ferguson was re-elected as president, and Becky Brown as vice-president.

The board will continue to meet on the first and second Tuesday of the month, with the exception of July 15 and Dec. 2, when the board will only meet once, and Nov. 3, which is a Monday.

-- Sandy Trozzo

North Hills

Edward M. Wielgus was elected president for the five time and Louis A. Nudi was elected vice president Dec. 3 during the annual reorganization meeting.

Mr. Wielgus has served on the board since 1997. He was president in 2004, 2008, 2009 and 2010. Mr. Nudi is beginning his seventh year on the board. This is his first term as vice president.

Annette Giovengo Nolish, Joseph Muha and Michael Yeomans have joined the board. District Justice Richard Opiela administered the oath of office to the them and Kathy A. Reid, who was re-elected for a four-year term in November.

Most meetings will be at 7 p.m. Thursdays in the middle school large group instruction room. For dates, visit


Peter Lyons was re-elected president and Jeffrey Banyas was re-elected vice president on Dec. 2.

Most meetings will convene at 7:30 p.m. on the second and fourth Mondays in the DeWitt Blank Conference Room on the secondary campus in Pine.

-- Karen Kane

Quaker Valley

Sarah Heres was elected president and Rob Riker was elected vice president on Dec. 3.

Mrs. Heres, who previously served as vice president, has served as a member of the school board for six years and was recently elected to another four-year term. Mr. Riker is beginning his seventh year on the board.

Daniela Helkowski, Jonathan Kuzma and Marianne Wagner have joined the board. Solicitor Patrick J. Clair administered the oath of office to them and Mrs. Heres.

The board will continue to meet at 7 p.m. the second, third and fourth Tuesdays of the month at Edgeworth Elementary School. The schedule is posted:

Seneca Valley

Board members gave a heartfelt farewell to their outgoing president Bob Hill who will remain on the board, but will not serve as president after serving in that position for six years.

Jeanette Lahm said when she was first elected there were six new members and the district was undergoing many budget issues.

“I thank him for his leadership and for bringing us up to speed,” she said of Mr. Hill.

Reid Moon had similar sentiments.

“You’ve taken me under your wing and I appreciate your patience and understanding,” he said.

School Superintendent Tracy Vitale said Mr. Hill was always available when needed.

“Many people don’t know that serving on a school board is difficult, but serving as a school board president is twice as difficult,” she said. “I appreciate you listening before responding and I always had your undivided attention.”

Mr. Hill thanked the board members and administrators for their kind words and said he intends to finish his term and then step down.

“I have been battling stage 4 cancer and that has slowed me down, but with God’s grace I will sit here until the end of my term and then I will trade in my seat for a fishing rod,” he said.

Eric DiTullio, who had been vice president, was elected president and Jim Nickel was elected vice president.

New members Timothy Hester and Fred Peterson, along with re-elected members Lahm, DiTullio and James Welsh were sworn into office.

-- Laure Cioffi

Shaler Area school board

Changes were made at the reorganization meeting Dec. 4 with four new members joining the board and the election of a new president and vice president.

Jeanne Petrovich was elected president. She took over for James Giel, who served on the board for 16 years but lost his bid for re-election in November. John Fries was elected vice president, the job previously held by Dominic Donovan, a long-time member who resigned in June.

New members sworn in were Suzanna Donahue, Timothy Gapsky, April Kwiatkowski and Steve Romac.

Long-time board members Dean Ingold and Mary Lou Dixon did not seek re-election.

Meeting dates and times did not change. Committee of the whole session will be held at 7:30 p.m. the second Wednesday and voting meetings are set for the third Wednesday, also at 7:30 p.m.

-- Rita Michel

Join the conversation:

Commenting policy | How to report abuse
To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.
Commenting policy | How to report abuse


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?