On the Docket Pittsburgh: 1/21/13

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

The Webb Law Firm has elected Kent E. Baldauf, Sr. as chairman; Richard L. Byrne as president; and Nathan J. Prepelka as secretary. Mr. Baldauf succeeds William H. Logsdon, Mr. Byrne succeeds Russell D. Orkin, Mr. Prepelka succeeds Mr. Byrne. Paul M. Reznick continues as treasurer.

Mr. Baldauf is an attorney with more than 40 years of experience with patents, trademarks, copyrights, and related practice areas. He received his J.D. degree from the Cleveland Marshall College of Law, Cleveland State University. Mr. Byrne is an attorney who has tackled most every aspect of intellectual property law during his 34-year career. He received his J.D. degree from the George Washington University. Mr. Prepelka is an attorney who works with all aspects of intellectual property law, including computer-implemented method, systems, software, and business process patents, and cyber law matters, and he received his J.D. degree from Duquesne University School of Law. Mr. Reznick is an attorney with 27 years of experience with intellectual property law, including patent and trademark prosecution, patent interference, litigation and client counseling. His law degree also comes from Duquesne.

Tucker Arensberg announced that four attorneys have been named shareholders. They are:

Nora Gieg Chatha, partner in its estates and trusts, investment management and fiduciary servicers and long-term care practice groups, representing individuals, fiduciaries and health care providers in a variety of estate planning, wealth preservation and public benefit matters, with a focus on special needs and the elderly population; Jordan S. Blask, whose practice is focused primarily in the areas of bankruptcy, workouts, loan restructurings, insolvency, and the representation of creditors, creditor committees and trustees; Steven R. Bovan, who concentrates his practice in the areas of real estate, banking, business transactions, entity formation and estate planning, and heads the firm's title agency; and Aaron C. Jackson, who works closely with clients, their families, and their financial advisors to realize their estate planning, asset protection, tax planning and charitable planning goals.

Jennifer Allison, formerly with Duquesne Light Co., joined Tucker Arensberg as a litigation associate. Ms. Allison focuses on Public Utility Commission hearings and filings, litigation and claims, Bureau of Consumer Services actions and bankruptcy. She is a graduate of the University of Michigan Law School.

The University of Pittsburgh School of Law has announced the slate of officers as well as the members of the Law Alumni Association 2013 Board of Governors. The officers and judicial board members serve one-year terms, with all other board members serving two- to three-year renewable terms. 2013 Pitt Law Alumni Association Board of Governors are: President Bruce C. Fox, Obermayer Rebmann Maxwell & Hippel, LLP; president-elect Joseph J. Bosick, Pietragallo Gordon Alfano Bosick & Raspanti, LLP; vice president Elizabeth L. Hughes, Allegheny County Law Department; secretaries Stuart Benson III, Dapper Baldasare Benson Behling & Kane PC, and Ilene Fingeret, Strassburger McKenna Gutnick & Gefsky; treasurer Patrick Sorek, Cohen Seglias Pallas Greenhall & Furman PC; past president Ron Basso, Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC.

Members: Max Beier, Thomas Beline, Roberta Wilson, Harvey Amoe III, Delia Bouwers Bianchin, George Magera, Mike Nelson, Jill Weimer, Lee Goldfarb, Meredith Odato, Arnold Silverman, Superior Court Judge Mary Jane Bowes, Common Pleas Judge Alan Hertzberg, Common Pleas Judge Marilyn Horan and U.S. District Court Judge Lisa Lenihan.

Jubelirer, Pass & Intrieri, P.C. has again been designated by U.S. News & World Report as a top-tier law firm for 2013. In addition, Joseph J. Pass, Ernest B. Orsatti and Robert A. Eberle have been selected by Best Lawyers in America in the area of labor and employment law, and Edward H. Walter and James A. Welker have been named in the area of workers compensation law for 2013. Mr. Pass and Mr. Orsatti have also been named Pennsylvania Superlawyers by Law & Politics and Philadelphia Magazine in the area of labor and employment law for 2013.

Cohen & Grigsby has announced the appointment of six new associates: Andrea Bottorff Branson, Joshua Hoffman, and Richard Kyle, the University of Pittsburgh School of Law; ; Alex Lacey, the University of Michigan Law School; Julie Patter, the University of Virginia School of Law; and Alec Stone, The George Washington University Law School.


On the Docket Pittsburgh appears every Monday. Send information to Natalie Hill, On the Docket Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, 34 Blvd. of the Allies, Pittsburgh 15222; or email to nhill@post-gazette.com. Photos may be sent in JPEG format, 170 DPI, to photos@post-gazette.com. Photo should be at least a 4- by 5-inch head shot at 170 dpi.


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?