Dateline Pittsburgh: 7/7/2011

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

Faculty and staff at the University of Pittsburgh Schools of the Health Sciences received awards and accolades: Dr. James M. Roberts, professor, School of Medicine and department of obstetrics, gynecology and reproductive sciences and Magee-Womens Research Institute, was awarded the 2011 President's Distinguished Scientist Award, made annually to a senior investigator who has made significant and lasting contributions to scientific research and reproductive medicine. Paula Sherwood, associate professor, School of Nursing, received a Fulbright scholarship to help develop curriculum and the research agenda at the University of Finland School of Nursing. Brad Dicianno, assistant professor, department of physical medicine and rehabilitation, School of Medicine, was selected to receive the AAP Young Academician Award from the Association of Academic Physiatrists. The award honors a member of the association who has demonstrated outstanding performance in teaching, research and/or administration, has an academic rank of associate professor or less and is no more than five years past residency/fellowship training.

Michael L. Boninger, chair, School of Medicine's department of physical medicine and rehabilitation, and director, UPMC Rehabilitation Institute, was selected by the faculty of the department of physical medicine and rehabilitation at the University of Medicine & Dentistry of New Jersey-New Jersey Medical School to receive the 2011 New Jersey Medical School PM&R Teaching Award.

Gwendolyn Sowa, assistant professor, department of physical medicine and rehabilitation, School of Medicine, and assistant dean, medical student research, was selected by the American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation as this year's recipient of the President's Citation Award for her abstract titled "Alterations in Intervertebral Disk Matrix Homeostasis by In Vivo Dynamic Compression." Julie Childers, assistant professor of medicine, section of palliative care and medical ethics, received the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine's Award for Young Investigators in the Junior Faculty Category. She was recognized for her proposal, "Managing Opioid Misuse in Palliative Care Settings: How Prepared Do Hospice and Palliative Medicine Fellows Feel?" Sandra Engberg was appointed associate dean for clinical education, School of Nursing. Denise Charron-Prochownik was named interim department chair for the department of health promotion and development, school of nursing. Daniel Patterson, assistant professor, department of emergency medicine, and director of research, Center for Emergency Medicine of Western Pennsylvania at UPMC, was named one of the 2010 EMS 10 Innovators in EMS at the 2011 EMS Today Conference and Exposition.

Dr. Marc W. Harrold, professor of medicinal chemistry in the Mylan School of Pharmacy, was selected as one of two 2010-11 Teachers of the Year by Duquesne University's chapter of Omicron Delta Kappa, the National Leadership Honor Society. The award is sponsored annually by ODK, which created this event in 1992 to give students the opportunity to recognize a teacher they believe best exemplifies leadership and excellence in the classroom.

Rod Piatt received the Developer of the Year Award for the Cambria Suites brand on behalf of The Horizon Properties Group during the 57th Annual Convention of Choice Hotels International Inc. The Developer of the Year recognizes the best developers in the Choice Hotels system.

Russ Sovek of Grejda Electric LLC earned his LEED Green Associates credential. Mr. Sovek oversees Grejda Electric's business development, marketing, energy audit and retrofitting project management functions.

Pittsburgh Magazine named Stacey P. Sullivan, financial adviser, financial services representative, MetLife, a "Five Star Wealth Manager."

Stanley J. Geyer, a pathologist and founder of Geyer Pathology Services LLC, was selected by the College of American Pathologists to be a delegate of its House of Delegates. Dr. Geyer is one of nine delegates from Pennsylvania. Headquartered in Northfield, Ill., the College of American Pathologists is a medical society serving more than 17,000 physician members and the laboratory community throughout the world.

Linda A. Kinnahan was named the Hillman distinguished professor at Duquesne University on July 1. Endowed by the Hillman Foundation, the professorship rotates among Duquesne's 10 schools for a five-year term. Ms. Kinnahan is a professor of English in the McAnulty College and Graduate School of Liberal Arts.

Business Notes

PLS Logistics Services opened a new branch office in Jacksonville, Fla.


CB Richard Ellis said Kossman Development Co. contracted Jason Cannon and Herky Pollock of CB Richard Ellis, Inc. to lease the majority of its Western Pennsylvania Shopping Center Portfolio, consisting of four suburban shopping centers and multiple premier retail spaces in Shadyside dand Downtow. CBRE is now the exclusive leasing representative for:

Chartiers Valley Shopping Center, located at 1025 Washington Pike in Bridgeville. The center has 600,000 square feet and includes Home Depot, Giant Eagle, Destinta Theatres, Big Kmart and Sears Outlet.

Penn Hills Municipal Shopping Center, 12224 Frankstown Road, Penn Hills. The 70,000 square foot shopping center is home to Aaron Rents, Dollar General and the Medicine Shoppe.

Pittsburgh Plaza East in North Versailles, a 270,000-square-foot shopping center on Route 30.

Hartwell Building, which is located in Shadyside at 5407 Walnut St. The 18,390-square-foot building is being leased by Ann Taylor and Moda.

Town Place, formerly The Kossman Building, located in the heart of Downtown Pittsburgh. Town Place is home to Gold's Gym and a 200-car integral parking garage.

And 15 Mall Drive at Parkway Center Mall (former Hollywood Video), a 5,000-square-foot freestanding retail building overlooking the Parkway West.

To propose an item, send information to Natalie Hill, Dateline Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, 34 Blvd. of the Allies, Pittsburgh 15222; fax to 412-263-0908; or email to .


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?