Dateline Pittsburgh: 04/27/14

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

Associations & Organizations

Jamie Campolongo, president of Pittsburgh Transportation Group, was elected to a two-year term as chairman of Visit Pittsburgh.

Presley L. Gillespie was hired as the first president of Neighborhood Allies, a local community development organization that focuses on incorporating people-based and place-based strategies into its work.


Herbert, Rowland & Grubic Inc. named John K. Trant Jr. as civil regional service group manager in its Western Pennsylvania region.


Security Benefit appointed Matt Rocha, regional vice president of its education sales distribution channel for Pennsylvania and Ohio.

Investment Services

Hefren-Tillotson Inc. appointed K. Ray Tyson and Laurie K. Valenta as financial advisers.


Tickets for Kids Charities announces the appointment of Tori Haring-Smith to its board of directors. Ms. Haring-Smith is president of Washington and Jefferson College.

Charlene Newkirk, campus president at the Community College of Allegheny County South Campus and Washington County Center, and Mary Frances Archey, vice president, student success and completion at CCAC, have been selected as delegates to the College Board, the organization dedicated to promoting excellence and equity in education.

The Greater Pittsburgh Arts Council named new members to its board: Mariann Geyer, vice president for external affairs, Point Park University; Sean Jones, trumpeter, composer and artistic director of the Pittsburgh Jazz Orchestra; and Judith O'Toole, director and CEO, Westmoreland Museum of American Art.

Pittsburgh Opera appointed Cynthia N. McCormick to the position of director of development and external relations, effective June 1.

Security Systems

Guardian Protection Services announced that Jason Bradley has joined as director of central station.


Pittsburgh native Matt Hite was appointed vice president, strategic bank services, Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland. Mr. Hite grew up in Baldwin, Pa.


St. Clair Hospital has bestowed its 2014 Physician Recognition Award on Bruce A. Wright. He is chair of the department of psychiatry at St. Clair Hospital. He is board-certified by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology. Dr. Wright earned his medical degree at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine. He practices with Associates in Clinical Psychiatry, PC.

Herbein + Co. Inc. said the following members of its Pittsburgh office received their Enrolled Agent designations from the Internal Revenue Service. EAs are the only federally licensed tax practitioners who specialize in taxation. They are: Valentina Stoyanovska, a tax supervisor, and Kris Keller, a senior on the tax team.

Anna C. Balazs, distinguished professor of chemical engineering and the Robert v. d. Luft professor at Pitt's Swanson School of Engineering, was named a 2014 Langmuir lecturer by the American Chemical Society. Ms. Balazs, recognized for her research in the computational design of chemo-responsive gels and nanocomposites, will deliver a plenary lecture in a special session of the ACS Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry at the annual conference in San Francisco, Aug. 10-14.

The Community College of Allegheny County was selected to receive two 2014 Accolade Awards from the Council for Advancement and Support of Education District II Accolades Committee. CCAC won silver in the Marketing Programs category for the college's successful promotion of its Math Cafe programs and took bronze honors for Best Practices in Communications in the Community College category for The Big Read in Pittsburgh, part of a National Endowment for the Arts funded initiative designed to promote literacy, reading and community engagement.

The Allegheny County Medical Society Foundation named its 2013 award recipients at its annual community awards and fundraising gala last month. They include: Nathaniel Bedford Primary Care Award recipient Thomas P. Wein; Physician Volunteer Award recipient James M. Rossetti; Richard E. Deitrick Humanity in Medicine Award recipient Alfred P. Doyle; Ralph C. Wilde Leadership Award recipient Richard L. Simmons; Benjamin Rush Individual Award recipient Robert Nelkin; and Benjamin Rush Community Organization Award recipient Aerotech Inc.

Dateline Pittsburgh appears every Sunday. To propose an item, send information to Natalie Hill, Dateline Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, 34 Blvd. of the Allies, Pittsburgh 15222; or email to

Join the conversation:

Commenting policy | How to report abuse
To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.
Commenting policy | How to report abuse


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?