Dateline Pittsburgh: 12/29/13

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later


Mars National Bank promoted Jennifer Crofutt to branch manager of the Cranberry office.


Heyl & Patterson Inc. hired Len Walnoha as director of engineering.


WESTARM Physical Therapy hired Jennifer Ravotti as a staff occupational/hand therapist.

Associates in Ophthalmology welcome the newest member to its team, Jeffrey Bezier. Dr. Bezier is a board-certified ophthalmologist.


Jewish Federation of Greater Pittsburgh hired Ilene Rinn, manager, human services planning and allocations; Bradley Stamm, campaign associate; Shimon Zimbovsky, marketing associate; and Pia Naiditch, marketing/campaign associate.

United Way of Allegheny County announced four new appointments to its board of directors: John A. Barbour, CEO, managing director and chairman of the board of Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney; Rebekah Byers Kcehowski, partner, Jones Day; Henry J. Maier, president and chief executive officer, FedEx Ground; and Wendy Etheridge Smith, executive director, Higher Achievement. Each will serve a three-year term.

Professional Services

Aon Hewitt promoted Ryan Black to partner, market leader for Cleveland and Pittsburgh.


Mark Masur, a 1982 graduate of Brentwood High School, was named as one of the "Top 100 Illinois Trial Lawyers" by the National Trial Lawyers. He has been recognized by his peers as among the top 5 percent of all Illinois lawyers in personal injury and workers' compensation litigation ("Super Lawyers" and "Leading Lawyers"). Mr. Masur has also received the highest rating for integrity by his peers. He is managing partner of the law firm of Kinnally, Flaherty, Krentz, Loran, Hodge & Masur PC.

Awards and Honors

Steven Franckhauser, director, Hill, Barth & King Energy LLC, was named among the Pittsburgh Business Times' recipients of the "2013 Who's Who in Energy" award.

Excela Health acknowledges four Cameos of Caring recipients. Created by the University of Pittsburgh in 1999, this event celebrates exceptional caregivers across several disciplines. Shawn Ditch, RN, Excela Health Home Care and Hospice; Kayla M. Ellis, RN, emergency department, Excela Health Latrobe Hospital; Karen Kettering, RN, family additions maternity center, Excela Health Westmoreland Hospital; and Jeanie Thomas, RN, emergency department, Excela Health Frick Hospital.

Rob Pillar, architect, Stantec, received the Certified Educational Facility Planner designation, a mark of excellence developed to reflect superior knowledge, skills and abilities of educational facility planners.

Thomas E. McDermott, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering at Pitt Swanson School of Engineering, was named an IEEE Fellow. Mr. McDermott is being recognized for contributions to modeling and analysis of electric power distribution systems and lightning protection, which have led to greater integration of renewable energy sources and to more reliable operation of the electric power system.

ACHIEVA, one of the nation's largest and leading nonprofits serving people with disabilities and their families, is proud to announce the recipients of this year's ACHIEVA Awards of Excellence. This year's list of honorees has shown commitment and dedication on behalf of people with disabilities and their families. Their efforts have given families across the region and country access to housing, health care and employment.

Clint Hurdle received the Joe Ott Award; Robert Nelkin, Sattler Humanitarian Award; Trufood Manufacturing, Excellence in Employment; Sen. Matt Smith, Excellence in Legislation; Kris Mamula, Yvonne Zanos Excellence in Media; Rebecca Heaton Hall, Excellence in Advocacy; Jeffrey J. Ruder, Excellence in Advocacy; Mary Limbacher, Excellence in Community Awareness; Debbie Efkeman, Excellence in Family Supports; Courtney Chiurazzi, Excellence in Volunteerism; Stephen A. Feldman, Excellence in Professional Service; and Helenka Foley, Tony Leech Award.

The Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering at Pitt's school of engineering has named Jens Norskov as recipient of the 2014 Bayer Distinguished Lectureship. Mr. Norskov, one of the leading researchers in computational catalysis, is the Leland T. Edwards professor of chemical engineering at Stanford University and professor of photon science at the SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory. The Bayer Distinguished Lectureship is presented annually by the Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering, and recognizes excellence in chemical education, outreach and research. The lecture is sponsored by Bayer MaterialScience.

Join the conversation:

Commenting policy | How to report abuse
To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.
Commenting policy | How to report abuse


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?