Lewis, Royster and Devine highlight Doak Walker candidates

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

Pitt sophomore running back Dion Lewis, Penn State senior running back Evan Royster and West Virginia senior running back Noel Devine are among the candidates for the Doak Walker Award. The award is presented annually to the nation's top college running back.

In addition to those three, Kent State senior Eugene Jarvis, who is a Central Catholic graduate, is also among the 48 semifinalists, as is reigning Heisman Trophy winner Mark Ingram, a junior from Alabama.

The field will be pared to semifinalists on November 10, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the finalists, who will be announced on November 22.

The recipient of the 2010 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on ESPN on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards on Thursday, December 9.


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?