Pitt's Lewis, WVU's Devine both Maxwell semifinalists

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

Pitt freshman running back Dion Lewis and West Virginia junior running back Noel Devine are among the 16 semifinalists for the Maxwell Award, which is given annually to the nation's best player as judged by a panel of sportscasters, sportswriters, head coaches and the membership of the Maxwell Football Club Florida quarterback Tim Tebow has won the award the past two seasons and is, again, a semifinalist.

The winner of the 73rd Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on December 10, 2009. The formal presentation of the awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Dinner, to be held on Friday March 5, 2010 at the Harrah's Entertainment Complex in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

A full list of the semifinalists is as follows:

Jahvid Best, University of California Berkley, RB, Jr.

Jimmy Clausen, Notre Dame, QB, Jr.

Noel Devine, West Virginia University, RB, Jr.

Toby Gerhart, Stanford University, RB, Sr.

Mark Ingram, University of Alabama, RB, Soph.

Case Keenum, University of Houston, QB, Jr.

Dan LeFevour, Central Michigan University, QB, Sr.

Dion Lewis, University of Pittsburgh, RB, Fr.

Ryan Matthews, Fresno State University, RB, Jr.

Colt McCoy, University of Texas, QB, Sr.

Kellen Moore, Boise State University, QB, Soph.

Christian Ponder, Florida State University, QB, Jr.

Jacquizz Rodgers, Oregon State University, RB, Soph.

Jordan Shipley, University of Texas, WR, Sr.

Golden Tate, Notre Dame, WR, Jr.

Tim Tebow, University of Florida, QB, Sr.


Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?