Ex-Steelers Woodson, Dawson, Greene are Hall of Fame semifinalists

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

Former Steelers teammates Rod Woodson and Dermontti Dawson are among the 25 semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2009, announced today.

Woodson, drafted in 1987 and in his first year of eligibility, played cornerback. Dawson, drafted in 1988, played center.

Also on the list are former Steelers linebacker Kevin Greene, and former Pitt players Russ Grimm and Chris Doleman.

The list will be cut to 15, plus two seniors candidates, before final voting takes place Jan. 31.

The complete list of 25 modern-era semifinalists is as follows:

Cris Carter, WR -- 1987-89 Philadelphia Eagles, 1990-2001 Minnesota Vikings, 2002 Miami Dolphins

Roger Craig, RB -- 1983-1990 San Francisco 49ers, 1991 Los Angeles Raiders, 1992-93 Minnesota Vikings,

Terrell Davis, RB -- 1995-2001 Denver Broncos

Dermontti Dawson, C -- 1988-2000 Pittsburgh Steelers

Richard Dent, DE -- 1983-1993, 1995 Chicago Bears, 1994 San Francisco 49ers, 1996 Indianapolis Colts, 1997 Philadelphia Eagles

Chris Doleman, DE/LB -- 1985-1993, 1999 Minnesota Vikings, 1994-95 Atlanta Falcons, 1996-98 San Francisco 49ers

Kevin Greene, LB/DE -- 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers

Russ Grimm, G -- 1981-1991 Washington Redskins

Ray Guy, P -- 1973-1986 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders

Charles Haley, DE/LB -- 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys

Lester Hayes, CB -- 1977-1986 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders

Cortez Kennedy, DT -- 1990-2000 Seattle Seahawks

Bob Kuechenberg, G -- 1970-1984 Miami Dolphins

Randall McDaniel, G -- 1988-1999 Minnesota Vikings, 2000-01 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Art Modell, Owner -- 1961-1995 Cleveland Browns, 1996-2003 Baltimore Ravens

John Randle, DT -- 1990-2000 Minnesota Vikings, 2001-03 Seattle Seahawks

Andre Reed, WR -- 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins

Shannon Sharpe, TE -- 1990-99, 2002-03 Denver Broncos, 2000-01 Baltimore Ravens

Bruce Smith, DE -- 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000-03 Washington Redskins

Ken Stabler, QB -- 1970-79 Oakland Raiders, 1980-81 Houston Oilers, 1982-84 New Orleans Saints

Paul Tagliabue, Commissioner -- 1989-2006 National Football League

Steve Tasker, Special Teams/WR -- 1985-86 Houston Oilers, 1986-1997 Buffalo Bills

Derrick Thomas, LB -- 1989-1999 Kansas City Chiefs

Ralph Wilson, Owner -- 1960-current Buffalo Bills

Rod Woodson, CB/S -- 1987-1996 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers, 1998-2001 Baltimore Ravens, 2002-03 Oakland Raiders

Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?

You have 2 remaining free articles this month

Try unlimited digital access

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here

You’ve reached the limit of free articles this month.

To continue unlimited reading

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here