Three to fill Carnegie Museum of Natural History post

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

A trio of Carnegie Museum leaders will head the transition team for the Museum of Natural History after the September departure of director Sam Taylor.

Ronald Baillie and Ann Metzger, co-directors of the Carnegie Science Center, and John Rawlins, curator and chair of the natural history museum's invertebrate zoology section, will be co-directors on an interim basis.

They will work with Lisa Macioce, the deputy director who joined the museum last year after serving as CFO for Phipps Conservatory.

All three transition leaders will continue in their current jobs as well. Recruitment of a new permanent director is expected in 2013.

Mr. Taylor took the position in April 2008 and realigned the museum into four interdisciplinary centers -- evolutionary biology, ecology and biodiversity, world cultures and science learning. He explained that since work at the museum was turning to long-term implementation, it would be a good time for him to pursue opportunities at other science-based organizations.



Create a free PG account.
Already have an account?