2013 Tony Award winners

Share with others:

Print Email Read Later

Winners appear in bold among the nominees for the 2013 Tony Awards. Follow along on Twitter at @SEberson_pg.

• Best Play: "The Assembled Parties"; "Lucky Guy"; "The Testament of Mary"; "Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike"

• Best Musical: "Bring It On: The Musical"; "A Christmas Story, The Musical"; "Kinky Boots"; "Matilda"

• Best Revival of a Play: "Golden Boy"; "Orphans"; "The Trip to Bountiful"; "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?"

• Best Revival of a Musical: "Annie"; "The Mystery of Edwin Drood"; "Pippin"; "Rodgers + Hammerstein's Cinderella"

• Best Book of a Musical: Joseph Robinette, "A Christmas Story, The Musical"; Harvey Fierstein, "Kinky Boots"; Dennis Kelly, "Matilda" ; Douglas Carter Beane, "Rodgers + Hammerstein's Cinderella"

• Best Original Score: Benj Pasek & Justin Paul, "A Christmas Story, The Musical"; Trey Anastasio and Amanda Green, "Hands on a Hardbody"; Cyndi Lauper, "Kinky Boots"; Tim Minchin, "Matilda"

• Lead Actor, Play: Tom Hanks, "Lucky Guy"; Nathan Lane, "The Nance"; Tracy Letts, "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?"; David Hyde Pierce, "Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike"; Tom Sturridge, "Orphans"

• Lead Actress, Play: Laurie Metcalf, "The Other Place"; Amy Morton, "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?"; Kristine Nielsen, "Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike"; Holland Taylor, "Ann"; Cicely Tyson, "The Trip to Bountiful"

• Lead Actor, Musical: Bertie Carvel, "Matilda"; Santino Fontana, "Rodgers + Hammerstein's Cinderella"; Rob McClure, "Chaplin"; Billy Porter, "Kinky Boots"; Stark Sands, "Kinky Boots"

• Lead Actress, Musical: Stephanie J. Block, "The Mystery of Edwin Drood"; Carolee Carmello, "Scandalous"; Valisia LeKae, "Motown The Musical"; Patina Miller, "Pippin"; Laura Osnes, "Rodgers + Hammerstein's Cinderella"

• Featured Actor, Play: Danny Burstein, "Golden Boy"; Richard Kind, "The Big Knife"; Billy Magnussen, "Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike"; Tony Shalhoub, "Golden Boy"; Courtney B. Vance, "Lucky Guy"

• Featured Actress, Play: Carrie Coon, "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?"; Shalita Grant, "Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike"; Judith Ivey, "The Heiress"; Judith Light, "The Assembled Parties"; Condola Rashad, "The Trip to Bountiful"

• Featured Actor, Musical: Charl Brown, "Motown The Musical"; Keith Carradine, "Hands on a Hardbody"; Will Chase, "The Mystery of Edwin Drood"; Gabriel Ebert, "Matilda"; Terrence Mann, "Pippin"

• Featured Actress, Musical: Annaleigh Ashford, "Kinky Boots"; Victoria Clark, "Rodgers + Hammerstein's Cinderella"; Andrea Martin, "Pippin"; Keala Settle, "Hands on a Hardbody"; Lauren Ward, "Matilda"

• Scenic Design, Play: John Lee Beatty, "The Nance"; Santo Loquasto, "The Assembled Parties"; David Rockwell, "Lucky Guy"; Mi • chael Yeargan, "Golden Boy"

Scenic Design, Musical: Rob Howell, "Matilda"; Anna Louizos, "The Mystery of Edwin Drood"; Scott Pask, "Pippin"; David Rockwell, "Kinky Boots"

• Costumes, Play: Soutra Gilmour, "Cyrano de Bergerac"; Ann Roth, "The Nance"; Albert Wolsky, "The Heiress"; Catherine Zuber, "Golden Boy"

• Costumes, Musical: Gregg Barnes, "Kinky Boots"; Rob Howell, "Matilda"; Dominique Lemieux, "Pippin"; William Ivey Long, "Rodgers + Hammerstein's Cinderella"

• Lighting, Play: Jules Fisher & Peggy Eisenhauer, "Lucky Guy"; Donald Holder, "Golden Boy"; Jennifer Tipton, "The Testament of Mary"; Japhy Weideman, "The Nance"

• Lighting, Musical: Kenneth Posner, "Kinky Boots"; Kenneth Posner, "Pippin"; Kenneth Posner, "Rodgers + Hammerstein's Cinderella"; Hugh Vanstone, "Matilda"

• Sound, Play: John Gromada, "The Trip to Bountiful": Mel Mercier, "The Testament of Mary"; Leon Rothenberg, "The Nance"; Peter John Still & Marc Salzberg, "Golden Boy"

• Sound, Musical: Jonathan Deans & Garth Helm, "Pippin"; Peter Hylenski, "Motown The Musical"; John Shivers, "Kinky Boots"; Nevin Steinberg, "Rodgers + Hammerstein's Cinderella"

• Direction, Play: Pam MacKinnon, "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?"; Nicholas Martin, "Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike"; Bartlett Sher, "Golden Boy"; George C. Wolfe, "Lucky Guy"

• Direction, Musical: Scott Ellis, "The Mystery of Edwin Drood"; Jerry Mitchell, "Kinky Boots"; Diane Paulus, "Pippin"; Matthew Warchus, "Matilda"

• Choreography: Andy Blankenbuehler, "Bring It On"; Peter Darling, "Matilda"; Jerry Mitchell, "Kinky Boots"; Chet Walker, "Pippin"

• Orchestrations: Chris Nightingale, "Matilda"; Stephen Oremus, "Kinky Boots"; Ethan Popp & Bryan Crook, "Motown The Musical"; Danny Troob, "Rodgers + Hammerstein's Cinderella"

• Lifetime Achievement: Bernard Gersten, Paul Libin, Ming Cho Lee

• Regional Theater: Huntington Theatre Company, Boston, Mass.

• Isabelle Stevenson Award: Larry Kramer

• Honors: Career Transition For Dancers, William Craver, Peter Lawrence, The Lost Colony, the actresses who created the title role of "Matilda" on Broadway (Sophia Gennusa, Oona Laurence, Bailey Ryon and Milly Shapiro)


First Published June 9, 2013 11:45 PM


You have 2 remaining free articles this month

Try unlimited digital access

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here

You’ve reached the limit of free articles this month.

To continue unlimited reading

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here