Movie Reviews


 Adam Driver, left, Corey Stoll, Tina Fey and Jason Bateman are siblings reunited for their father's funeral in "This Is Where I Leave You."

Movie review: 'This Is Where I Leave You' offers a pleasant diversion

“This Is Where I Leave You,” starring Jane Fonda and Tina Fey, has its moments resulting in a charming dramady.

2 days ago


 Dylan O'Brien is dropped into a mysterious game in "The Maze Runner."

Movie review: 'Maze Runner' gets lost in its own maze

Despite a fine young and diverse cast, “Maze Runner” suffers from surprisingly little tension.

2 days ago


 Michael Parks has bad plans for a visitor in "Tusk."

Movie reviews: 'Tusk' hits bumps; 'Eleanor Rigby' offers tale of loneliness; 'Code Black' reveals real ER

A podcaster turned prisoner, a lonely woman named Eleanor Rigby and an overcrowded ER are the focus of new movies opening this week.

2 days ago


 Liam Neeson loses his way in "A Walk Among the Tombstones."

Movie review: 'A Walk Among the Tombstones' works well until it doesn't

“A Walk Among the Tombstones” could have been titled “Who Is Killing the Drug Dealers’ Wives of Brooklyn?”

2 days ago


 Godzilla.

New to DVD this week

“Godzilla” and “The Fault in Our Stars” hits store shelves.

3 days ago


Movie review: Assaultive ‘No Good Deed’ comes out at wrong time

In “No Good Deed,” Idris Elba savagely menaces Taraji P. Henson.

1 week ago


 Tom Hardy and James Gandolfini star in "The Drop."

Movie review: Hardy and Gandolfini's sly performances the bright spots in 'The Drop'

Criminals, a pup and the past bring trouble to Tom Hardy and the late James Gandolfini in a thriller with too many twists.

1 week ago


 Nathan Gamble and Cozi Zuehlsdorff in "Dolphin Tale 2"

Movie review: 'Dolphin Tale 2' immersed in inspiration

“Dolphin Tale 2” is a perfect end-of-summer film.

1 week ago


 Elisabeth Moss and Mark Duplass portray an estranged couple trying to reconnect in "The One I Love."

Movie review: Rich themes, taut dialogue refreshing in 'The One I Love'

“The One I Love,” starring Elisabeth Moss and Mark Duplass, explores a broken couple’s attempt to work through marital strife.

1 week ago


New to DVD

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier," "Words and Pictures," "Brick Mansions" and "The German Doctor" hit store shelves this week.

1 week ago


 Dock Ellis on the field in "No No: A Dockumentary."

Movie review: 'No, No' on Dock Ellis a very good pitch

"No No: A Dockumentary" opens today at the Harris Theater, not far from where Three Rivers Stadium once stood and Dock Ellis pitched.

2 weeks ago


Movie review: 'Trip to Italy' stuffed with tedious banter

The second road romp between British improv-team Steve Coogan and Rob Brydon comes off tired and tedious.

2 weeks ago


 Maggie Gyllenhaal, Michael Fassbender and Domhnall Gleeson in "Frank." .

Movie review: Bleakly funny 'Frank' hits right notes

The title character in "Frank" hides under a giant papier-mache head but he proves to be surprisingly empathetic and engaging.

2 weeks ago


 Kevin Costner stars in "Draft Day."

New on DVD this week

‘Draft Day,’ ‘They Came Together,’ ‘For No Good Reason,’ and ‘Moms’ Night Out’ show up on stores shelves this week.

2 weeks ago


 Perdita Weeks and Ben Feldman traverse miles of twisting catacombs beneath the streets of Paris in "As Above/So Below."

Movie Review: ‘As Above, So Below’ should have its horror license revoked

“As Above” takes forever to go below, and once there, another long while passes before supernatural stuff starts troubling the protagonists.

2 weeks ago


 From left, Paul Eenhoorn as Colin and Earl Lynn Nelson as Mitch in "Land Ho!"

‘Land Ho!’ a picturesque trip to Iceland

“Land Ho!” takes two retirees to Iceland where they get their invigorating groove and friendship back amid spectacular scenery.

3 weeks ago


 Drew Barrymore and Adam Sandler star in "Blended"

New on DVD this week

'Blended,' 'Belle,' and 'The Double' hit store shelves this week.

3 weeks ago


 Pierce Brosnan and Olga Kurylenko star in "The November Man."

Movie review: Brosnan plays well a weathered spy in 'November Man'

“November Man,” based on a Bill Granger spy novel, arrives in August with Pierce Brosnan as a retired CIA agent drawn back into the game.

3 weeks ago


 In green from left, Michael Chiklis, Jim Caviezel and Alexander Ludwig.

Movie Review: 'When the Game Stands Tall' is a solid, winning effort

“When the Game Stands Tall,“ starring Jim Caviezel as a coach, dramatizes what happens when a 151-game winning streak comes to an end.

1 month ago


 Chloe Grace Morezt and Jamie Blackley in "If I Stay."

Movie review: Darkness overshadows 'If I Stay'

“If I Stay” stars Chloe Grace Moretz as an Oregon teen who must choose between life and death after her family is in a calamitous accident.

1 month ago


 Tres charmant: Chloe (Audrey Tautou) and Colin (Romain Duris) tour the city from above in "Mood Indigo."

Movie review: 'Mood Indigo' a surreal trip to colorful fantasy world

The brilliant visuals in Michel Gondry's "Mood Indigo" contain less eternal sunshine and more dark, moody blues.

1 month ago


 Brendan Gleeson as Father James and Kelly Reilly as Fiona in "Calvary."

Movie review: Mysteries abound in gripping, gloomy 'Calvary'

As an Irish priest who receives a death threat in the confessional, Brendan Gleeson acts in “Calvary” as if his soul depended on it.

1 month ago


 Ring-tailed lemurs spend more time on the ground than any other lemur, as seen in "Island of the Lemurs."

Movie review: Beautiful documentary gets close to lemurs

In “Island of Lemurs: Madagascar,” the cute critters get their movie moment in the sun, complete with soothing narration by Morgan Freeman.

1 month ago


Movie review: Sequel pales next to original 'Sin City'

The most grievous offense in “Sin City: A Dame to Kill For” might just have been making a sequel to the stylish, satisfying 2005 original.

1 month ago



Advertisement



You have 2 remaining free articles this month

Try unlimited digital access

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here

You’ve reached the limit of free articles this month.

To continue unlimited reading

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here