Opinion


 Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump spars with Univision reporter Jorge Ramos in Dubuque, Iowa, Aug. 25.

Both Trump and Ramos prevailed in a battle for the floor

Jorge Ramos was able to call out Donald Trump for his pronouncements about immigrants. Trump responded eventually without giving an inch.

about 13 hours ago


August Wilson Center revival: Steady progress is being made on an artistic rebirth

Rescued from financial collapse, the center is poised for a revitalized future as a showcase of African-American culture and art.

about 13 hours ago


Turbulent Brazil: Scandals and a sour economy threaten a president

Two of Brazil’s biggest companies, Odebrecht and Petrobras, need to be cleaned up.

about 13 hours ago


Integrated force: Again, the military leads the way on inclusion

Recent victories for the LGBT movement shouldn’t mask basic facts about the condition of transgender Americans.

about 13 hours ago


Europe’s experience shows gun control works

In Europe, where gun control is the law of the land, the murder rate from firearms is one-fifth that of the United States.

about 13 hours ago


A tribute to the slain TV journalists

Ages 24 and 27, two score years younger than I, could Alison Parker and Adam Ward have guessed they would have no more days?

about 13 hours ago


Shootings will continue until we all see everyone's value

Will mass shootings never stop? What to do? This is a cultural problem, not legal or political.

about 13 hours ago


Let's see who might be available for Rooney's future roster

Aaron Hernandez will be available in a few years if he wins his appeal of a murder conviction.

about 13 hours ago


 Pirates pitching coach Ray Searage seems to have already helped J.A. Happ, and now he'll have to continue to keep the back of the rotation from faltering.

Ron Cook: Back end of Pirates rotation still struggling

Pitching coach Ray Searage is a patient man, likely the best friend a pitcher can have, but he admits a little tough love might be in order.

about 13 hours ago


As Others See It: A ruling with a bonus for fast-food workers

An NLRB ruling, determining that a corporation was a “joint employer” with a contractor, should aid fast-food workers’ unionization efforts.

about 13 hours ago


George F. Will: Affirming a right to die

Many want the choice not to have a prolonged death.

about 13 hours ago


Ruth Ann Dailey: The sound and fury of constant outrage

Outrage is sometimes appropriate and necessary, but this summer it has seemed corrosive. Wearying.

about 2 hours ago


 Quarterback Michael Vick practices with the Steelers at the team's South Side facility Aug.26.

I feel betrayed by the Steelers

The other night, I saw Michael Vick wearing black and gold in a photo on the Post-Gazette’s website.

about 13 hours ago


Gary Rotstein's Morning File: Checking if you’ve been following summer’s news

A multiple-choice quiz about animal safety, the snubbing of Pittsburgh, soccer sensations and, of course, Steelers stuff.

about 2 hours ago


Respecting public water fountains

There’s no good reason for their fall from favor.

1 day ago


Star quality: Can a hot architect do justice to the arena site?

Bjarke Ingels is a rock-star architect, globally renowned for a daring style he calls “promiscuous hybrids.”

1 day ago


Democracy online: The state enters a new era in voter registration

Registering to vote in Pennsylvania just got a lot easier.

1 day ago


Asides: a paintball land dispute, a large gift to CMU, a Capitol Limited improvement for bicyclists

A fight over paintball involves squatter’s rights, Carnegie Mellon gets a $35 million donation, Amtrak announces roll-on service for bikes.

1 day ago


The zoo’s woes go beyond the elephant issue

The zoo is a dump full of weeds, broken fixtures and dangers to its staff — and hopefully not its patrons.

1 day ago


 Cynthia S. Walters in a picture she posted on Facebook before she began cancer treatment

Facebook broke my heart

We met at IUP, fell out of touch, then grew close as she died slowly at a distance.

1 day ago


Lost generation: the pharmaceutical industry is fueling an epidemic of drug use

Its corporate crimes and unethical marketing practices have devastated families and communities throughout our country.

1 day ago


The U.S.-Israel rift over Iran

Israel and the United States disagree because their stakes are different.

1 day ago


Each one of us will walk our painful journeys in our own way

I have no hatred or longing for revenge, but I do have a longing for justice.

1 day ago


Rep. Rothfus and others should provide the details of 'a better deal' with Iran

Let’s not let politicians off the hook with great-sounding pronouncements — and not even a hint of how to make them happen.

1 day ago


Memories of Bob Prince and Pie Traynor from our KQV days

When Bob and Pie went to spring training they both hired me to fill in for them on their shows.

1 day ago


 The 2014-2015 volunteers, clockwise from top left, were Ryan Holmes, Rochelle Lentz, Sam Pashel, Dan Green, Tracy Medrano Gonzalez and Mikey Villavicencio. Not pictured is Luke Merry.

The Next Page: Franciscan sisters are changing hearts, changing minds

Franciscan sisters’ service program open eyes of volunteers and of those helped, says Mark Kenny

1 day ago


 Pittsburgh Steelers Martavis Bryant scores touchdown against the Bills in the second quarter at Ralph Wilson Stadium Orchard Park New York.

Ron Cook: Steelers need to get by until return of Martavis Bryant, other key players

Martavis Bryant showed what the Steelers will miss for the first four games when he caught three passes for 138 yards and a TD Saturday.

1 day ago


 Mayor Bill Peduto works to get a state oversight committee to release its grip on the city’s casino cut —  one of those only-in-Pittsburgh stories that we ought to be watching.

Brian O'Neill: State oversight of city has grown wearisome

City is tired of ICA’s budget oversight, perhaps for good reason.

1 day ago


 Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump speaks at a news conference near the U.S.-Mexico border outside of Laredo, Texas July 23.

How would Donald Trump remove people? It’s chilling to consider

Does he think the undocumented would just calmly line up to be sent “home”?

1 day ago


Jack Kelly: Clinton’s lifeline

The vice president’s entry into the race would complicate life for Hillary Clinton.

1 day ago


David M. Shribman: The perils of New Hampshire

The Granite State’s primary has a history of upending frontrunners.

1 day ago


First Person / On the sandlot: I learned life lessons on a neighborhood field

It is said that the Battle of Waterloo was won on the playing fields of Eton.

2 days ago


Shoot ’em up USA: Americans must rethink their attitudes on guns

If you get the feeling that a multiple shooting makes headlines every day, you’re right.

2 days ago


Hackers’ helper: A young malware creator deserves stiff punishment

Morgan C. Culbertson pleaded guilty in federal court to designing and trying to sell Android phone hijacking malware on Darkode.

2 days ago


Unease over homelessness should spur us to help

I am a Lutheran pastor. I felt very uneasy about the letter “Fans Feeling Uneasy” (Aug. 24).

2 days ago


Put faith into action to assist the homeless

Perhaps some struggled to get to the ballpark on “Faith Night” in hopes that faith groups would feel responsive to their needs.

2 days ago


Pittsburgh's parking enforcement is mean-spirited

I was certainly surprised to get a notice from Pittsburgh Parking Court saying I owed fees on top of fees for a parking ticket I received.

2 days ago


Saturday Diary: Tooting his own horn

A high school musician debuts on the big stage, with lots of accompaniment.

2 days ago


Paul Krugman: Crash-test dummies

The GOP candidates aren’t prepared for an economic crisis.

2 days ago


Charles Krauthammer: What six years of ‘reset’ have wrought

Helped immensely by Mr. Obama’s epic misjudgment of Russian intentions, the balance of power has shifted — and America’s allies feel it.

2 days ago


Saturday Poem: The Toolbox

I search for the red-handled /  Phillips-head among the clutter / of Dad’s Air Force toolbox ...

2 days ago


The next GOP debate

Moderators should pose yes-or-no questions on the economy.

3 days ago


Hands off: A water diversion plan threatens the Great Lakes

A proposal by Waukesha, Wisc., to divert water from Lake Michigan could affect all other Great Lakes states, including Pennsylvania.

3 days ago


Parking smart: A phone app can soon buy drivers extra time

People who park in the city will soon have the option of using a downloadable app on their smartphones to pay for parking.

3 days ago


Falling prices: Take advantage of the cheaper oil and gas

The fall of oil and natural gas prices is a boon to U.S. consumers and the economy.

3 days ago


Many cannot get past Vick’s crimes against dogs

The Steelers signing Michael Vick is not only controversial.

3 days ago


Michael Vick should not be denied opportunities that come with rehabilitation

The response to any outrage should be to work for a better justice system.

3 days ago


The Steelers could learn from the Pirates about how to treat fans

The Steelers and the NFL should spend some time studying how the Pirates do things.

3 days ago


Government must work for the average person, too

If our politicians don’t stand up for ordinary people, good jobs and safe, healthy neighborhoods, how will our state grow stronger?

3 days ago


Donald Trump is a problem of the GOP's making

GOP had it coming.

3 days ago



Advertisement