Opinion


Ross Douthat / Christians in the Middle East are threatened with genocide

They need our help, yet many would-be allies carp about their own issues.

about 11 hours ago


Season of stalemate: Time is running out for action in Harrisburg

At the top of the to-do-but-not-done list is pension reform.

about 11 hours ago


Testing fails the test: Pittsburgh schools focus on more instruction

Clearly, testing had gotten out of hand in the district, which is to be congratulated for listening to critics and responding.

about 11 hours ago


Free thinkers? U.S. policy groups must list their foreign backers

Consumers of these organizations’ reports have a right to demand that they reveal who gives them money, how much and for what purpose.

about 11 hours ago


Film tax credits create jobs in Pennsylvania

They help both taxpayers and workers, as well local hotels, restaurants, rental car companies and other businesses.

about 11 hours ago


Hunting with semiautomatics is a bad idea

I’m a hunter and I don’t want to be out in the fields with people who carry these rapid-fire weapons.

about 11 hours ago


Medicare loophole lets health care providers charge twice

This will affect hundreds of thousands of Americans and it must be closed.

about 11 hours ago


Tony Norman: NFL-level violence gets its start at home

When it comes to corporal punishment, the culture of violence starts at home.

about 11 hours ago


 Russell Martin stands on second base after doubling against Chicago Cubs relief pitcher Jacob Turner in the second inning Sunday at PNC Park.

Ron Cook: Enjoy Russell Martin while he's still here

Pirates GM Neal Huntington admits Russell Martin's pricetag likely will be in a financial area the Pirates do not wish to go.

about 11 hours ago


Catherine Rampell / Atlantic City blues

The get-rich-quick town is going broke … again

about 11 hours ago


Every athlete should emulate Arnold Palmer

He used his popularity to give back to so many others through his foundations and charitable endeavors.

about 11 hours ago


 A view from the first floor of the Paramount Film Exchange.

Diana Nelson Jones' Walkabout: Paramount building’s sequel is a new start Uptown

The sturdy building, where theater owners saw previews of films, was vacant for years. Saved and restored, it’s filled with new businesses.

about 11 hours ago


George F. Will / Scotland’s epic vote

The desire of many in Scotland to separate from the United Kingdom affects much more than economics. It’s a matter of ethnic pride.

1 day ago


 Orangemen and women march during a pro-union parade, less than a week before voters go to the polls in a yes or no referendum on whether Scotland should become and independent country.

Say no, Scotland: Aye, history resonates but its interests are in the UK

Scots should not take the uncertain, risky path to independence.

1 day ago


 The Produce Terminal on Smallman Street in the Strip District.

Arranged marriage: Two-developer plan in Strip District may work

The URA gave two developers three months to work together on a plan for the historic produce terminal.

1 day ago


That’s all, folks: ToonSeum must carry on without its founder

Joe Wos recently announced that he is stepping down as the ToonSeum’s executive director to pursue his first love — cartooning.

1 day ago


Allegheny County Council has made a godless decision

I do not find the words “In God We Trust” to be unaccepting or unwelcoming.

1 day ago


Toomey works against voters and hard-working families

Just the latest example is his support of the Citizens United court decision that undermines our democracy.

about 17 hours ago


The tax-and-spend shoe fits, Democrats

Tom Wolf’s message is that we should tax the oil and gas industry to help fund our schools.

1 day ago


The PG's obit of Chick-fil-A founder S. Truett Cathy failed to highlight his true legacy

He created jobs and enabled employees to spend Sundays with their families. Why focus on the definition-of-marriage controversy?

1 day ago


A dear friend died because she wasn't vaccinated

Your story titled “Winning Immunity Challenges” (Sept. 9) by David Templeton was right on the mark.

1 day ago


The Pittsburgh Sun-Telegraph nameplate brought back wonderful memories

It was so good to see the variety of nameplates that the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette has had over the past 228 years!

1 day ago


The severely mentally ill will benefit from Rep. Tim Murphy's bill

Not surprisingly, the evidence shows voluntary programs to be of little benefit for the most seriously ill.

1 day ago


Gary Rotstein’s The Morning File: Roger Goodell, lend me your ear

Roger,  I’m writing out of concern for the image and future of a league without which it would be hard to imagine life in Pittsburgh.

1 day ago


 Pirates utilityman Josh Harrison inches closer to the National League batting title.

Ron Cook: Pirates' Harrison never forgets to have fun

The Pirates have a chance to nab the NL Central crown with Josh Harrison winning the batting title, which would be tons of fun for everyone.

1 day ago


Sometimes a watch should just be a watch

No, Apple. This time you have gone too far.

1 day ago


Maureen Dowd / What lesson did Roger Goodell take from his dad’s courage?

To his political detriment, Sen. Charles Goodell tried to force Richard Nixon to withdraw troops faster from Vietnam.

1 day ago


Ruth Ann Dailey: In ignorance we trust

Reaction to an effort to put “In God We Trust” in the county council’s meeting room revealed a lack of historical and religious knowledge.

1 day ago


David M. Shribman: Mitt Romney, the new GOP hope

Some Republican strategists now think he may be their strongest candidate in 2016.

2 days ago


 A historical plague near the William Pitt Union in Oakland, site of the founding convention of the Veterans of Foreign Wars in 1914.

Pittsburgh: birthplace of the VFW

The largest veterans advocacy organization in the country was founded here 100 years ago, recounts historian JONATHAN NEU.

2 days ago


On board: The PUC backs ride-share legislation

A powerful ally has joined the effort to legalize ride-share services in Pennsylvania.

2 days ago


Futility theater: Citizens United amendment denied a serious role

With time-wasting political theater by Congress, voters are invited to critique it on the strength of the plots.

2 days ago


Asides: 9/11 events, a service to remember Flight 427, and Beatles memories

One of the saddest anniversaries was remembered this past week — the terror attacks of Sept. 11, 2001.

2 days ago


Society must not look the other way on abuse

Athletes have been given a free pass for too many generations on their negative behaviors.

2 days ago


Pennsylvania legislators: Stop the overdoses

I’ve lost two brothers to drug addiction. Our lawmakers can help other families avoid this fate, writes consultant JASON SNYDER.

2 days ago


 An artist's rendering of the new bike lanes on Penn Avenue Downtown. (Not shown: opinion of driver of car.)

Enough about the bikes, bikes, bikes

Sure, make more bike lanes, but Pittsburgh has bigger transportation issues to deal with.

2 days ago


 Forum_Birth_091414.tif

Birth control for the well-to-do

Conservative candidates are coming out for birth control, but not for everybody, explains the American Prospect’s PAUL WALDMAN.

2 days ago


Gail Collins / A man with a plan

At the least the president appears to believe he’s on the right track

2 days ago


Cutting Edge: New ideas / Sharp opinions

On race-shaming, teacher fantasies and more ...

2 days ago


Jack Kelly: Liberals lose the high moral ground

They’re lying about GOP foreign policy.

2 days ago


Enough Said / Donations vs. Diseases

Facts that speak for themselves.

2 days ago


The NFL shows its hypocrisy regarding domestic abuse

The question we must ask ourselves is how much power have we conferred upon these organizations due to our idolization of sport.

2 days ago


Are these county officials offended by 'In God We Trust' on their pay?

I can’t imagine these barons of politics would resort to being hypocritical by accepting money that they knew was so imprinted.

2 days ago


County leaders who rejected motto should serve for free

After all, “In God We Trust” is printed on paper money and inscribed on coins.

2 days ago


Look beyond local health care folly for all the great work

One look at headlines on the PG’s front page last Sunday reminds us of the prominent role health care continues to play in the news.

2 days ago


The Next Page: A Chippewa woman’s legal fight with Pittsburgh’s leading men

Lawrenceville historian Jude Wudarczyk unearths the details of a 19th-century battle with an unlikely plaintiff.

2 days ago


Brian O'Neill: Motorists, bicyclists creep toward truce on city’s busy streets

It’s getting a bit like an old Western, only instead of the farmers against the cattle ranchers, it’s the cyclists against the motorists.

2 days ago


 Ben Roethlisberger  -- No TDs in six quarters

Ron Cook: Negatives far outweigh positives for Steelers in 1-1 start

There's been a bit of good, but a lot more bad and ugly for the Steelers so far, and Kevin Colbert and Mike Tomlin are far from blameless.

2 days ago


We must consider long-term harm of energy choices

Natural gas extraction and transportation processes release methane, a more potent greenhouse gas than carbon dioxide.

2 days ago


Saturday Diary / The tragic life of Tyke the elephant

I covered her first escape from the circus, but there was another one ...

3 days ago



Advertisement



You have 2 remaining free articles this month

Try unlimited digital access

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here

You’ve reached the limit of free articles this month.

To continue unlimited reading

If you are an existing subscriber,
link your account for free access. Start here